We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Rade
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

after reading reviews,, we decided this was a good location and it was,,,
just steps from the harbour and all the great restaurants. As stated in other reviews,,
the room was small but expected. It was modern and had what was needed.
We lucked out with a front row parking spot so that was good.
The weather was nice so we took advantage of the pool and hot tub,, what a view!!
Front desk was helpful,, we had made an error on our arrival date by one day and they
we able to accommodate us without any problems,,
the breakfast was good as well,,, typical European,,,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    176
    108
    33
    20
See reviews for
58
235
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The view from the pool area is amazing, but in the end we didn´t use the pool at all- I prefer swimming in the sea. The room was on the small side - with two separate beds there was not much space to walk and nowhere to sit in the rooms apart from the beds. It was nice to have a little balcony to but no space to sit there either. Bathroom was ok except that it was impossible to keep the water from the shower from splashing all over the floor - a little poor for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Newish, small rooms but more than adequate. Good buffet breakfast with cheese, meat, cereal, waffles, eggs, etc for 13 Euros. Small pool with terrace. About 3 blocks from water, all downhill (and uphill on the return!). Convenient location. Parking next to hotel is available but very limited.

Room Tip: WE were on the back, so no view, but quiet. Front side are on main street into town, but I have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We found ourselves in lovely Cassis and chose this hotel, taking the last room for just one night. Fairly basic room, but clean and big enough, overlooking the road. Quiet though, comfortable and an adequate basic breakfast. Room prices we thought quite high and paying quite a lot for breakfast really loads the price, as elsewhere in France. Limited parking across the front, but free street-side parking is fairly nearby. Nice pool and sun deck.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Cassis is a true gem in the mediterranean, beautiful, charming, enchating!

Beware that it is built on the hill that is steeply descending into the sea, just like the calanques near-by, and parking in Cassis is a nightmare. Even the city centre public parking gets full soon in peak hours and you will have to park outside Cassis and then use the shuttle.

Every 3***/4****hotel is up on the hill and you have to walk up or down hundreds of meters many times per day, unless....... unless you are staying at La Rade!

This hotel is just next to the port, could not be in a better position!

The breakfast veranda is amazing, such a beautiful view with its big big windows - actually the whole wall is made of glass - over the sea and down over the pool. And food is copious with a good variety of hot and cold dishes, a great cappuccino machine!

The rooms are average, on the small and old side with very few finishing. The bathroom is also very very small. But in such a beautiful place, who needs to stay in the room? our family suite was composed of one room with king bed and bathroom and another room with two beds, each one with its small balcony.

The hotel has a fantastic pool and also a small jacuzzi just next. Everything is styled as on a boat deck, with ropes and wooden floor. Enchanting and warm, you do feel welcome in this place!

Please note that the pool is invaluable, you will discover that the beach in Cassis is very small and extremely packed and it takes more than 30min walk to reach more distant beaches, which are actually sun bathing or swimming places on the rocks, not really beaches. And you should consider that the water temperature can go fairly low to even 15 degrees Celsius in August if the Mistral has just been blowing. So it may be too cold to have a swim in the sea and then you will bless having such a nice pool at the hotel. Not sure how many hotels have one in Cassis.

The hotel personnel is extremely helpful too and sleep quality is excellent.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We lucked out and were upgraded to a suite with a private balcony overlooking the sea. It was a lovely room, beautiful view and great location. Staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Only minor complaint was that the hot tub and pool were a a bit dirty (lots of bugs), but it was off season and most people would not venture into the pool this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'd echo the other recent reviews. The terrace overlooking the pool and with a view out to sea is very pleasant. This is where breakfast is served, for €13 per person. I thought, before we tried it, that that was rather steep but actually it is good value, for Cassis. There is the usual choice of cold and cooked things, but with nice additions such as a DIY orange juicer (which worked OK for us, unlike for a previous reviewer), a Nespresso machine with the full choice of sachets, and a DIY egg boiler.

The pool is good and the surrounding area was not crowded while we were there (13-16 June) - there was always a free sunbed.

Our bedroom was a bit tired, though - it needed a bit of a refurb.

Overall, a great location in Cassis, and lovely views on three sides.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTheRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#3 of 16 in Cassis
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#10 of 16 in Cassis
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#2 of 16 in Cassis
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Rade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Rade

Property: Best Western Hotel La Rade
Address: 1 avenue des Dardanelles | Route des Calanques, 13260 Cassis, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel La Rade 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Rade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rade
Best Western Cassis
Cassis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing