We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location but absolutely not for disabled persons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but absolutely not for disabled persons”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent one night at the Mahogany Hotel in Cassis. We have got a tiny room with a bathroom in a kind of cupboard and a very uncomfortable bed. the view on the bay from the 3rd floor was fantastic and reduced the frustration about the room and the hotel in general. Although I had asked about a parking space for disabled, nobody told me that the entire hotel is absolutely NOT suitable for people like me using a wheelchair. Huge stairs to be climbed from the road to the terrace, steps again to the reception, from the reception to the lift. The lift itself is so small, that a wheelchair could not be entered anyway. On the floor corridors and rooms do not allow a wheelchair. Some staff tried to help but what could they do?
Please also nte that parking are about 300 meters away from the hotel entrance and is securely closed
Again the view on the bay is not to ne missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    118
    79
    60
    31
See reviews for
55
246
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aksdal
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 4 nighs at this hotel i July 213. The location is fantastic, just above the beach, 5 minutes on foot from Cassis harbour. The wiev from room is fantastic. Even though the room is rather small, the terrace is great with sun beds, table and chairs. We experienced a friendly and helpful staff and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with at view at Cape Canaille.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We arrived early for our check-in time thinking we would just be able to drop off our bags and fend for ourselves with parking (the town was JAMMED that hot day) to find that 1) they had room for our car in the lot, AND 2) our room was ready early. We stayed in Rm #10. The door was a little sticky and cock-eyed, but when we opened it, I tell you it could not have been more perfect! This was the lowest cost sea-front room (160 Euros / night), and it was beautifully appointed in modern and simple beach style. The balcony looks right over La Bestouan Beach ("The Best One") and is just a short and straight walk from town (I'd say 7 minutes) and also from the hikes to the Calanques (about 5 minutes to the start of the trails). It is a small room / bathroom, but you will likely spend most of your time on your private terrace overlooking the beach and Cap Canaille anyway. The only drawback we had was that the hotel only offered wifi (free of charge, though) in close proximity to the front desk, but not in the rooms. All in all, I'm so glad we chose to stay at this wonderful little hotel. We hope to be back!

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew East, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel has the location and style to die for but is let down totally by the poor attitude and service of the staff. Attempting to order a drink on the sun deck or place a breakfast order was nearly impossible. Car parking behind the hotel was refused and we had to compete with the beach crowd in the adjacent public parking area. Advised check in time of 14.00 was not possible. Rooms were not available till after 15.30 on our arrival day.

Room Tip: Insist on a front room facing the beach at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Currently lying awake at 1.30am with a really noisy party happening.

Hotel is ok but you have to pay for everything - parking, breakfast etc. The 'private beach' is a rip-off - 12 euros to sit and listen to loud music and eat overpriced food.

Room Tip: We got a superior room with garden terrace - decent size but no fridge or tea/coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cassis hotels

Healdsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our room is clean, nice size, good shower, elegantly done with doors opening to r=terraces that have an incredible view right above Same Same Beach. Parking a big problem and walk to town is more than the 5 minutes they tell you but it can all be overcome when you just relax outside.

Room Tip: Third floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didyaeatyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is located right across the pestouan beach, about a mile away from the city center. We had room #16, with no direct view to the sea. It was spacious enough, and clean, to welcome our party of 4 (incl 2 young children). Staff was nice and helpful, and parking was easily available next door. That counts when the alternative is to hope or a spot on the main parking in the city center.
The beach is a bit secluded, very charming, kids had a great time there. We would def. recommend this place and go back there. Pricing is not cheap, but we felt like it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#3 of 16 in Cassis
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#2 of 16 in Cassis
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage Mahogany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage Mahogany

Property: Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Address: 19 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume | Plage du Bestouan, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage Mahogany 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Plage Mahogany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing