We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location of this hotel was awesome, so close to everything. However we had to park about a 15min walk away, and driving around Cassis is a nightmare. We finally parked and then travelled on foot to find the hotel carrying just a smaller bag to the hotel.
This hotel was quite basic, walls were thin between the rooms, and the bed was the worst on our trip and so incredibly uncomfortable. We didn't get wi-fi in our room on the second floor, however it was available in some rooms apparently and I did manage to get it ok downstairs in the courtyard and lobby area. There is a duck pond and playground over the road - the squawking ducks drove us crazy at all hours of the day/night and we were woken every morning to a guy water-blasting the playground!! There was no air-conditioning which made it an uncomfortable night all round.
The town of Cassis is definitely worth a visit and for location this hotel is ideal. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the playground (if this is possible) might avoid the ducks and waterblasting noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingKiwis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    45
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There's only one reason to choose this hotel - the location!

There's parking available in the basement, but they are always full and you stand a better chance parking it on the street or car park nearby, costs almost the same anyway.

The rooms were so dated... The cleanliness was just about at the level that I could tolerate. But the air-con is always a bonus. The walls were so thin that we could hear everything at the corridor and next door.

The couple at the reception were very slow! I guess they are friendly to the French customers who speaks the same language, a bit too friendly which the conversation seemed to go on forever. So allow some extra time when checking out (particularly when you have a parking meter ticking on the street), there might be a long queue and they like taking their time!

I would say Cassis is a nice place, but staying there in the city centre for one night is more than enough... Parking is a nightmare, road diversions can come up anytime anywhere for no apparent reasons, and the French police are good at blocking roads, but they are rubbish in helping or giving directions.

We got fed up with the traffic and the hotel and went camping the next day, it turned out to be very nice, much more spacious, people are less uptight and more relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I really wanted to like Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis. The location is ideal, right in the middle of this attractive town. The owners were helpful and amiable. However, the rooms are spartan and you can tell they closely watch the bottom line For example, the tiny piece of soap crumbled as I took it out of its package. We had two small rooms and there was no wifi in either. It cost 12 Euros to park in their garage. I realise this is an expensive part of Provence but I felt the rooms could have been spruced up a bit to make them a little less cheerless. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on its quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and basic but comfortable. The breakfast is worth the money and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located only a very short walk to the harbour and only a few minutes walk to the bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolesville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Comfortable hotel. You are paying for the location here, which is perfect. One block to the center of town and the harbor. Room and bathroom are very clean and very small. We were able to hear almost every movement in the hotel, from flushes to door banging. Wifi only in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is located in a lovely spot, near the city garden and children's play yard. It is near shopping and the sea. All within walking. Don't miss the outdoor market! The staff are helpful.
The owner asked an employee to drive us to the train station because no cabs were available.
The hotel vehicle was used to drive us. No charge so we tipped the young woman driver.

I will return to this town and hope to stay in the hotel again. Breakfast was ample and good - eat outdoors or indoors.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and city play ground so lots of laughter and morning cleaning of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a quick weekend trip hiking in Marseille. The hotel was exactly what you expect for the price - basic, no-frills, generic and a little depressing. And, I agree with the other reviewer, the walls are paper thin. No need for an alarm, as other showering or slamming doors will wake you!

However, I will bumped it up a star because the service was really great - the owner offered us breakfast one morning, and every person manning the desk, from the main congierge to the night-clerk, was friendly and enthusiastically helpful. Despite this, however, next time we would probably look for a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coucou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Golfe
Hotel Le Golfe
#7 of 16 in Cassis
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#13 of 16 in Cassis
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis

Property: Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis
Address: 2 rue Pierre Eydin, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Grand Jardin de Cassis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing