We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, the food was nothing special.”
Review of La Vieille Auberge

La Vieille Auberge
Ranked #24 of 114 Restaurants in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$117
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Annecy, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed, the food was nothing special.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This had been recommended to us, but we didn´t find anything to rave about. My fish came cold and rather rubbery, so I wouldn´t recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank linaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    179
    78
    47
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb views and good food”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location, with beautiful views across the harbour to the chateau and the cliffs beyond.

The starter and the creme brulee dessert were delicious. For the main course I had Provencale beef stew. The sauce was tasty and the meat was very tender, though a little fatty. Service was fine.

A good restaurant for a summer evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neiljf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Not cheap, forget the price and you will have such a wonderful meal. We did with fish as good as you will get

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank australian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place rocks”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Vieille Auberge was highly recommended so we got reservations for our first night in Cassis.

The wait staff here was incredible. Best service we've had in France.

Ask for Ludo to wait on you. This guy was very knowledgeable, made great recommendations, was attentive to needs and requests. Ludo gladly catered to all our needs. Basically he did all the things we expect from a good waiter but rarely find.

Food was incredible.
Muscles
Grapefruit seafood entree
Grilled fish of the day
Tapenade
Digestif shot
Domaine du Paternel Cassis wine
...

everything we had was very good.

Give this one a shot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach-sarasota
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great balance....old and new”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Creative menu, old fashioned client friendly service. Fish dishes were outstanding. Waiters were friendly , multilingual and focused on service. Great view of Cassis, harbor and cliffs

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vieille Auberge also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Vieille Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing