We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Rade
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great view from Pool and breakfast-tables, but that's it.
No Real Bar Service, many rooms, even superior category face the noisy street. Giant dog poo in front of hotel garage, Nobody cared to take it away in the heat for 2 days. Staff friendly but for 200 € a Night not a good choice

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiseschlau75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently.

Pros:
Great location only a short stroll to the marina, bars, restaurants but away from the hustle and bustle on Cassis central. No need to climb the steep hill in the heat to other accommodation like so many others we saw. Also well positioned to walk to the nearby beach (Bestouan) the 'best beach' and the calanques. It was hot during our visit so the location worked well for us.
Staff at reception were patient and helpful with our limited French and making a doctors appointment when we needed it.
The pool area was perfect, plenty of sun beds, towels at reception.
The breakfast / lounge area has a good view over the pool and marina. Also nice to sit here in the afternoon with a drink.
Wifi worked well in the room and a desktop computer in the lounge area was free for Internet access.
You can book a garage in advance for €15 a day. Well worth it if you are coming and going otherwise parking may be difficult.

Cons:
The rooms are tiny. We had to juggle our luggage around to fit it all in. This was ok because we didn't spend much time in the room.
The balcony is tiny. You can take the desk chair out and hang wet swim wear etc on it though which was handy as everything dried very quickly in the afternoon sun.
There is really no sea view. Due to the way the building is faced, none of the rooms seem to have a sea view (maybe just a glimpse) except the one junior suite.
The road can be busy so a little noisy with the balcony doors open.
No elevator - only 3 stories but stairs may not suit everyone.

** We met a couple staying at Jarden D'Emilie when we had dinner at this restaurant (great meal). They showed us their room. It was much bigger than ours and right across from the beach. We would try this place next time. It's a little quirky but they were very happy with it. **

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor may be quieter but means more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in Cassis after a recommendation from a friend and then started researching and reading reviews here to help decide on accommodation as we weren't familiar with the area.

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, the location, the service and our room. At home, in Australia, I wouldn't generally stay with this brand, so did have some small hesitations, none of which were warranted.

We were greeted by Laura who was sweet and welcoming and assisted us with parking, which felt a little tricky with the tight streets and parking angles. Our room was perfect for our four night stay and the view was breathtaking on arrival, for reference we booked the junior suite and it was worth the extra money.

We were lucky enough with our room to have a large private balcony, however if other rooms were chosen the pool area is spacious with many sun lounges to relax on.

The location wasn't right on the pier/restaurant area which we found perfect as it was quieter yet still only a very short 3-5 minute walk and also a great starting point to walk to the next beach along (not the main beach) which was beautiful.

The housekeeping of the rooms was fantastic with very thorough daily cleaning. Breakfast variety was good, quality was ok. The staff were very pleasant and made us feel so welcome and even went out of their way with a taxi mix up to take us to our destination which was completely unexpected, thank you so much Nelia.

We would be happy to stay here again if we returned to Cassis.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alethea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We found this hotel to be great. They even allowed us to use the balcony off the conference room for a special occasion.
The views are great and staff friendly.
Even when there was a problem on one night of our booking they gave us free breakfast.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_IS3086UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Why do theses hotels advertise internet but when you get in the room and try use it there's a flash back to the 90's, and your on a dial up service. The hotel clerk said the internet is weak where I was. Why do they advertise internet when they know it isn't in the room.
Also, if no more than one person, the room is alright, but two is too many. Reminds me of a camper van.
They also advertise parking, hardly, unless you can say five spaces can count as parking to handle the 30 plus rooms. Be prepared for a very long walk and hunt for that one.
Too much money for what you.

Room Tip: If you like to stretch out you may find it hard to do here. Rooms are small and tight. Ok if your al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldndragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in May, ‘14. Overall we were happy with the hotel, but there also a few issues that might lead us to look elsewhere if we were to return to Cassis.

La Rade is in a very good location, not on the waterfront but just one street behind on the western edge of the harbor. It is an easy walk to restaurants and shops in the old section, and also is a very good base for hiking the fabulous Calanques trails. The hotel has three storeys in an attractive and modern architectural style. The large, open lobby area and adjoining restaurant where breakfast is served (13e, which we opted not to have) are very pleasant and have a nice view of the ocean. Despite the modern design, there is no lift and to enter the hotel requires carrying luggage up a flight of stairs. Help is available if you ask, however. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with information and with dinner reservations.

We were upgraded to a “comfort” room which is larger than standard rooms (which were indeed small) and has a small balcony overlooking the residential area. The balcony seems like a nice feature, but it was too small to sit on. Our room (35) was fair sized, attractive, and had a comfortable double bed with two night stands. There was a coffee maker, a mini-bar refrigerator, and a small desk and a small built-in closet with a safe. Aside from the small closet there was very little storage space or room to set suitcases. The a.c. was very weak (either malfunctioning or not yet turned on for the season) and the bedding was of the one-piece type that made temperature regulation for sleeping difficult. The bathroom was fair-sized and attractive, with a tub/shower combination. But a design flaw (perhaps overlooked in the planning phase) made it impossible to keep shower water from going all over the bathroom floor.

The hotel has about a dozen free parking places along the side, and we were lucky enough to get one of those. We then just left the car where it was for the remainder of our stay. The hotel also offers reserved parking for a fee, and there is a fairly large public lot about a 10-minute walk away. Parking is apparently a difficult problem in Cassis, so we doubt other hotels in the same price range are better in this regard. In fact, Hotel le Golfe, just around the corner and right on the waterfront would be an attractive alternative to Le Rade, but it is another few minutes’ walk to parking.

Overall, La Rade is a nice hotel and has many positive features. But it also has some odd shortcomings in terms of design that made it less comfortable than it could have been.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I would echo reviews from other travelers - very nice location, views, close to water and very convenient for exploring Calanques.The town itself is cozy and gorgeous.
We were lucky to get a free parking in front of the hotel.
Wanted to compliment the staff. Emanuel at front desk made us feel welcomed, went far beyond her duties helping us with our French, was very attentive and warm (which is not that usual in France). She gave us a map, explained our options for hiking, suggested few restaurants. It made our stay and experience super special. Thank you so much, it is greatly appreciated.
Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable for us....
Enjoyed it a lot, would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina3332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassis
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
325 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Rade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Rade

Address: 1 avenue des Dardanelles | Route des Calanques, 13260 Cassis, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £77 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel La Rade 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Rade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rade
Best Western Cassis
Cassis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing