We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel; very unpleasant staff”
Review of Le Rabelais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Rabelais
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Houston TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK hotel; very unpleasant staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel was OK. The actual room was fine, as was the modern bathroom. It's an older hotel, but they've done a decent job modernizing the decor. We had a view of the marina, which was nice, but not nearly as nice as it looks on the web site. There's a busy street, a parking lot, and other un-scenic stuff between you and the water. Plus the window is small and you pretty much have to stand in front of it to enjoy the view. And as others have mentioned, the area is quite noisy.

I am not usually a person who complains about service, but this is one of the worst service experiences I've had in France. We called before we arrived and were told that there was parking "inside." When we arrived, the hotel entrance was extremely difficult to locate; there is no signage and we ended up on a dead-end street that we then had to back down. There is no loading/unloading area for the hotel, so my husband circled while I ran in to try to figure out what to do with the car. The woman at the front desk was quite nasty, and told me that my husband had called earlier and she had explained there was no parking at the hotel, parking was inside. Her English was extremely poor, and clearly she was confused about what "inside" means--OK fine, but that's not my fault, and I think our confusion was understandable. The whole experience was extremely unwelcoming and frustrating after a long drive. It took forever to understand what to do with the car; we finally figured out that you have to use a paid parking lot a few blocks away. Over the course of our stay, I heard many guests have this same conversation with the front desk staff in various languages. A clear description of the parking situation on the Web site or in the check-in email would make things a lot easier all around. And since everyone seems to be confused about it, why give off such a nasty exasperated attitude?

The rest of our stay was uneventful, but the front desk lady continued to be condescending. Definitely skip the hotel breakfast--it's 9 euros each for stale supermarket pastries and one cup of coffee each. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town, but if you are looking for a charming Med coast experience I do NOT recommend staying in Le Lavandou. It is very busy and touristy--it reminded me of Myrtle Beach SC. None of which is the hotel's fault, but just a word to the wise if you are deciding on locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillowT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    45
    8
    2
    10
See reviews for
15
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A bit of background - we have previously stayed in this small, seafront hotel some three years ago. At that time we had a lovely stay and found the owner very pleasant and charming. However recently we returned, we found that there was a new owner. We found her rude and insulting. However we decided to stay for one night. We were recommended to a front room with seaview. We went out in the evening for a meal, when we returned we immediately noticed a ridiculous amount of noise outside our window - car doors slamming, screaming, shouting, motorbikes revving etc. THERE WAS A DISCO/BAR IMMEDIATELY NEXT TO THE HOTEL . The noise went on all night. We got NO sleep! In the morning the owner was unapologetic. NB The bar is open every night. AVOID!

Room Tip: choose a back room or even better - another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We paid €87 for a modest room on the troop floor with fabulous view. Not at all bad for the end of June

Can't seem to add my pic for the moment

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real-Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This hotel was a treasure. The hotel offers really good rates for it's fabulous location overlooking the port. We were lucky enough to be able to upgrade our rooms on arrival to a "prestige" room with terrace, where you can have your breakfast served in the morning. The owners were very pleasant and even offered us their computer to use the internet when we asked about an internet cafe. The staff were also very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the beach and right next to restaurants and shops. The owners also gave us great recommendations for restaurants in town. We parked the car in the street for 2 full days without paying but the hotel also offers parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelin_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Well placed on sea front overlooking port and fish market
room with balcony (12) definite must. Clean room flat screen TV shower only. No lift. Welcoming staff and free parking opposite.
75 Euros,per room per night good value even at 1.19Euros/£
La Pinede beach bar at St Clair good for lunch on a sunny day

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We returned from Le Lavandou a few weeks ago but felt that I had to write about this quaint hotel, which is situated right on the front of the main street in Le Lavandou. The views from the front are stunning (we had a large terrace too overlooking the marina). it was a joy to wake up in a morning to see the sea and the beach. We were made to feel really welcome throughout our stay and would definately go back.

Check out thier own website to see further details and check out the views. See you next year!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Nessie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#9 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#14 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anglade Hotel
Anglade Hotel
#17 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baptistin
Hotel Baptistin
#21 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#1 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#25 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rabelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rabelais

Property: Le Rabelais
Address: 2 rue Rabelais, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Rabelais 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Rabelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rabelais Lavandou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing