We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Friendly stuff, good value hotel. (Relatively big TV screen with good selection of channels in multiple languages, including English. Free parking and WiFi in the room. We got upgraded to a room with sea view - always a pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    117
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
180
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fantastic welcome by a really enthusiastic young lady (owner?). Made us SO welcome and let us check in early with a door code sent by text - brilliant service/organisation!! Incredibly low off season pricing. Recently partly refurbished - very clean with plain and simple but, most importantly, functioning facilities. New beds and bathroom fittings give added value. There was a good hot shower with reasonable pressure in a not brilliantly designed/drained wet room which caused a bit of a consternation as the water approached the door but the shower mat prevented a “flood” in the room – far better than the alternative “dry shower” often found in French hotels!! Breakfast was all it needed to be given the price bracket here. Free on-site parking. Aircon/heating in rooms – corridors were a bit chilly in February! Flat screen TV (1 English speaking channel). Free wifi. Sea views are good. For a 2* budget/mid range hotel it’s great - we've stayed in many 3 star hotels that struggle to give this level of service & facilities. Hotel is older construction and noise between rooms is quite noticeable. Note - there is not a lift. Car parking is not secure. Access is up a fairly steep hill and then steps & there are no ground floor rooms so a wheelchair would probably be out of the question. Access to car park is similar with steps down to the hotel. I wouldn’t choose to stay here for weeks at a time but for a short visit or overnight stop its absolutely fine.

Room Tip: It is on the main road through Le Lavandou – if you are affected by traffic noise then a hill view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wafKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roussillon, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We've stayed in the California many times and love the location and the views. It's worth paying a little extra for the sea view and balcony.

Under new management and a fresh coat of paint. But please, IT'S TIME TO CHANGE THE MATTRESSES! They're perfectly clean but old an tired and do not afford good sleep any longer. Sure they were great when the Eagles played there ......

IL EST TEMPS POUR DE CHANGER LE MATELAS! Please.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Real-Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Spent 1 night as a stopover at the California. The management is very welcoming and cheerful, matches with the colorful and fresh decoration of the newly refurbished hotel.
Located on a height, you are only a few minutes fm the beach, the restaurants but it is very quiet.
Bathroom are indeed a bit tiny, but clean and complete. For the price level of the hotel actually really good.
There are 3 or 4 rooms on the 1st floor facing the hill with their own terrace: a definite go.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlottje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 3 nights. It is in a great location if you want to be in central Lavandou. The reception was helpful and accomodating.

We had chosen this hotel for the location as well as for the price, it was one of the cheapest in this area without sacrificing too much comfort. There is also free parking which is great!

The room was an ok size, a little tight with 2 suitcases on the floor but not a big deal. The bathroom was a bit of a problem as there is no shower curtain and water gets everywhere!The bed was comfortable and even with the windows open, it was very quiet.

We didn't try the breakfast but it looked like it was just bread and croissants.

The main beach is about a 5 -10 minute walk away but we found St-Clair beach to be much, much nicer. This beach was maybe a 15 minute walk across all the rocky shores, very scenic but you can also walk along the main bike path which connects with the main road.

We also tried La Fossette beach which is a good 30 minute walk away. Its a beautiful little beach, full of families with young children. The water was crystal clear and clean.

I would most probably stay at this hotel again since it is centrally located, close to all the restaurants, shops, etc as opposed to the other hotels located closer to St-Claire and east of this point.

  • Liked — Location in central Le Lavandou
  • Disliked — A bit pricey for the quality of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2004

We stayed here during the summer of 2004, the rooms are small but adequate with a very small wet type bathroom. The hotel has very few facilities, the is no bar but there is a vending machine. The location is not too bad, about a 2 minute walk from the centre of town and 5 minutes from the beach, however you do need to cross a busy to get to either of these locations. On the whole for the money paid the hotel was fine, however I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a couple of nights due to the size of the rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
1.7 mi away
Beau Soleil
Beau Soleil
#2 of 38 in Le Lavandou
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#12 of 38 in Le Lavandou
118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#3 of 38 in Le Lavandou
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#16 of 38 in Le Lavandou
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roc Hotel
Roc Hotel
#13 of 38 in Le Lavandou
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#17 of 38 in Le Lavandou
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Avenue de Provence | Bp2, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel CAlifornia is a Hotel completely renovated taking inspiration from the fifties look of his architecture. Located 200 meters from the beach and 100 meters from the center of Le Lavandou, this hotel offers free parking and free Wi-Fi. Sea view rooms with amazing view of the golden islands or Hill vieuw Rooms. All are air-conditioned and some with terraces and balconies. The bike path starts at the foot of the Hotel and takes you in 10 minutes walk to the beach of St clair.Also TAKE THE ferry Boat, to reach the golden islands, only 5 min walk from the Hotel California. All our rooms are soundproofed and the bedding newly replaced in 2017! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing