We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely hotel, but don't expect any customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August at this hotel. The room was very small, but light and airy and had a balcony and a fabulous view of Cap Canaile. However, we found the difficulties around parking very stressful. We tried to reserve hotel parking when we first booked, but were unable to do so, we rang the night before our arrival and were unable to do so. I actually wonder whether the hotel parking actually exists, as I did not meet any other guest who had been successful in obtaining a spot. We were directed to the public parking which had to be meter fed. Surely, the hotel could negotiate some way of actually booking and paying for this in advance. On our arrival at the public parking, the attendant said if we could confirmation from the hotel, we could stay for free. We asked the hotel about this, but were told this was not the case and they were not prepared to give us anything. You had to be up before 9 am and have all the right coins to put in the meter, which was a real headache. On the first morning realised I didn't have the right
money, and asked someone at Reception for change. With a look of total indifference, I was told she had no change and couldn't tell me where I could get any. At breakfast, there was no-one to greet us or offer tea or coffee, it was totally self service, expect that half the stuff wasn't there. I had to ask for milk for tea, but was told they only had hot milk - what in a hotel kitchen there was no cold milk? I had to ask for a plate and there was nowhere set up to sit on the terrace. Very poor show. The next morning, we went down earlier and it was a bit better. At no time did anyone wish us a nice stay, offer any information about anything, or show the remotest interest in us as paying customers. We had just come from a guest house in Aix-en-Provence which was warm, friendly and personal and the contrast could not have been greater. I am not sure whether to recommend this place or not. It is in an excellent location, a short walk in to town, it was quiet when we were there, but I believe is a lot noisier during the height of the season. However, we loved Cassis, and you have to stay somewhere!

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have been in Cassis for the first week end of august and we spent 3 night at the hotel la plage.
It was quite expensive since we booked at the very last minute and there was no much availability left, but a part from that, (that was our fault!!!) we have been pretty happy for the accomodation.
The room was spacious with a big confortable bad, a big flat screen tv, functioning air conditioned (a bit noisy), big bathroom and good bath products.
We were just not sure if the towels were always clean since we forgot to trow them on the ground once.
The room has a nice balcony, with 2 beach chairs, with the amazing view of a rocky bay.
The breakfast is included in the price and it is served on a nice terrace. it is very good: A mix between typical french breakfast and continental one: fruits, yogurt, boiled eggs (not scrambled), ham, croissants and various marmelades.

The only drowbacks were:
- even if every day we found in the room an offered bottle of water,there is no fridge!!!no minibar at all, so even if you buy your own things to go to the beach it is not practical not having a fridge.
- on the website they say they have a parking. However, it is a public one, not at all reserved to the hotel. It is pretty difficult to find a parking lot especially during the day so If you want to be sure to have a place you need to book it by telling them at the moment of the reservation.
- there were some group of ants in the corner of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black_Mamb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had à wonderful stay at this little nice boutique hotel. The rooms were cleanand had aircondition and french television. We had à standard room with balcony facing the sea. Absolutely amazing view over the cap canaille. An extra plus for the generous breakfast. The beach is located just in front of the hotel. We will definetely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Une_Petite_Critique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Mahogany with our 3 month old. The hotel was clean, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating and the views and location were stunning. A short walk to town and one of the most picturesque settings we have seen in a long time. Would highly recommend this hotel and the staff were suburb in accommodating our (many) requests that we had.

Worth the price if you can secure a sea view room. We didn't have one and just took advantage of the terrace which was nicely shaded and comfortable.

Room Tip: go for the sea view if there are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdtravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

You wouldn't stay more than one night. The service is somewhat helpful, but not that friendly.

The view is great (sea view side) but the rooms are old, tired & rundown. Broken fittings etc.

The little Patsis bar down below was at lest ok for dinner. The rest of the small sea front here just closes up.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveler in May 2012. I had a small but beautifully appointed room, gray suede and leather curtains, incredible view from my balcony ( with table and chairs) clean but small bathroom. The staff were very warm, not cold at all, even lent me chargers and converters, made recommendations for restaurants etc. The beach is right across from the hotel- one road, with choice of chi chi beach club with chairs and service, or the rock beach. ( and I do mean rock!). The breakfast was great, served on the terrace. The coffee...oh..that French coffee with the hot milk!!! The decor was really cool in the lobby, common areas, even interior hallways. There IS no service from the train station, and it IS really too far to walk, but the station called me a taxi ( and there is a little bar/resto across from train station, I'm sure they would call taxi also. Once at hotel, everything very convenient for walkin. Adorable town!

Room Tip: It was rather noisy in early am as they were refurbishing a snack area on the beach across from my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The location of this hotel a few steps from the beach with a terrific view is ideal.
Service on the other hand was underwhelming. We arrived at Cassis station at 23.30. The hotel couldn't arrange a taxi nor would they pick us up. We were told we would have to walk 40 minutes to the hotel. Staff were generally cold and unhelpful. Breakfast was OK. Make sure you book a room with a view. Rooms could do with a freshening up.
The photos they use to promote the property intimate a private beach with sun lounges. The beach is not private and access to the sun lounges has to be paid for.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay a little extra and get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Clos Des Aromes
Le Clos Des Aromes
#6 of 16 in Cassis
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage Mahogany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage Mahogany

Address: 19 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume | Plage du Bestouan, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £120 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage Mahogany 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Plage Mahogany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing