We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called in for lunch; glad we did - -”
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were driving along and stopped for lunch; out of season but lovely sitting outside in front of the sea. A very relaxing place to lunch, with food and service both extremely good. Such a nice atmosphere we would think about staying here next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a really comfortable and restful week here. The rooms are immaculate and cleaned daily. The staff are helpful and attentive. The beach is very pretty, although sunbeds are expensive and some are reserved for months in advance! The resort is very French and perfectly charming. Only problem is the parking is tight. Overall, highly recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We checked in for a pre-booked 6 days on a deal (6 nights for price of 5 nights). Hotel is sited on the shoreline with direct access to a small but pleasant beach. Rooms were average size (good for a couple but too small for more) but well equipped, comfortable and with pleasant decoration. Staff helpful. Check in was very quick and efficient. There was free wifi with decent access speed - code from reception. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean and everything worked efficently although hot water was only just hot enough for shaving.

We only had breakfast once at the hotel as they started service too late for us. As is typical in French hotels the breakfast is somewhat overpriced when you see what it is - limited choice and not enough for us. To be fair all French hotels offer poor value for breakfast and they don't seem to see a problem with what they offer. Breakfast can be taken in the restaurant or in the room/terrace and this is a good.

We only ate once at the restaurant and it was a decent tasty meal but the quantity was very small and rather overpriced - the South of France doesn't offer the best eating experience in France. The restaurant was a pleasant place to eat, looking out to sea.

We drove here. The hotel offers some parking spaces at the rear of the hotel but these are very limited and have a narrow access to get there and turn your car. Free street parking was easily available but you might need to be careful with this in high season.

For us the access to the beach and good value stay made this hotel a great pick.

Plus points:

Location by the beach, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff, free wi-fi, good value stay.

Negative points: Overpriced and small breakfast/meals at the restaurant, parking could be tricky if staying in high season. Rooms really only suitable for a couple even if they state they are a suite

Room Tip: For us it was facing the sea and ground floor as were a family with 2 young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deep_in_france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

In May 2011, traveling from Grasse to Aix-en-Provence, we took the coastal route for a couple of days and wanted a "vacation" from the trip, just to enjoy the beach near Le Lavandou and to give us the chance to visit Bormes-les-Mimosas at leisure.

We were very pleased with our choice of the Hôtel de la Plage, on Aiguebelle beach. In mid-May, the sea was cool, but we enjoyed swimming at this sandy beach. The beach club sun loungers were included in our room rate, as we were not in high season.

We booked a room on the second floor, with a balcony ("loggia") fronting the beach. The hotel's website doesn't mention this, but there are a couple of two-bedrooms with shared bath mini-suites (no kitchen), with a balcony. We found the half-board option to be an excellent value (good food!) and loved our stay there. In a very busy trip, we were very glad to take the time to sit in the sun, swim, read and rest.

We booked it directly, by e-mail. The website lists the hotel as a 2-star, but we found it comparable to a 3-star -- very clean, comfortable, and with very pleasant staff. The location was perfect. Wi-fi was available in the lobby.

Lunch was in Le Lavandou, where we lucked into a lavender festival, and in Bormes-les-Mimosas the second day. I see why people return again and again to this hotel and we would have easily stayed a week!

Room Tip: The hotel's website doesn't mention this, but there are a couple of two-bedrooms with shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Free-to-wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Hotel de la Plage is a fine hotel. Rooms are good, the owner and help are very nice, the easy access to the beach is terrific and it's basically very quiet. What's not to like? Well, nothing really, except...let's say that it lacks a certain charm. It has more of a bigger hotel atmosphere. But, hey, that's probably nitpicking and purely personal.

Also, we weren't too fond of the fact that they made you pay for Internet access, which seems kind of cheap, especially when that's rarely the case in most hotels that we've stayed in - even less expense places.

The food the first evening was just completely ordinary, maybe not even that good. An off night? Perhaps it was just that. We didn't want to try it again after the first night's less than satisfactory experience. Instead we ate dinner the following two nights at the Hotel Beau Soleil across the street. Not only was dinner very good there, but the dining room itself was far nicer than sitting outside behind plastic sheets in a picnic table type setting. It's one thing if you're eating casual at casual prices, but not for the prices they were charging. Also the young waiting staff were even more casual and rather indifferent. Again, I have no qualms about that if what you're paying is based on that kind of service and setting, but that's it not at all the case.

Now, if you go next door to La Nautique you have much the same atmosphere (though nicer view), but there, at least, you get far better food for a much more reasonable price.

So, you probably won't be disappointed in the hotel, but give La Nautique and Hotel Beau Soleil a try for food (especially La Nautique for lunch)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are obviously far and away the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pktiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

i honnestly cannot fault this fantastic adress . professional,reasonable rates,excellent
position on the beach ,great servive +food ,very clean rooms .
unfortunate we can only stay 1 week a year .best adress on the coast !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed already twice in this nice hotel. Recommenable are rooms with private terrace. Quiet and clean. Best offer for price. Rooms have acceptable size. Bathroom with shower. Nice small beach. Good restaurant next door.We intend to come back. Interesting for people who want to practice walking or biking.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuechenchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
#5 of 38 in Le Lavandou
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#18 of 38 in Le Lavandou
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beau Soleil
Beau Soleil
#3 of 38 in Le Lavandou
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel les Alcyons
Hotel les Alcyons
#11 of 38 in Le Lavandou
83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#8 of 38 in Le Lavandou
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#14 of 38 in Le Lavandou
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 14 avenue des 3 Dauphins | Aiguebelle, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing