We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but poor service and a bit strange”
Review of Astoria Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Astoria Villa
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but poor service and a bit strange”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

PROS: Astoria Villa is a very pretty house. My wife and I stayed in the upstairs room with a view of the sea, which was lovely. It is right near the hiking trails in Les Calanques and walking distance to town. The hostess and kitchen staff were very nice (when they were around).

CONS:
There never seemed to be anyone around if you needed help.

There was a small refrigerator that we were told we could put drinks in, but there was no milk in it if you wanted some for your coffee. The actual kitchen door was closed and was not available to clients. We bought some beers and put them in the mini fridge, but the next day, other guests had drank them, not knowing that they had not been provided by the hostess.

The breakfast was lame: bread, croissant, little bits of fruit, juice and HORRIBLE coffee (same every day for 7 days).

I would suggest making your own instant espresso (pods) with the little machine that is available for guests. BUT - there was a large display of boxes of different espresso pods (50-60 boxes) above the machine, but when we went to get more, we found that all the boxes were empty... We also had to steal milk from the kitchen a couple of times because no one to around to ask.

Again, there was never anyone around, so when we ran out of toilet paper, we had to use tissues until the next morning (the tissues had not been provided either).

They only provided one mini soap, and when we ran out, it was not replaced. No shampoo was ever provided.

One day, the hostess's child (who is about 6) had a friend over and she let them run around the house and yard screaming and playing while we and another couple were trying to relax by the pool.

There was no phone in any of the rooms or in the house. The hostess was happy to make local calls for us, but again, was rarely around.

We love dogs, but if you're allergic, you should know that there is a big dog there who likes to beg while you're eating breakfast.

If you're looking forward to swimming in the pool (since the sea is so freezing), you should know that the pool is also quite cold, even when it's very hot out.

Room Tip: We had the room with a "view of the sea", which it did. But from other reviews, it looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    8
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights here and found the Villa to be refreshingly individual and charachterful. The hostess was warm and friendly, the location excellent and the view breathtaking. Would definitely recommend but do be aware that they don't take credit/debit cards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My girlfriend and I were very pleasantly surprised by the Villa Astoria. Caroline (the host) was extremely welcoming and helpful, booking our first meal at a beautiful harbour-side restaurant for us. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, as was the entire Villa.

I was concerned based on some of the older reviews on here but the Villa is now under the new owner and we were very happy with our stay there. The only piece of constructive criticism would be that the rooms do not have air con or a fan and it was very hot at night.

We treated this as a relaxing four days away and in that respect it ticked the box. The local beach was a two min walk down the hill with the port a further 5 mins away. The hill up to the Villa does get a little steep but we saw this as a little work out after all the wine and food we had consumed during dinner.

I would have no hesitation on booking again if we were to return to Cassis.

Room Tip: Amazing sea views from the top room in the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My partner and I were very pleased with our experience in staying at Astoria Villa. The hostess, Caroline (who incidentally is a new owner of the villa since about 1 year) was not only charming but very helpful in giving us suggestions for places to eat and visit. The villa has a gorgeous view and a beautiful garden\pool area. Breakfast, served on the terrace, was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to this beautiful resort . Having booked a couple of nights down on the harbour we decided to book Astoria Villa for a relaxing few days before travelling home ,by train, back to the U.K.
We had a lovely time here ..... We were told by the previous owners when we booked that they were leaving and new owners would be taking over , it would be their first day the day we arrived . As you can imagine we were a little concerned ....
We arrived in the afternoon and welcomed by Caroline , we were shown to our room which was the Garden Suite..a minute later she brought fresh Juice and an ice cold bottle of water ...this is just what was needed as we had hiked from the harbour bags and all !
The room itself was very nice with lovely views of the garden ...some of the guest pictures on here are old and we think there will be a few more changes to the decor as Caroline puts her own stamp on the place .
We feel that our room could have done with a bit of a dust around the edges as there were loads of cobwebs... thankfully we saw no spiders !...The bed was very comfy and wide but not very long ,The shower was great , the grey cast iron bath in the room was' for decoration only' although at some point it had been working . What we found to be strange was that the Loo was in an old wardrobe in the bedroom and the wardrobe was in the bathroom area ....
There is no air-conditioning.
We had an outside sitting area which would have been better with more subdued lighting in the evening .
The Pool area and view down to the bay are lovely .
Breakfast was good , juice ,croissants , fruit ,yoghurt , tea , coffee , we were offered eggs if we had wanted them and all presented well .To be honest nothing was too much trouble for Caroline she was a great host . It was her first week running the business , although we found out later that this had been her family home ...Her father was pottering around helping with a few snags , he was very interesting to talk to and gave us some great tips on where to eat and drink !
There was only one thing that we didn't realise and although the Villa is only a 15 min walk from the harbour it is up hill and the last bit is steep, well steep for us ! a good workout tho ..
On the whole we would recommend staying here and hope to return again soon .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BENEW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I read the three negative reviews below with amazement, after having one of the best holiday experiences of our life at Astoria Villa in September last year. Two more gracious and pleasant hosts than Laurent and Rodolphe you would go a long way to find. We were treated like old friends from the moment we arrived. And when it turned out that I had messed up the reservation and booked one night too few at Astoria, Laurent was immediately gracious and sympathetic, helping us to find another lovely place to stay in a very busy Cassis for that final night. Astoria Villa is not a chain hotel - and people shouldn't expect the facilities you would find in such a place. Instead you get to feel like you are staying in a private home. And WHAT a home! So they keep one side of the pool for themselves. So what? Why this has made other guests feel that they can't use the pool themselves I'm at a loss to understand. Go to Astoria Cassis with a friendly and open attitude and you will receive a friendly and open welcome. And have an amazing stay in one of the most beautiful places you will ever visit. My partner and I travel regularly, all over the world, and what we want is something special - something that doesn't feel like everywhere else. That's what you get at Astoria Villa. And that's why we're going back.

  • Liked — Furnishings, attention to detail
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Although I speak French fairly well, I was beginning to feel that my whole experience at the Villa Astoria had been "lost in translation. On reflection I feel strongly that that others must be warned that by choosing this guesthouse you risk being subjected to the authoritarian wrath of the two strange "hosts" of this shabby establishment. We were chastised for being late ( 4pm) even though we phoned to say that we were running a couple of hours behind schedule and were told this was fine. On arrival we were given a list of rules too long to remember but the ones regarding the pool stood out. We were forbidden to use the owners sun beds on the left of the pool or enter their roped off terrace. We were also not allowed to use the side of the pool in front of the ground floor suite. I have never been made feel so unwelcome anywhere. We did not go near the pool once for fear of breaking one of these or many other rules. Our room was in the eaves of the building and had no windows, just two skylights and yet we had been told our room would have a sea-view. When I asked about this I was curtley told that if I stuck my head in the well of the skylight I could see the sea! At this point I wondered if I was beng filmed as part of some joke set-up. The room was a huge disappointment in every way. The toilet was in front of the bed without a door. There was a bare light bulb sticking out of the wall above it. The shower was open-plan too and there was no ventilation.The wash basin was so small it was impossible to use it. One had to kneel on the floor to use the very low fitted wardrobes. Most of the furniture in the room looked like it had been rescued from a skip. The bed was uncomfortable mostly because it had a plastic matress protector. Drinking water was provided....it was one of the cheapest you can buy in France and one day was not replenished. There was more of the same in the help-yourself fridge downstairs along with two litre plastic bottles of cola and diet cola. Instant coffee was available but no milk for it. All this from a pair who tirelessly witter on about good taste and refinement. Breakfast was well presented but poor in choice and quality. The juice was not fresh, the jam portions were so tiny one had to ask for more every day and the coffee was abysmal. I gave up trying to get warm milk for it after day 3. In short this place is a scam. It is not what it claims to be on the website. The bedroom featured on the website is the suite and bears no resemblance to the other three rooms. Perhaps those lucky enough to be given this room are happy with the place, they even get their own side of the pool! All the shortcomings of the Villa Astoria, I could have accepted if the atmosphere had been pleasant but the rude, arrogant, officious, sarcastic nature of the staff was simply unbareable and we had to cut short our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mayfairyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.1 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Villa

Property: Astoria Villa
Address: 15 Traverse du Soleil, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cassis
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing