We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-situated”
Review of Hotel Laurence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laurence
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We hiked from Marseilles and were happy to arrive at this friendly hotel after our long walk! The room is small but with the smallish balcony, our hiking boots and equipment could be stored there for the night! The beach is very close and nice for a swim after a day in the Calanques! There are many nice restaurants close to the hotel! We did not have breakfast.

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room with a view of the castle. Our room and balcony faced the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great location close to harbor, beach, and casino but far enough from the harbor that you don't necessarily hear all the noise (it gets very lively on weekends- music was playing in a bar on the harbor until after 1 a.m. when we returned form the casino) Friendly front desk staff. But we aware that there is no elevator which can be a challenge if you have much luggage and are on the top floor as was the case with us. Our room had a view of the chateau on the top of the cliffs which was spectacular. - much better than a street view. Would recommend this place for a couple who wants a nice place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the chateau rather than on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a good central location and is easy to find when you arrive in Cassis. However it is quite pricey considering that all you get is a small room, the rooms are very plain, and the decor and bedding rather 'tired'. I advise you to put your essential items in an over-night bag and leave the rest of your luggage in your car if that is the way you are arriving in Cassis because the staircase is endless and involves many hairpin turns. I wouldn't tell anyone to avoid this hotel, but neither should you steer hard in its direction. We stayed in much nicer places in the south of France for the same price. Perhaps Cassis has a limited number of hotels rooms and that means they can charge more, or perhaps it is a very popular resort town. I'm not sure the reason, but we paid the same amount for a very basic room as we did for much nicer places in Ales, Arles and Nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckcanuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The only reason to stay at the hotel Laurence is the location, as other commentators have noted. It's definitely overpriced for the quality of the rooms on offer, barely above the quality of a private room at a youth hostel. Our room was extremely small -- think door almost brushing the bed small -- the comforter had seen better days (cigarette burns and blood stains are always a nice touch), and the room was very damp. However, to my knowledge Laurence is the only budget-friendly hotel in Cassis that accepts pets, and we weren't even charged extra for our small labradoodle. That fact alone elevates the Laurence from a two-star to a three-star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkladyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

In hotel we have spent only one night. In room on the top floor (with a terrase). At first glance a room though also small, has seemed to the сlean. Through a 2-3 of hours after we have gone to bed, we have woken up. At first we have decided that from mosquitoes. Have turned on the light, it has appeared that the bed is complete of bugs.The reception is closed from 10 evenings till 8 mornings, our car was on a parking too far from hotel. So we had to wait for morning on terrace. We have gone down on a reception in the morning and have asked a receptionist to look at bed and bed-clothes. She has refused to upstears to room. We've shown photos of bad and floor with the insects, made at the night. The woman has told that it is accident since to us anybody on bugs didn't complain. We felt disgustingly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank tereshkova t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Excellent location: few steps from the beach and restaurants, but at the same time not on main road, so quiet enough (discos won't disturb you). Room is tiny but there's everything you need, incluing conditioner. We stayed in room with garden view, in reality srectacular view on shateau.
Breakfast is expensive: 10 euros for bread and butter is too much I suppose, especially taking into account great number of restaurants outside.

Room Tip: ^Garden view is ok, you won't hear noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shap4ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I feel bad giving this hotel a negative review, because the proprietress is nice, friendly, and efficient, and the room is in an excellent location (just two blocks to the bus stop from the train station, and two blocks to the beach and marina). And it's hard to complain about anything when you're staying on the French Riviera. However, you do ‘get what you pay for’ and while I always love a good price, I didn’t feel that this hotel represented a good value. The room was extraordinarily small, and the bathroom had to have been carved out of what was formerly a closet, so that the room could have a toilet en suite. And although I know the place was cleaned, it just had a generally run-down feeling.
Also, free wi-fi was advertised, but it is only available in the lobby of the hotel (not in the rooms) and the lobby closes at 10 p.m. If you know all this, you won’t have any other unexpected surprises, because Hotel Laurence is what it is. But don’t go just because it showed up in the Rick Steves guidebook.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UnsheepishlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Golfe
Hotel Le Golfe
#13 of 16 in Cassis
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#3 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurence

Address: 8 rue de l Arene, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Laurence 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laurence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurence Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing