We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bouillabaisse”
Review of Chez Gilbert

Chez Gilbert
Reserve with
Chez Gilbert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 126 Restaurants in Cassis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Drove here from Aix based on reputation and recommendation. From the amuse bouche to the bouillabaisse, the food was absolutely terrific! Owner was so gracious and charming that he served us cassis gratis to get our appetites going. With a view of the boats, ocean, and castle while eating the most delicious bouillabaisse, Chez Gilbert hit all the high notes.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank worldtraveler43Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great place, manifique food (not allowed to say fantastic :D ) But really, it's so good, if ur in to bouillabaisse, it's a place to go! Big time, try it, maybe not the cheapest but worth all the money and what a service! We started out trip from Cassis and now going back just for the lovely stuff and manifique food highly recommended

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaid692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Chez Gilbert, once this during this visit to Cassis, and twice on our last visit (10/11). Their specialty is Marseilles bouilllabaisse (fish stew but unlike any we have ever had!) A very French dish, the cream soup is served with a huge platter of filletted fish and potatoes, with garlic croutons and mustard aioli to garnish. The rest of our group had perfectly prepared fresh seafood accompanied by an interesting (and delicious) assortment of fresh vegetables. Service was very good in spite of a busy evening (I believe Chez Gilbert is ALWAYS busy - they deserve to be!) The restaurant opens onto the Cassis inner harbor so the sunset views looking out at the mediterranean only enhanced our evening. It can be coolish, so bring a wrap if you like to sit nearer the outdoors.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank APM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were taken aback by the €50 price for bouillabaisse and chose from the menu at €32. All the wine was expensive also. Good, fresh, interesting food, especially the seafood, of course.

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank 519TerryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My boyfriend has a sixth sense with restaurants and he expertly chose this restaurant without the help of a guide or app. We had no idea this was one of the top restaurants in Cassis nor that it was famous for its Bouillabaisse.

We loved this place so much that we returned when we were vacationing there again two years later. I have since dreamed of their bouillabaisse and was excited to find the recipe posted on their website. I can't say that my version was an exact match, but it was quite delicious and gets even better each time.

Everything we had here was divine. The presentation was superb and so was the service. If you order the bouillabaisse, you will not have room in your belly to eat anything else, so on our second visit we had the 'soup de poisson', which was filling on its own but left us some room for dessert.

We'll certainly return there on our next visit to the area or when I finally move there, whichever comes first!

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Gilbert also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing