We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant with good quality food”
Review of Chez Gilbert

Chez Gilbert
Reserve with
Chez Gilbert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 114 Restaurants in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Sankt Augustin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with good quality food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went with a party of 4 to dine to Le Chaudron and had a wonderful and recommendable experience. Charming service, excellent food and wine at reasonable price levels (for southern France), especially when choosing a menu option (35 to 45 EUR for a 3 course dinner). Since it was still a bit cold outside we had been seated inside on the upper floor. The restaurant also possesses seating on ground floor inside as well as outside. At summer the large sliding doors create a large open terrasse abience. Located in a side street, no traffic noise and easy to talk to your company. Seating is a bit tight, though. For very large persons I recommend reserving tables on ground floor.
At the end of dinner we got offered a small choice of digestifs on the house!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    309
    107
    61
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cassis, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fair quality food, great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very nice location on the waterfront. Food was average. Appetizers were ok, had sea bass for main course which was ok however vegetables were over cooked and lacked flavour. Ice cream and fruit desserts were tasty. Staff was not overly helpful with matching courses effectively. View was great.
Cheryl

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“my favorite place on earth”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'm coming back to this place over again in the last 5 years, and was just there last week again. The food is brilliant, but pricy, the service is excellent. I had over the time, fish in many ways, meat, soup, bouillabaisse and deserts, everything was excellent!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best cassis restaurant :)”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a very delicious moment in this restaurant. On the terrace, with a great view on the marina, just next to 2 guys from the town who know the owner of the restaurant. Haha so funny to seat next to them and listen to their stories!
The meals were excellent! :) a good bouillabaisse is expensive but this one really worth it.
Great restaurant nothing else to say. Really great!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yankinuk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had delicious crab to start and scallops as a main course. Both beautifully presented. Can't say about the wine list as I had a Campari Soda. No pudding, just coffee. 66 euros. A bit pricey, but worth it and great view of the port and people watching. Two minor things- waiter could have been friendlier(maybe he was tired) and shame about the awful plastic chairs!! I will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didyoupackyourbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Gilbert also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing