We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place on the beach”
Review of Hotel Rose The

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rose The
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful refurbishing of the hotel interior, We chose the family room for 4 which was a bit small yet a modern and stylish design bedroom with an amazingly beautiful bathroom. Basic yet very nice 10 euro breakfast and very convenient parking lot in a sought after location where parking in the street would prove challenging. Staff was nice but could be more friendly. Overall a very nice hotel in a great location we would recommend.

Room Tip: Front room with jacuzzi included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pa5cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

A clean and modern room but very cramped. The walls are very thin though, and we struggled to sleep with the noise from outside (parties on the beach, street cleaners from the crack of dawn). Also the TV didn't much reception. The wifi never worked so we had a few issues planning while we were there. It is in a good location though and it's easy to get to lots of nice spots in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mashawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Looking for a hotel to spend New Years with some friends on the coast we happened on the Hotel Rose The. Built in 1936 overlooking the Mediterranean. A bit kitch, charming, clean, comfortable and a fabulous location. We opted for a room with a large terrace and a jacuzzi which was well worth a few Euros extra. The other rooms are somewhat smaller with a balacony. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to all our needs. Helped with making dinner reservations and spoke English. It was lovely waking up to the sun light streaming into the room as it rose above the sea.

What is so nice about La Ciotat is there are no bling bling crowds & attitude as we have experienced in St. Tropez. La Ciotat is also the home of the first film shot by the Lumiere Brothers.

We enjoyed having lunch on the patio of La Terrasse Resturant next door as we basked in the sun. The spaghetti Vongole & spaghetti with gambas were delicious. The hamburgers were very enticing too. The service was very cordial and friendly.

We will definitely return

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace & jacuzzi well worth the price. There is a bar with music playing, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel is in a lovely position just in front of the beach. The hotel bar serves very good cocktails in a relaxing and cool atmosphere.
We had a family room that for the 3 of us was just big enough but for sure it was pretty and functional with a great bathroom.
I would not stay for breakfast again as that was ok but overpriced.
I would like to see la Ciotat in a different period of the year, at the start of June was pretty empty and not particularly alive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TittiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter & had a room at the front with a balcony looking out over the beach. It was perfect for relaxing for a couple of days. Lovely comfy bed/room & modern bathroom.There's a great little bar & terrace below that's perfect for coffee/drinks, and a good restaurant next door if you don't want to wander far! Also a great sushi place down the road that was v good, & did other good dishes too if sushis not your thing. Breakfasts were ok, but slightly overpriced for what they were, but still plenty to fill up on. It's a 15 minute walk to the town, and there's lots of places on the way by the beach to have coffee/breakfast/brunch/lunch whatever takes your fancy! A really nice spot to stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Rose The was an great completion of our 10days-7hotels trip, and I'm absolutely happy about my choice. La Ciotat is an overcrowded beach city, but the hotel (located just next to the beach) provides guests with a spacious own parking. The room with a really big personal terrace (with a Jacuzzi on it) was a great replacement of the overcrowded beach - we went to swim, returned to the terrace, enjoyed the sun, and repeated it again and again. Adding to the equation a lovely sand beach and the extremely clean sea would give an overall picture of our stay.
The service was ok, nothing to complain. The breakfast was even better than we expected.
I would recommend this hotel for the stay in La Ciotat.

Room Tip: Definitely 1st floor - rooms with a balcony. Worth every cent you spend on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our sea-view room with balcony was immaculate; freshly laundered sheets, very helpful and attentive staff made our stay very pleasant. The Jacuzzi on our balcony leant it a special je ne sais quoi, ha ha and proved very useful after our walk up to the Notre Dame in Marseille with our 3-year old. We did get there on a sunday and struggled to find somewhere to eat but managed to find pizza squares from the Patisserie. The hotel only does breakfast. Point to note if travelling with children, though we were in a non-smoking room, we could smell cigarette smoke from the room next door - a towel as a draft excluder would remedy that.

Room Tip: Might cost a bit more but get a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ciotat
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Vieux Port
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plage St Jean
Hotel Plage St Jean
#14 of 14 in La Ciotat
305 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
#4 of 14 in La Ciotat
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis La Ciotat
Ibis La Ciotat
#3 of 14 in La Ciotat
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appart'City Confort La Ciotat Cote Port
4.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose The

Address: 4 boulevard Beaurivage, 13600 La Ciotat, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Ciotat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rose The 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed atmosphere! The lounge bar of the Rose The hotel , wine bar, whiskey cellar. Enjoy your favorite cocktails and tapas in a soft atmosphere, classical, jazz !!! A varied cocktail menu, the savvy and bartenders full of ideas .. All the ingredients for a fun night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rose The reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing