We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading advertising and outrageously expensive!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Cottage

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Royal Cottage
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misleading advertising and outrageously expensive!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I are on a month long road trip across Southern Europe and we stopped in Cassis at the behest of a close friend. This was easily the most expensive room we booked on the entire trip. We expected a room that was commensurate with the 160 euro price tag ($212 US) and frankly I've had better experiences at $80/night highway hotels in the states. It was a hot day at 85 degrees Fahrenheit (30 degrees Celsius) so it was hot in our room when we arrived. Upon entering the room I realized that the AC seemed to not be working. When I inquired about the issue with the manager she said that the AC had not been turned on yet due to unusually cold weather. This was not what irked me. What irked me was the she didn't offer us a fan or a room on the lower floors of the hotel where it may have been cooler. She instead told us to sleep with the patio door open. The result was no sleep in a hot, bug infested room. We decided to get out of bed at 6am and leave as soon as possible. This was a horrible experience in a room that doesn't even begin to touch the luxury status the hotel advertises. I don't like to write negative reviews and I'm not hard to please but this was an unfortunate stay to be sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
All the three stars hotel in Cassis have similar Prices. It is really true that this year June was a very cold month, so because of saving energy for the planet , we didn't open the conditional air before the 15th of June. We are very sorry, we would have to propose you a ventilator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    148
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
54
181
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

All of our correspondence from the hotel claims that this is a "luxury" accommodation. While I've read enough reviews of this hotel not to expect luxury, even saying that this hotel is anything above budget class is shocking. While Hotel Royal Cottage may at one point have been a nice place, that point was at least 30-40 years ago and things haven't been updated since.

I understand that Cassis is an expensive location, but to pay 160 euros for a hotel this subpar is frankly insulting. And, it's June 7th in the South of France and the management is still saying that it's too cool to turn the air conditioning on and to just "open our balcony door." No apologies or offers of anything so much as a fan for our room. And, they advertise this property as having air conditioning...

So, we're spending the night with our balcony door open, unsure of how secure we are and with bugs flying in, just to keep our room somewhat tolerable. Yes, tolerable at 160 euros (or $212 dollars!!) per night.

It's worth mentioning that we are on a 3.5-week trip through Spain, Portugal, Italy, and France--including many expensive cities and locations--and this is both the most we've paid for a room and the most disappointed we've been at this point. Something just isn't right...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BouldertoPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
All the three stars hotel in Cassis have similar Prices. It is really true that this year June was a very cold month, so because of saving energy for the planet , we didn't open the conditional air before the 15th of June. We are very sorry, we would have to propose you a ventilator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
645 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I imagine that most places in Cassis are fairly expensive and this was certainly no exception for what it was . The room was Ok and the bathroom too but neither were exceptional , the furniture was tatty and a bit cheap looking and you went up a rather narrow metal staircase to the bed area which was not very big.
However the location was good , away from the port area so quiet but only 5 minutes walk away. The breakfast was fine and cost €11 . Parking was plentiful. The staff were all very friendly and spoke good English

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Showed up here in March with a family of four and no reservation. Don't try it , in the high season.
The managers were great, good english spoken, nice and clean. Close to town so you can walk to the water. Gated parking, free parking.

Took the family room. Decent value. i would stay here again. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We (1 adult, 1 college student, 3 teenagers) really enjoyed this hotel. There was easy access to bus stop just down the street and the port is an easy walk. Bus driver knew the hotel and it was well marked around town. Anne and the staff were so incredibly kind...really helpful...from booking to checkout. The pool and surroundings were really well kept,even in March when the weather was colder. The rooms were spotless, well appointed and quiet and the terrace was lovely. We were a last minute booking and traveling with kids and Anne was very kind to book 2 rooms side-by-side for us. She was thoughtful of every detail for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The big plus points of the Royal Cottage are the free car parking, spacious rooms and the easy walk in and out of town (less that ten minutes and the hill on the way back isn't too bad). Cassis is not a cheap place to stay and the Royal Cottage is no exception but there are often deals available via travel website that make it competitively price compared to the alternatives. Cassis is a lovely enough destination to take the pain out of having to pay a little more. The price we had to pay did leave me expecting something more though.
There was a mix up with our booking so we were asked to move rooms part way through our stay. The first room was above reception and designed for people with more limited mobility (although not fully adapted for a wheelchair user for example). The second room was of a higher quality on the second floor and had a sea view (if the wind blew the leaves of the palm tree in just the right way!). The staff didn't help us to move rooms but did give us the upgrade in room as compensation. I would not have been impressed had I paid for this upgrade though as the benefits weren't obvious. The deal I booked also included a free bottle of Cassis wine which never materialised. I asked about this as we were checking out and was given the wine at that point without any difficulties. My impression was that the staff were very nice and really helpful but perhaps the administration was a little disorganised.
My advice, visit Cassis as it is lovely. Consider the Royal Cottage as it is a good, safe bet but make sure that you get a good deal on the room price and if there are any special offers such as wine that you make sure to ask for them if the staff forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Good rooms of adequate size with lovely little balcony overlooking the pool . . Great bed . Helpful staff , access to internet a real boon . Cleanliness and attentiveness spot on . Pool lovely Car parking terrific . . Only downer is the hill to walk up after dinner in the town !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Cottage

Property: Hotel Royal Cottage
Address: 6, avenue du 11 Novembre, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cottage Cassis
Royal Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing