We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Pastis”
Review of Jardin d'Emile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jardin d'Emile
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
278 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Bar Pastis”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Had the misfortune to have a lunch (two people) here. The service was the worst I've seen anywhere. The menu is quite restricted and yet it took 40 minutes from order to food arriving. Food was served lukewarm as waiter didn't know where we were sitting and had been wandering around on the seafront terrace, whereas we were seated near the bar (and thus quite near to the kitchen!) The girl who took the orders looked harrassed and unhappy and her excuses sounded as though she were resigned to asking forgiveness of unhappy customers. A lady appeared on the scene who may have been the manageress (although she didn't intervene) or owner; whatever, she stood for some time watching the proceedings in a disapproving manner before disappearing.
My "Aubergine with prosciutto" really seemed to me just a moussaka with a small sliver of something that must have been ham lost in the sauce. They didn't serve my friend what had been ordered. Explanation: " the main chef isn't here today, that's why the order is wrong".
Not prepared to wait another forty minutes we ate what was put before us. My rough cut deep fried potatoes were actually cold and had to be returned to the kitchen to be reheated. They were very congealed and I think that they had been precooked sometime before the meal.
We didn't stay for dessert but fled.....never to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    138
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
38
179
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Cassis in general was hard to figure out. Very touristy, VERY expensive, but beautiful and relaxing. Our hotel was a mixture of pros and cons and made my overall ambiguity with regards to Cassis even more so. Normally I would say there must be " better places to stay in Cassis"....but I'm not sure there are.

Pros: Good Location, friendly staff, quirky, comfortable beds, sound proof glass, parking, nice bath products, excellent wifi ( best we found in France)

Cons: Dark, small rooms,quirky, uninviting public spaces, bar/restaurant on the hotel property serving the beach across the road playing very loud music all day and into the night.....making it difficult to keep the doors open to the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dnl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Cassis in general was hard to figure out. Very touristy, VERY expensive, but beautiful and relaxing. Our hotel was a mixture of pros and cons and made my overall ambiguity with regards to Cassis even more so. Normally I would say there must be " better places to stay in Cassis"....but I'm not sure there are.

Pros: Good Location, friendly staff, quirky, comfortable beds, sound proof glass, parking, nice bath products, excellent wifi ( best we found in France)

Cons: Dark, small rooms,quirky, uninviting public spaces, bar/restaurant serving the beach across the road playing very loud music into the night.....making it difficult to keep the doors open to the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

When our hotel in Aix en Provence proved less than desirable, I booted up the IPAD and did a quick search for hotels in nearby Cassis. I came up Le Jardin d'Emile completely by accident, but lucky for us they had availability for the next 2 nights. The staff at the front desk were incredibly helpful at all times, including looking up the address for a nearby laundry when we needed a mid-vacation clothes washing. They also gave my husband some burn ointment after he had an unfortunate encounter with a hot motorcycle muffler while at the laundry. Our room looked out on the Sea, as well as the nearby public beach. The people-watching was great, and we enjoyed a wine, cheese and bread picnic on our balcony after purchasing wine at a nearby winery. The second day we opted not to take the breakfast, preferring only coffee, for which there was no charge. There's a bar at the front of the property that had live music one evening and we again enjoyed listening from our balcony. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Peeble beach in front of the hotel with a private beach lounge (not linked to hotel, so there are fees for the beach lounge). We had room 1 and 4. Room 1 has a huge terrace overlooking the sea, but you have the noise from the bar/restaurant. It is the right room if your on the party. Room 4 had a small balcony on the parking side, but still a nice view.
The toilets (with privacy door) are separate from the bathrooms. But there was no door separating the bedroom from the bathroom. It did not bother us, but non couple travellers might not like the concept.
The breafast was great and worth the spendng. The hotel is located about 15 min walk from the center of town. The walk is 50% uphill.
Service was very friendly and hepful.

Would we go back .... Of course !

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CeeBee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this charming but comfortable and clean little hotel with its amazing view of the sea (room 6). The staff were accommodating, calling a cab for us and working with us while we spoke our less-than-perfect French. Cassis was beautiful. Our stay at Jardin d'Emile, and our hike of the nearby Calanques, were definitely highlights of our 2 week Europe trip.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great - sea views, and charming balcony where we had coffee in the morning and happy hour...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neepavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were made feel very welcome by the whole team @ jardin d'emile. Our young children and small puppy were very well looked after, great service, very clean and nice food. The private same same beach is great also!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamillMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#3 of 16 in Cassis
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Golfe
Hotel Le Golfe
#7 of 16 in Cassis
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Emile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Emile

Property: Jardin d'Emile
Address: 23 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jardin d'Emile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin d`Emile Hotel Cassis
Jardin d Emile Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing