We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Cassis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Cottage
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Hotel Royal Cottage in Cassis having stayed there previously in 2012. The hotel is small, very comfortable, very clean, great swimming pool and you are attended to by lovely staff. It's great value with a nice homely feel and just a few minutes walk to the port and all the amenities. We were looked after very well and one lady in particular, Cyrille, was very helpful and made a special effort as she listened to our French. We like to speak French wherever possible and she really went the extra mile to converse with us. Highly recommend this terrific hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vaughn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Gérant at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks a lot for your comment, it's a pleasure for all the team to receive tourists in our wonderful village : Cassis . We hope to see you soon ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel, which is well located in a cute small port town near Marseille and attractive enough from the outside, was the worst we stayed in on a two week trip to the area, which included stays in hotels generally in the same price range. The young women at the desk were friendly and helpful, but the manager who was standing outside talking on a cell phone when we arrived and were obviously having trouble trying to negotiate getting into the parking lot past a barrier gate with a small intercom next to it, simply ignored us. Our room was uncomfortable and poorly designed and furnished; its only nice feature was a balcony overlooking a camphor tree next to the entrance to the parking lot. The toilet was in a small closet-like space; the separate wash room had a narrow tub in a dark space, with a hand-held sprayer for showering; the towels were thin, the liquid soap dispenser inoperable, and the small amenities consisted of disposable plastic cups, two tiny circles of cheap soap and two "vanity packs" that contained a couple of q-tip and a small cotton pad; the floor was covered in a kind of plastic woven stuff that was uncomfortable to walk on. The sheets were clean, but the blanket and pillows were only adequate. Our sense was that every economy was taken (there weren't even plastic bags lining the small trash bins in the washroom and toilet closet). The do-it-yourself breakfast (including coffee from a dispenser that offers various alternatives, but produces a mediocre cup of whatever type of coffee you select) was poor for the price - the worst selection on our two week trip; the alternative would have been to walk into town. There is a kind of all purpose room, with a couple of exercise machines, an ironing board, a computer, and a couple of tables, which also serves as the place to store luggage if you arrive before the room is ready. We did not visit the pool area, in part because they required a 12 euro deposit for a towel; but the smell of chlorine permeated the hall outside our room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esser-fresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We need to put the facts in context, : the manager was surprised to see you parked in the private way of the Hotel and changing of clothes , he told you that it is not allowed to park the car on this way and changing of clothes outside ( we have parking and cloakroom for our guests ) .
Then you decided to book a room.

The toilets are not so large but are separated from the bathroom.

The floor is a new comfortable coating and especially much more hygienic than our old fitted carpet !

We choose to use trash bins without plastic bags because of our civic responsibility …

Thank you very much for your comments concerning our kind and helpfull staff, our excellent location, and our beautiful terraces

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

3 night stay here ,enjoy and so happy,
hotel location near the Cassis seeside & shopping area just walk 7~8 mins, very conveience

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurawang1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

For this price, you could stay 2 days in Premiere Classe Hotel and it would be a worst experience. No product in soap dispenser in Bathtub, not confortable bed, freezing and no additional blanket in closet, trucks and carts in the parking lot as of 7.00 am so you wake up and cherry on the cake: someone came in the room at night, officially to check if we were in the room... Scary and hard to sleep after that. It was the night guard, we found out the next morning. We were offered to stay one more night to compensate. A joke I guess!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CathGrandvaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Mr Grandvaux, all the staff remenbers your stay and we are all really sorry …
- No product in soap dispenser it’s true it’s a mistake ( you would have asked to the Reception )
- You didn’t find the additional blanquet ( you would have asked to the Reception )
- All the diagrid and mattress have been changed this year
- The night watcher came by error in your room ( I asked him why, he said it was a mistake … ) it is very regrettable
- You were very angry, we understand and moreover the deliveryman of linen made much noise at 7am we told him …
Confused when the personnel informed me of your dissatisfaction, you were gone, I called you to apologize, unfortunatly, nothing, no offers, could erase your dissatisfaction
We are very sorry and hope you will forgive us and come back again to Cassis our beautiful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived and shown to our room. It was good value for money, with an outdoor area where you could sit and enjoy the fresh air, it was clean, and served our purpose. We stayed only one night as we were driving to Monaco. The location of the hotel was fantastic, with only a short stroll down to the beach, where there are many restaurants. The Hotel staff were accomodating, and breakfast (basic) is available (extra cost) for those who prefer. We decided to stroll down to the beach and enjoyed what the locals had to offer. Cassis is a beautful pretty place - I want to live there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel has a great location, cool pool, cool layout, and probably would have been amazing 30 years ago. The front-desk service is wonderful, but the rooms could use an update and didn't seem super-clean. There were a few stains on the curtains and questionable Pepto-Bismol pink paint in the toilet closet (which is literally a toilet in a closet). But the shower was hot and clean. If the rooms were cheaper I would say it's a good value, but at this price, I'd expect it to be a bit more up to date.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifeg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We are happy you have appreciated the situation of the Hotel, the Reception and the cleanliness of the toilet . About the curtains and the room it would have been good to let the general housekeeper know about, we would have resolved the problem, because our main concern is to satisfy our customers. The pool is not heated, but we can swim from may to october if the weather is nice. Cassis is a very famous port and the prices are a little bit more expensive but so beautiful ! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked using booking.com. We were initially shown a room near the elevator shaft in which every delicate noise of the street and parking lot could be enjoyed in all of its immediacy. At first when we complained, we were told that there was nothing else available. After a time the front desk folks did inform us that we could get a better room if we paid more and cancelled our booking.com reservation, which we did. We found things to do in town and returned a few hours later to the better room. This one was higher above the street, but still felt cramped. We did wind up with a balcony which had a sunlit view of the city. Our bed lay one floor above the bathrooms and the balcony. The place is clean but spartan, i.e. no fancy stuff on the walls to suggest anything other than an industrial quality room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Sir, all of our rooms are equipped with double glazings for the exterior noise and the environment is not very noisy. Our Duplex rooms have a sea view (more expensive) and "a sunlit view of the city" ( as you mentioned ) they have two floors and indeed it is a particular room, the interior design is low key, we are sorry if you didn't liked it ... Thank you for noting the cleanliness of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassis
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
1.2 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
386 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Cottage

Address: 6, avenue du 11 Novembre, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £71 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Royal Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cottage Cassis
Royal Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing