We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”
Review of L'escale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'escale
Ranked #16 of 22 Cassis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Honestly, I don't understand the negative reviews. This is a charming house. The owners are gracious. Our room was clean and very comfortable .. (we had the CAP room) and it felt bigger then most of the photos we had seen so i'll attach some photos of my own. We had no trouble parking just in front of the house the two times we needed to.
We walked down to the port and had a fabulous dinner in a smaller, back street restaurant ... and we walked back to the house. (my honest opinion here is that i should have taken a cab back ... my knee was recovering a bit from a recent twist and the walk back has a lot of up hill -). Still - would definitely stay here again.
Breakfast was fresh and filling and Valerie's husband cooked us perfect eggs and then came out with pancakes!! We ate with a fabulous view of Cap Canaille.
So thanks to L'escale. We did enjoy our stay in your lovely home.

Room Tip: The only room available when we booked was the CAP. We think we were very lucky. The room was on t...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bonjourjed212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed L'escale. Valerie was very gracious, breakfast was perfect and ample. Our room looked out over the bay to the towering cliff of Cap Canaille. A short walk home from the town, much appreciated after wonderful dinners at restaurants recommended by Valerie. Two friendly dogs, well behaved added to the good feel of L'escale. Plus free on street parking right out front.

Room Tip: The highest room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've traveled for 7 days in the region and stayed at 3 places. We've stayed at L'escale for the last 2 nights. We've booked this B&B because of the photos in the website (gorgeous!) so we didn't check tripadvisor either.

I have to say, do your research and do not decide/judge based on the cover of the book.

We've have had such a great luck staying with the other B&Bs which turned out to be fantastic....sort of got the B&B expertise, standard and expectation prior to the arrival. Plus, L'escale wasn't one of those cheap B&Bs, so we were looking forward to staying at the gorgeous ocean view place.

First - No parking space! - this place does not have a parking space.

They've got 2 cars and a boat so their small entrance way is full. There was no parking space outside of their house. Plenty of parking space but all full along the street. (The road in front of the house is a narrow one way street....avoid weekend daytime arrival ) If they knew that they were expecting guests on busy day like sunny Sunday, why not park your own car outside and make a space for their guests in their drive way if they didn't start living there yesterday??

(The owner explained there's plenty of parking space after the sunset as everyone leaves to go home. - We need a space now! - After everyone has left, indeed the street was empty and plenty parking space in front of their house became available. So the rest of the stay we've parked outside their house.)

We had no choice but we've blocked the traffic trying to stick 2/3 of our car front to go into the entrance gate space for the time being, so we can finally get out of the car instead of driving another round in the traffic.

We've stayed at Les Arcades (junior suites) - with the private terrace and the little ocean view. The room was nicely decorated, but the entire outdoor place was really messy. It has gotten chilly in the evening, we've tried to use the heat panel but it was off.. a/c wasn't working either.

Dirty blanket on the sunbeds, broken parcels on the floor, dirty Jacuzzi, dirty pond, dirty summer kitchen surface. We wanted to use the outdoor kitchen as we were pretty tired of eating at the restaurants. No plates. There was plastic utensils which looked like it has been sitting there for ages. The owner was nice enough to give us the plates and utensils, but it should have been there as the room came with kitchen. The rest of the site you see..paints, construction tools etc etc. all over in the terrace.

We had an access to their filthy dark laundry room filled with junks! (They should have locked the door!) We didn't have to know the back side of their operation really...

Views:
Somehow we were expecting the same view on the website from our room...you get the view on their website only during the breakfast when you go upstairs to their terrace. If you are staying at the terrace suite then you only see the mountain view from your bedroom. (some ocean view if you are in the terrace)

Breakfast: Beautiful view from the terrace!
Breakfast menu at B&B has been all similar, however every morning we always had a great bread purchased from the local artisan bakery. France has tons of great bakeries...we've always enjoyed all kinds of bread.

At L'scale, the toasted bread was very lumpy and floury when you eat...horrible. They served us the same one the next day, but we didn't eat them. The Croissant was not very good either..very stale croissant.

On our first day, we were served this round cream cheese looking stuff in the small cute plate per person. I have had a small taste of it and decided not to eat them. The next morning, I recognized the same cheese with the slight edge scraped off. Didn't want to eat it this time for sure!

Hosts:
I wonder how much they are enjoy running B&B. It shows in the appearance of the place?

I noticed some good reviews here but some of the early one, I can understand their feedback.

Maybe they were having bad days ? - I should give them a break, but I don't recommend this place to my friends as I don't think we want them dealing with other people's ups and downs especially during their holiday by paying for the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alamoanaqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

L'Escale is slightly outside of the centre of Cassis but is an easy and pleasant stroll away. The view of le Cap Canaille is spectacular and makes for a wonderful place to eat breakfast and to relax into the evening and night. Valerie is a very welcoming hostess and Julien's breakfast's provide a wide variety to suit everyone and to feed you up for the day. If you like dogs you will be very pleased to meet Hunter and Cliff as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We called l'Escale when planning a last-minute, spontaneous week-end in the South - and it was one of the best week-end get-aways I experienced in the South of France! The host kindly proposed to rent us the suite for the price of the regular room, given that it was not booked anyway. The place was very beautifully decorated and felt like an amazing home. Hosts are very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The location is just amazing, the breakfast on the terrace with the view over the bay is breath-taking! The breakfast is of a very good quality too!
I particularly enjoyed the gas-fireplace in our room to brighten up the evenings, and the jacusi outside to enjoy the sun!

You would definitely need a car to find the place / get around for the meals in the evening / get to the beach. Also, if you rent one in Marseille (as we did), beware of the traffic!

Room Tip: The suite is amazing, with a private terrace enjoying a view on the sea and a gas-fireplace in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alona_domnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

From the moment we arrived, Julien and Valerie made us feel very welcome. They were both charming and helpful hosts, offering us a glass of wine upon arrival, helping us with our bags and giving us some advice on where to go out for dinner, hiking and boat trips.
We stayed in the "Arcades" room which boasts amazing sea views from a private patio with two loungers.
The breakfast was fantastic, offering a wide selection of croissants, pancakes, bread, brioche eggs & bacon, jam, fresh fruit juice and yoghurt. Above all, the view from the terrace is simply breathtaking - with amazing views of Cap Canaille and the glimmering Mediterranean sea below- a pure delight to wake up to.
The two dogs were very friendly too and added to the charm of the place.
I truly enjoyed the 2 nights we spent at l'Escale and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

From the moment we arrived until not wanting to leave 4 days later, the couple running this "chambre d'hôtes" in their familial home were the most helpful, warm, accommodating of hosts. Example: though we'd been warned about morning sun on the breakfast balcony (which happens to have one of the most extraordinary views on the Mediterranean and Cap Canaille cliff), rather than have me return to the room to get sunglasses, the woman of the couple had brought me her own sunglasses before I could flinch. This is the type of people they are: thoughtful, gracious, caring. They genuinely love meeting and interacting with others, so they are perfectly suited for this small "B&B." (And their dogs, Cliff and Hunter, an award-winning Weimaraner, were equally welcoming and charming.) The day we mentioned we intended to have a picnic in the "calanques," she returned with their own deluxe, thoroughly outfitted picnic basket for us to use! Their recommendations for hikes, restaurants, kayaking, villages to visit... were all fantastic and made only after listening intently to what we like and understanding who we are. Though we spoke French, they were also happy to break into their best German or English with us. The house itself is charming, built into a hillside overlooking the bay that becomes Cassis harbor. The rooms are unique, well outfitted (water, CDs and player, fridge, beach mats to bring down on the calanque rocks), again the splendid views. The one slightly off aspect in our room was a lack of water pressure at times, mostly an issue at what must have been times of high usage. Though devoid of a sandy beach out the door, the rocks just below the house provide an exciting alternative: one can leap into the Mediterranean, then haul back up on a rope or traditional ladder.
We enjoy fairly active vacations, and Cassis affords the opportunity for hiking, boating, swimming... and eating! We came away from this experience at L'Escale, however, not only having lived and experienced the place, but also with a sense of peace and restfuness. A true vacation. Thank you so much...

Room Tip: standard rooms are quite good (best views higher up?), deluxe must be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.5 mi away
La Meduse
La Meduse
#4 of 22 in Cassis
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Demeure Insoupconnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'escale

Address: 3 avenue Jean Jacques Garcin, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Price Range: £115 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
l`Escale Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing