We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steer clear if you want good value or a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steer clear if you want good value or a good night's sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Currently lying awake at 1.30am with a really noisy party happening.

Hotel is ok but you have to pay for everything - parking, breakfast etc. The 'private beach' is a rip-off - 12 euros to sit and listen to loud music and eat overpriced food.

Room Tip: We got a superior room with garden terrace - decent size but no fridge or tea/coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    112
    72
    53
    28
See reviews for
51
231
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our room is clean, nice size, good shower, elegantly done with doors opening to r=terraces that have an incredible view right above Same Same Beach. Parking a big problem and walk to town is more than the 5 minutes they tell you but it can all be overcome when you just relax outside.

Room Tip: Third floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didyaeatyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is located right across the pestouan beach, about a mile away from the city center. We had room #16, with no direct view to the sea. It was spacious enough, and clean, to welcome our party of 4 (incl 2 young children). Staff was nice and helpful, and parking was easily available next door. That counts when the alternative is to hope or a spot on the main parking in the city center.
The beach is a bit secluded, very charming, kids had a great time there. We would def. recommend this place and go back there. Pricing is not cheap, but we felt like it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I tried to book this hotel by emailing the reception. I was informed that a room was available and to provide my credit card details. I responded straight away asking to reserve the room and send my card details. I was then told that the room had been taken and that a different room was available. I asked if it was possible to reserve this instead and received no response.
I ended up making a reservation elsewhere. While on holiday, the day after I checked into the other hotel I ended up booking, I received an email from this hotel stating that I had not shown up and that they would be taking the full amount from my credit card and they forwarded on a booking confirmation with that day's date on it!? I asked for proof that a confirmation was ever sent to me prior to the day after I was supposed to have checked in and they proceeded to send some quite rude emails.
I had to call my credit card company while on holiday and ask them to block and attempted charges from this hotel and pretty much spent a whole morning arguing over email with them about this! It may be coincidence but a few weeks later I had to cancel my credit card as someone had copied the details and attempted to use it abroad!
Terrible customer service I would never recommend dealing with these people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cassis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
252 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in Cassis for 2 nights and I am so glad that we decided to stay at this hotel.
The hotel is by a small pebbled beach and the rooms offer a brilliant sea view.
The room was small but very well done and the balcony with the view of the sea was what created the magic..
It was a 10 min walk to the centre of the town and was very doable.

It would have been nice to have a mini fridge - however we did not miss it.

The reception staff was very helpful and friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea facing room.. Totally worth the extra price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalwaters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Whether it is sunny or rainy the ocean view can hardly be more impressive. And the receptionist was nice. But apart from these two positive elements, everything went wrong. We were staying at the hotel during a cold and stormy night, and we did not get much sleep due to the constant noice from a vibrating woodden shield on our balcony. At midnight we had quite a shock as someone entered our room with an electronic key identical to ours. Fortunately we had put on the security chain - it broke, but both we and the intruder were indeed alerted. In the morning we got out of bed to find no electricity, no heating and no hot water in our room. Finally there was quite a draft in the breakfast room. Conclusion: Do not go to this hotel in the winter time. They are not prepared for it.

Room Tip: It would be a mistake to stay in a room without seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Located on a small, quiet beach with clear, calm waters, the simple cafe underneath this hotel serves first class cafe food and wine, no better place to sit. The hotel itself is functional with a good breakfast, a sea view raises the bar incomparably.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Staggered G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#12 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage Mahogany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage Mahogany

Property: Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Address: 19 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume | Plage du Bestouan, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage Mahogany 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Plage Mahogany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing