We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best bouillabaisse”
Review of Les Tamaris

Les Tamaris
Ranked #24 of 167 Restaurants in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The best bouillabaisse”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went to Les Tamaris for a family dinner to enjoy a delicious bouillabaisse and we were not disappointed!

First of all, if you want to eat here, you better book a table.
Also, if you want to eat a bouillabaisse, it is advisable to book it 48 hours in advance too!

The room is really nice with a really big alfresco area to eat outside in summer.

The service was excellent despite the staff shortage that night.

What to say about the bouillabaisse?? It is simply the best around!
A bouillabaisse is a typical dish from Provence with fish soup, croutons and different local fishes.
The soup is excellent and the presentation of the plate is just amazing!
They bring all the entire fishes on a plancha. Staff members then remove all the main fish bones from all the fishes directly on the table and close the fishes again to make them look full again. Absolutely astonishing!

Being a table of 6, drinking Champagne as aperitive and wine during the meal, it cost about 90 euros per person. Quite reasonable for a quality meal and night like this!

I absolutely recommend this place to anyone who like fish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffyZeFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    77
    48
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Liked the food, expensive for local”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The fresh fish was well filleted and simply presented, and lovely, the wine was nice and we enjoyed the experience. Seems to be a local haunt and we had the feeling that locals sat in the outside and others were inside. The owner was with them all night. We had a good waiter and enjoyed the night. Seemed expensive for a whole fish to be grilled for two people

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Over-rated & Pricey”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We expected much more from this restaurant, we found it was overpriced, especially the fish. The waiter was friendly, the wine expensive and not very tasty, my husband ordered 6 oysters that he said were okay and we ordered Sea Bass to share for mains.
The waiter de boned the fish at our table but seemed quite inexperienced at doing this as we found many bones while eating our meal. My husband thought the fish was quite good but I found it far too soft and slimy (a man at the next table was complaining of the same problem) the accompaniment was a small portion of rice, this was very good and tomatoes from the oven. We shared 1 portion of the most delicious tatre tatin for dessert, the best we've every tasted so that left us with a good taste in our mouth ... until we saw the bill for 150 Euros!
Not recommended, it was a ludicrous prices for an average meal in an average restaurant ... the only exception being the top class tatre tatin .. yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty bouillabaise !”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location, good service, menus for kids could be better. Bouillabaise is very tasty, but overpriced at 60 EUR per person.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lavandou, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The real bouillabaisse”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Local fresh grilled fishes, the real bouillabaisse recipe a must to taste! We loved the zukinni flower s tempura and the grilled sea bass fish too. Great atmosphere for dining al fresco on the beautiful beach of Saint Clair at le lavandou

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Tamaris also viewed

Le Lavandou, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cavaliere, Le Lavandou
 
Le Lavandou, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Lavandou, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Lavandou, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Lavandou, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing