We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a pass on this place.”
Review of Le Clos Des Aromes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Des Aromes
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Summertime in Cassis. All we wanted was a nice clean quiet place to spend a couple of nights, but got otherwise. Gruff, typically arrogant staff had more time for smoking cigarettes and drinking coffee than attending to the guests needs. They charge extortionist fees for parking your car and that's all they had to offer. Cute restaurant in the courtyard is away from the shoreline hustle but we did not eat there as we were so pissed off with management. NO air conditioning and that [--] church bell rang next to our room every half hour. I felt like I was staying in the hotel by the train tracks in "My Cousin Vinny". Management and friends spoke loudly on the street at all hours through the night. They could care less about the welfare of the guests. They make hay while the sun shines as I'm sure it's deadly quiet in the winter, most guests don't return. and they know it. If they do, they're suckers for punishment. Do yourself a favor and a pass on this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeff748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos Des Aromes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We pulled into Cassis without reservations or without much of an idea what the city looked like. We spotted Clos de la Aromes from the car and dashed in to see if they had two rooms. When I met Cedric at the front desk, I had an inkling that our one night stay would be exceptional. He was kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms were small and the furniture was dated, but we didn't come to sit in our rooms so who cares! We spent the day exploring and returned to have dinner in the lovely courtyard in front of the hotel. The service, the food and the setting made this a delightful experience and we regretted that Cassis and the Hotel Clos de la Aromes was just a one night stand. My daughter ordered the fish special and our server with a smile and much panache deboned her fish with the skill of a surgeon. Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is the small garage just twenty steps away. The value was good and the location was ideal. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking e terrace. The chuch bell rings all night and it is better with a fron...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

this was a true find, and we were lucky to find it. this small family run hotel has 20 rooms, a parking garage (which in Cassis is a god send), a wonderful location right in town, wonderful restaurant, small clean rooms at a good price, and a romantic ambience. yes, it is a 2 star hotel but what a wonderful place, we would have stayed a week if our plans allowed. the bed was confortable, the bathtub was deep and long as only a 6' plus man can enjoy, with a fine shower in a clean and well equipped bathroom. our room over looked the front courtyard and was very romantic. it is definitely not a chain hotel, nor a business hotel, it is more like staying in a perfect country auberge with a staff who can't do enough to please you. we had such fun with the staff who spoke adequate english and who worked daily on our pathetic french. dinner at the hotel was wonderful, romantic, and the most authentic french dining experience of our 3 week sojourn. it is fun and wonderful. as we were leaving they were installing tv's which we regretted, but such is the demand of the modern hotel trade. hand ironed bed linens and soft fluffy towels made us cozy when the mistral blew in one day. stop by and ask to see a room; if you don't like what you see don't stay there, they have a loyal following and don't need to be compared to a chain hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the available rooms, they are more then happy to accomodate you.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank denverrjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Typical 2 star French hotel, off the port side so peaceful. Upside: location, charming staff; lovely garden ( in summer I imagine, the restaurant would serve there on the terrace, we were out of season in March); there`s a bar ( very generous pours!); very inexpensive room for this town; breakfast = correct, nothing fancy , €8 pp supplement; shower worked very well; just a hard to define nice atmosphere about the place. Downside: don't come here if you insist on spacious bedrooms - it didn't bother us, we were here for the night and not hanging around in the room. I`d come back. Cassis = lovely place, musts are the boat ride to the Calanques, port side lunch, drive up to Cap Canaille for the terrifying view over the bay, excellent people watching.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

On a week's stay in Cassis we had dinner 3 times at Le Bonaparte, and 3 times at this hotel.
The restaurant is set in a beautiful garden, lit by lanterns hung from the trees....the food is excellent, reasonably priced and the
service exemplary. I guess, because we had been there 3 times in a week, we were
given our drinks (wine and beer) on the house! really memorable

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kimgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Contrary to a previous traveler's unfortunate experience.........
In September 2010, my husband and I spent four days at Le Clos Des Aromes, which had been recommended to us by a French colleague. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "Le Clos." The hotel sits high on a hill, which affords a welcome breeze during the warmest months(June-Sept.). Our room - small, but very clean -overlooked the landscaped courtyard. It was a pleasant, five-minute walk into the quaint village of Cassis. Our only regret is that our FIRST dining experience at "Le Clos" was on our last night in Cassis. The dinner was fabulous. No wonder the restaurant was busy every night! We look forward to visiting Cassis and "Le Clos" again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank christian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#8 of 16 in Cassis
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Aromes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Aromes

Address: 10 rue Abbe Paul Mouton, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos Des Aromes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing