We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal bit of the beach”
Review of Hotel Rose The

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rose The
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A personal bit of the beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Rose The was an great completion of our 10days-7hotels trip, and I'm absolutely happy about my choice. La Ciotat is an overcrowded beach city, but the hotel (located just next to the beach) provides guests with a spacious own parking. The room with a really big personal terrace (with a Jacuzzi on it) was a great replacement of the overcrowded beach - we went to swim, returned to the terrace, enjoyed the sun, and repeated it again and again. Adding to the equation a lovely sand beach and the extremely clean sea would give an overall picture of our stay.
The service was ok, nothing to complain. The breakfast was even better than we expected.
I would recommend this hotel for the stay in La Ciotat.

Room Tip: Definitely 1st floor - rooms with a balcony. Worth every cent you spend on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    25
    7
    23
See reviews for
30
118
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our sea-view room with balcony was immaculate; freshly laundered sheets, very helpful and attentive staff made our stay very pleasant. The Jacuzzi on our balcony leant it a special je ne sais quoi, ha ha and proved very useful after our walk up to the Notre Dame in Marseille with our 3-year old. We did get there on a sunday and struggled to find somewhere to eat but managed to find pizza squares from the Patisserie. The hotel only does breakfast. Point to note if travelling with children, though we were in a non-smoking room, we could smell cigarette smoke from the room next door - a towel as a draft excluder would remedy that.

Room Tip: Might cost a bit more but get a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here for four nights with my wife and children, four of us in one room. The room was always cleaned immaculately daily. The location is superb, literally accross the road from the beach. Parking on site albeit 5 euros per day but well worth it. Didnt eat at the hotel, breakfast seemed expensive for wwhat it was. The decor of the hotel is somewhat strange but dont let that put you off. Would definately stop here again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonrthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Directly across from busy beach, good for swimming. Very pleasant staff, friendly and helpful. Rooms small but well- equipped, good en suite bathrooms but need a fan. Good quality breakfast self service on the terrace. Lovely white bed linen. We would definetly stay here again. Bus 40 from the railway station stops right beside the hotel. The website needs to be updated as you now need to vacate rooms by 12am and the breakfast now costs 10 euros.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank pallidada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

We stayed there April 2007 for one night, we haden't booked, just spotted the review on tripAdvisor. Just a few additional comments.
The hotel is located far from La Ciotat beachfront "center" (a good 20-30 minute walk on a street which runs along the beach. That street is currently being rebuilt and is very unpleasant to walk through. With the refuse of the near-daily street markets it looked most depressing in the evening. We were told that by june the street will be done.. Parking space is a problem but this hotel has one in the back but parking space is so scarce downtown that you'll have to rely on your feet or by taxi. Hotel staff is not very welcoming just the bare minimum. We took their 2 last rooms that night (2 adults + 2 kids); the rooms are small but well decorated and clean. Regrettably the rooms are far from soundproof and our kids were treated to the moanings of a couple next door to them. The shower in one of the rooms was extremely small and we were glad to be able to rely on the other room's bathroom.

  • Liked — cleanliness, by the beach, has a parking
  • Disliked — not very friendly, far from beachfront center
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BurtignyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ciotat hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Vieux Port
1.7 mi away
Ibis La Ciotat
Ibis La Ciotat
#3 of 14 in La Ciotat
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appart'City Confort La Ciotat Cote Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plage St Jean
Hotel Plage St Jean
#11 of 14 in La Ciotat
250 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
#4 of 14 in La Ciotat
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel les Lavandes
Hotel les Lavandes
#8 of 14 in La Ciotat
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose The

Property: Hotel Rose The
Address: 4 boulevard Beaurivage, 13600 La Ciotat, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Ciotat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rose The 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed atmosphere! The lounge bar of the Rose The hotel , wine bar, whiskey cellar. Enjoy your favorite cocktails and tapas in a soft atmosphere, classical, jazz !!! A varied cocktail menu, the savvy and bartenders full of ideas .. All the ingredients for a fun night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rose The reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing