We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay in Cassis”
Review of Jardin d'Emile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jardin d'Emile
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this charming but comfortable and clean little hotel with its amazing view of the sea (room 6). The staff were accommodating, calling a cab for us and working with us while we spoke our less-than-perfect French. Cassis was beautiful. Our stay at Jardin d'Emile, and our hike of the nearby Calanques, were definitely highlights of our 2 week Europe trip.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great - sea views, and charming balcony where we had coffee in the morning and happy hour...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Neepavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were made feel very welcome by the whole team @ jardin d'emile. Our young children and small puppy were very well looked after, great service, very clean and nice food. The private same same beach is great also!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamillMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Although we only stayed for one night, this tiny hotel was delightful and a real find. The hotel's location directly across from the Plage Bestousan is a 15 minute walk through lovely residential neighborhoods to hiking access to the Calanques and kayaking from Port Miou. It is a five to ten minute walk to the charming harbor of Cassis, where there are many restaurant, shops and boat tours. We liked the easy access to everything, and the quiet neighborhood. There is also the bonus of a free parking on site.

Our room was small but comfy and quiet (faced the rear garden and car park), but we could see the sea from our shuttered window. Tomas, the all-purpose desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, as was the rest of the staff.

Although there is a restaurant here, we chose to eat at the harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cd_in_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This small hotel is charming with a good location to the port area. One drawback is no elevator; however, this is common in Europe and one needs to pack lightly! The breakfasts were delightful (extra cost). It would be advantageous to speak French; however, all personnel were friendly and helpful. Since it was fall, we weren't interested in beach facilities. Our room was clean and daily service provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back as they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Rooms etc pretty much as described, very small and quirky. We liked that. Prices quoted here are out of date. You pay 139 euros a night most of the year. Only cheaper room (number 2) has no balconey and bed is pushed to wall on one side. If you want breakfast be sure to order it day b4. Surly and aggressive waitress just embarked on WW3 with me cos we had not pre-ordered. Despite fact we've been here two days and had breakfast already with no-one raising this need. Really OTT argument with me when clearly it is her colleagues at fault. Unpleasant and totally unnecessary, esp condidering the simplicity of stock involved for the offering of bread fruit salad and yogurt to 7 rooms. So, it is quirky and not mainstream. Which reflects on staff training as well as the rooms. The other breskfast waitress was delightful so very stark contrast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suze58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Cassis, even during the off-season is not inexpensive. But we found a pretty perfect hotel. It was not exactly easy to get to(fllow the Blue signs w/ Hotel name) but winding up and down the streets to the hotel was worth the effort. The hotel oozes charm and character of the old Mediterranean. It's set back from the road looking out to sea and Cap Canaille. Do choose to face the beautiful sea as noise is not a problem. Room 1 and 5 are best. There's parking in the back of the hotel. A huge plus even off-season. Parking along the street was tight for residents and visitors even then.
Thomas was super helpful with our reservation (all the female staff were great and helpful too) so we got exactly the room we wanted. It exceded expectations for the most part. Spacious enough, great bed (which was positioned to face the sea), quality bedding, was well lit (mid-day, the sun shines right into the room so it can get a little too bright, but there's a velvet curtain on the double paned door to use - maybe a dark sheer would have been better so as to tame the light but not block the beautiful view completely?), large bathroom with charming shutters outside of double-paned window which let in good light and made the room bright and airy. We were surprised to find the bathroom had no door - due to the old, charming arched-doorway perhaps? They have a folding screen instead - which we kept folded up and out of the way until we took showers, which were a bit cold because there's no shower curtain either. So you have to be fast and neat with the handheld showerhead if you don't want to splash everywhere. We didn't mind; since we accepted it as part of the charm.
The restaurant was available for breakfast but we opted for the 5 minute easy walk down to the waterfront and had croissant/baguette and coffee facing the sea.
If this hotel is full, they have a modern sister hotel right next door; it's priced about 20Euros(?) higher. It looks more like a hotel you'd find in Southern California than the Mediterranean and sits right out at the road. Definitely not charming, but very chic. And they have beach chaise down at the patio above the beach across the road you can rent. The beach is accessible to everyone. Go play!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were extremely dissappointed with this place for many reasons. First of all, it does not have a private beach as it says on it's website. The beach is public and there are facilities but you have to pay for it. The rooms are not like in the pictures, the rooms are very small, extremely old, our bathroom didn't even have a door and it was not clean. Also it was extremely noisy as it is old . Service was awful. When we told them the airconditioning was not working they kept saying it works And then said they checked but they didn't know what the problem was and that it should be working basically they didn't even care. We paid 100 euros for a night and this hotel should not be even 50 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evrimasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Emile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Emile

Address: 23 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £155 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jardin d'Emile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin d`Emile Hotel Cassis
Jardin d Emile Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing