We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience at Bandol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bandol
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience at Bandol”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ile Rousse for a long weekend in th month of March. The hotel has a beautiful situation and the most lovely view of Bandol which was attracting us a lot. The pricing was rather high (very expensive parking also!) but we expected it since it is a 5 star hotel. We also booked 2 days at the Spa to get a bit of relaxation.
We were very surprised to see that the room (Deluxe) was really very small, the bathroom even smaller, so small that when taking a shower the water would end up on the carpet of our room, also the toilet was really tiny, one could hardly move in there.
The TV did not work and nobody repaired it during our stay while we had informed reception of it, the airco was too cold and we could not lower it, or we had to simply stop it, the pillows were really hard to sleep on, happilly you can ask for softer pillows, and the coffee machine was not working well. When I complained about all this after a few days we did not even get an apology from the reception lady. This hotel looks ver nice but the staff and service is very unpersonal, the staff we would meet would be extremely friendly and reapeating endlessly "do you have a good stay with us? If there is anything you would need please tell us we are at your disposal" but nothing of it is true, it is purely a message they have been asked to repeat to all the clients it seems, it is very artificial, what a pity!
The only warm person was the "sommelier" in the hotel restaurant, he gave us some excellent advises and even gave us the address of a very good red Bandol wine producer that we visited after our stay and the lady at the pool who is very enthusiastic and who gives a lot of advise to the guests and loves organising aqua gym sessions, really a nice and attentionate girl.
At the spa it was also very unpersonal and nothing exceptionnal, the lady at the spa reception was really ennoyed and did not want me to ask any questions about special treatments, it seemed like I was asking the wrong person.
Something really needs to be done about the management of this place. This was really not a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: absolutely take the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ariadnaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    228
    85
    40
    9
See reviews for
108
474
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a six star hotel...amazing. A wonderful location in Bandol on a fantastic bay, this hotel is classy and comfortable! Rooms are quiet, clean and well appointed. Beach views rooms are a real treat and worth the extra euros. All rooms have coffee machines, nice towels/robes... we had an 'italian shower' which was fine. The beds are firm and there is twice daily housekeeping service. Breakast is excellent - great choice, and wonderful terrace seating! the lunch venue off the beach is an informal grille and is excellent. Beach chairs are managed and organised around reservations. The spa is good, with a great selection of therapies, and an indoor jacuzzi area. The outdoor pool is shallow, and a little on the cold side...but it is so hot in the day you will appreciate it. not many chairs around the pool though...so, when you arrive reserve beach chairs straight away!

Lot of stairs, so not great for older travellers or anyone in a wheelchair. Air conditioning works like a dream, and the front desk staff are great. 30 mins from Marseilles by car, and 1hour 45 from Nice. 20 mins from Toulon. Everyone speaks basic english, and the town of Bandol is a 5 min walk away. THe main restaurant is a gastro restaurant.

We loved it, and it is a very relaxed vibe with a touch of class and modernity. A real six star property!

Room Tip: sea view, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ile Rousse as a stopover for one night on the way to our rented villa in Sanary sur Mer. The view of the Infinity pool and the blue sea beyond is a real stunner as you first enter the hotel. Our room overlooking the town was very modern and quiet; free Internet access is something that all hotels should copy. We went out to dinner in Bandol, a town that we first visited in 1991 and love to come back to regularly. A glass of champagne in the hotel bar was a great end to the day. The hotel staff were very friendly and fluent in English.
We would recommend a day trip to the island of Bendor for lunch and a pleasant stroll around the town. A visit to the hill town of Le Castellet is a must; enjoy dinner there with a view of the sea in the distance as the sun sets.

Room Tip: The view of the sea from some rooms is excellent but costs more. Happy to stay in a room with a town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wive and I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The hotel on his own is very well installed with a nice restaurant, swimming pool, beach and thalasso spa. The room was very nice refurbished. After our trip to Venice i had to take a basic room on the first floor, but this room was from a nice standard with bathroom with bad/shower and modern refurbishment.
For us the hotel had some minor points. A five star hotel in this environment ? We've found the immediate environment and town not so wow ! Not a good restaurant to find in miles ! Just the typical very cheap touristic restaurants on the side of the port. You cannot compare Bandol with places as Cannes or Saint Tropez, Monaco, Cap Antibes for example.
We found that the swimming pool was hardly heated, there was hardly any service on the swimming pool (and this for a 5 star !).
The beach area was very nice but public. There where days that the beach was flooded with youngsters and teenagers with a lot of noise. Not a 5 star beach at all ! The responsible beach lady had to shoo a lot of people on some days... On top of that they asked us to pay a 25€ each ! for a sunbed on our last day of stay, these were the rules they said. I've paid around 1.500 € for this stay and then they are not shy to ask me 50€ for a last day on the public beach ?
Every day you must park your car in one of there garages, outside is 20€ a day, inside 35€ a day. Every time you want to leave the hotel you must ask the car service boy to go and get your car.
Plus points : nice sandy bay, coffee machine in your room, nice beds, good breakfast, ... For us it will be the first and the last visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vereecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent there four days in April-May 2012. Generally we enjoyed our stay at the hotel: excellent location of the property, direct access to the sandy beach, nice sea view from majority of rooms, tasty breakfast, restorant gastronomic. Property was recently but partly renovated. You will find new furniture but out of date bath. The gym is tiny room with number of machines. Lobby bar menu does not have salads on the list and consist of three dishes: salmon carpaccio, charcuterie plate and selection of cheeses. There is no salads in the room service menu. The nearest place to eat salad is Bandol marina( five minutes walk). Over all we recommend to visit this place once.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grande-Motte, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just spent a 2 days week end at this hotel in Bandol and it was such a great experience. The room, I stayed in suite 301, was more than I expected with on one side a view of the port and on the other a view of the beach. The room was large enough and nicely furnished.
The restaurant facing the beach was a real treat we wanted to sample everything on the menu, the chef works magic. Breakfast is also truly excellent.
The hotel has a thalasso / spa but we did not try it we were there for the Audi event at the circuit Paul Ricard so did not have much time to try it out. It also has a heated sea water swimming pool
.
Bandol is a beautiful Provence town with beautriful surroundings and worth a liitle stay. It's like the Provence you see in the books.
The hotel also has a valet parking.

Room Tip: The other couple we were travelling with had their suite on the first floor and it came with a jaccu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlexantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a very, very enjoyable 4 night stay at Ile Rousse and couldn't fault it. We booked an offer directly with the hotel some time in advance, room only. Breakfast is quite pricey at 25 euros each, so we opted for a light breakfast elsewhere - also helps with keeping the calorie-intake down!

We were lucky enough to have superb weather every day, which meant we could enjoy the stunning pool area and beautiful beach below. The sun doesn't reach the pool until late morning, but you can still enjoy a dip in the sea early in the morning. The beach was so calm - hardly a ripple across the water.

The hotel design is gorgeous, very stylish and extremely welcoming staff. The day of arrival (Sunday afternoon) it was really busy - it was the last day the beach restaurant was open and so many people were there for lunch, using the pool and on sunbeds on the beach. Sadly the restaurant wasn't open the next day and meant that sunbeds were also put away - but we did expect this as it was the end of season.

Rooms are super (even the city view rooms), which have superb triple-glazing so no street noise. Bathrooms are beautifully appointed, with towels changed twice daily, chocolates left on pillows for evening turn-down service and bthroom products were replenished twice daily. My husband loved the Malongo Expresso machine in the room and a bottle of designer Norweigan water was also left daily - really nice touches that are welcomed.

The view across the pool to the bay as you walk into the hotel is just stuning - it wowed us every day.

We'll definitely be looking for deals next year - we loved it, in case you hadn't guessed!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are stunning, but city view rooms offer a cheaper alternative - you can still enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Delos
Hotel Le Delos
#1 of 1 in Ile de Bendor
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#2 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Bandol
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Galets
Les Galets
#4 of 12 in Bandol
164 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
#4 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol

Property: Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
Address: 25 boulevard Louis Lumiere, 83150, Bandol, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Bandol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bandol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Rènecros Bay, the waterfront Thalazur Thalassotherapy & Spa Ile Rousse ***** Hotel offers a magical environment in which to serve your body and your mind.Discover the outdoor infinity pool with sea water heated all year round, a solarium overlooking the clear waters of Rènecros Bay and two private beaches.In discrete luxury, the hotel, with direct access by elevator to the Institute, has 67 rooms including 12 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ile Rousse Bandol
Hotel Ile Rousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing