We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“photo shop at its best”
Review of Le 83 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le 83 Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“photo shop at its best”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

must rank as one of the worst hotels in the world, spent £500 pound for 2 nights the place should be pulled down no air con during our stay it had been broken for 6 days when we arrived had to open the patio doors during the night and got bitten to death smell of damp in the room the bathroom was disgusting paint peeling off the wall due to condensation the staff were pleasant but over worked not enough of them a complete rip do not stay at this hotel i can not stress this any stronger

Room Tip: do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    51
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Having forked out over £700 for a four day stay at the end of long trip across France we were looking forward to a nice finale to our holiday. The garish sign outside was a foretaste of what was to come. Sickly 70's French pop Muzak greeted us at reception. It went downhill from there. Not only the smell of damp in our bedroom - done out in a red and yellow colour scheme - but all the furniture was chipped. No kettle to make tea or coffee either. Our sliding patio doors led out to the outdoor pool surrounded by well worn and discoloured chairs. The nearby beach required either crossing a busy main road or going down a spookily lit tunnel via an unlit road. An overpriced and only restaurant on the beach led to a 27 euro a day for two umbrella and two loungers. Apart from breakfast no meals were served at the hotel. The entire place should be demolished and rebuilt from scratch. 4 stars? My a.....

Room Tip: Avoid-go to Italy, anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nucleusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Le Lavandou hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Basic rooms, Clean but does the job. Fantastic views and lovely restaurant. About a 10 min walk from beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed there in spite of a poorish review from trip Advisor because the location was close to the beach with great views and the hotel had a pool. Big mistake - They rate themselves as four stars, I assume because they have a pool and fitness centre. The hotel overall gave the impression of tirdness and badly in need of renovation. Our room smelt of disinfectant, the bathroom had cracked tiles and a bath that needed replacing. Apart from breakfast the restaurant was closed. One look at the pool was enough to view that health and safety dictated we used the beach instead ! Two star quality at four star prices. The hotel needs to be shut and totally renovated.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campbellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Our return to the 83 was very disappointing. The bedrooms and bathrooms
need refurbishing. There was no evidence of a Manager and the staff were
unhelpful. The biggest let down was the food.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cressida04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I have to admit that the first impressions are not promising. The name itself is somewhat curious, but is easily explained by the fact that 83 is the number of the Department, Var. When approaching the hotel from either direction one is confronted by a garish flashing neon sign, but at least one cannot miss the entrance, something that can otherwise be easy on this road of s-bends beside the sea. On arriving in the carpark the first thing one sees is what looks like a WW2 bunker complete with tall wire fencing on top, which soon turns out to be a huge covered car park for about 30 cars - something of a rarity, and which means you never start your journey with your car like the inside of an oven - with a tennis court laid out on top of it! How clever is that! The hotel itself is a low provencale style building with a pantile roof. It is built on a promentory so that all the rooms face the sea, and all have full width patio windows opening out onto a decent terrace, some facing southwest towards Le Lavandou itself, and some facing southeast towards Cavaliere. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the corner, no 23, which had huge terraces facing both directions, so we could take breakfast on one and evening drinks on the other! We could even lie in the bath and admire the view!

We found the staff delightful, the room clean, though by no means luxurious, and the bed comfortable. The food was perfectly good. It is true that the hotel could perhaps do with a little attention to the interior decoration and the furnishings, but it is a merely cosmetic issue.

The hotel is not actually in Le Lavandou but is in a little hamlet called La Fossette about 3 kms to the east. It is an easy walk (another reviewer referred to a convoluted route down a spiral staircase, but we just went through the gate at the bottom of the garden) of a couple of hundred yards down to the little beach which has a decent beach bar/restaurant with the ubiquitous sunbed/umbrella concession at 25 euros a day for two beds, a table and an umbrella. I thought it was well worth it for the entertainment value! The beach probably does get crowded at weekends and in high season, but then they all do around these parts. It wasn't when we were there.

The hotel does well on the sports and amenities front, with an excellent indoor pool, another considerable rarity, and an equally good outdoor pool, with plenty of sunbeds. It also has a couple of pool tables, a room with a few fitness machines, and even table football.

We had an outstanding meal at the restaurant Mathias Dandine (Michelin star, etc) at Les Roches hotel which is only a couple of hundred yards down the road - a very short walk - and another excellent meal at La Rastegue in Bormes Les Mimosas, about ten minutes drive away. We never had a good meal in Le Lavandou itself, and really didn't like it there at all.

In general we really enjoyed our stay at 83, and would not hesitate to recommend it as a good practical beach/pool/family holiday hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Don't be fooled by the "direct access to beach" promise on the website. The access is via a spiral staircase to a road which then is a 5 minute walk to a small, crowded beach.

Hotel is 4 star rated but everything needs updating. Rooms tired, bathrooms gloomy, dark and smelly.
Public rooms better, especially the indoor pool and the toilets for the restaurant. Food pretty good.

You will be better off going to Cavaliere, five minutes drive away, and getting a beachfront hotel there (eg Grand Hotel Moriaz or Hotel Cavaliere).

Helpful?
3 Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.0 mi away
Hydra Le Lavandou
Hydra Le Lavandou
#33 of 38 in Le Lavandou
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beau Soleil
Beau Soleil
#2 of 38 in Le Lavandou
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#13 of 38 in Le Lavandou
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#20 of 38 in Le Lavandou
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Alcyons
Hotel les Alcyons
#8 of 38 in Le Lavandou
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Orangeraie
L'Orangeraie
#16 of 38 in Le Lavandou
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 83 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 83 Hotel

Property: Le 83 Hotel
Address: avenue du Levant | La Fossette Plage, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 83 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le 83 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing