We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ecurie du Castellas
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel. The location is really grat with a very nice view. The hotel has a big potential but the owners do not take advantage of.
Our room was nice, with great view even if very small (were not able to walk in the room while the luggage was open). Dead mosquitos on the cealing and on the walls of the room (you can take them easly off while cleaning the room???), some hairs on the tiles in the shower.
A dark corridor guide you to all rooms. Staff at the reception (probabily the owner) never smiled and never asked us how was going the stay even at check out.
That's a pity because the location is wonderful, the restaurant (we did not taste it) seems very welcoming. With some architectural changes on the rooms and a better attitude with the guests this hotel could be a small jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    20
    24
    43
    40
See reviews for
17
99
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
439 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good location. Rooms may be rather small (and expensive). Low privacy (you'll her all kind of noises from other rooms...) restaurant quite expensive. No parking over a little space in front of the hotel, always full during lunch time. Good view

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Host29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ramatuelle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had a tiny tiny room for 150 euros per night. The shower is so small that you almost have to put half of your body outside to get a proper shower. The hotel is a prefabricated so the rooms are not well isolated and could hear everything from the corridor and from the rooms next to you. Overall, a very bad experience when you stay is such a lovely place as Ramatuelle. Too expensive for the service and the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We choose to stay one more day in France so we called for a room and the only available was at the Ecurie of Castellas in Ramatuelle. We know it was full season but the required sum for a night was 250 Euros (The 2011 Michelin Guide reports a maximum of 220 Euros). The problem is that the sum required was not adequate for the accomodation because of:
1 - no luggage service: you have to move your luggage through a steep staircase (with a dangerous handrail you knock your head on if you are not prevented)
2 - no air conditioning (it was very hot during the day and night)
3 - very poor quality of interior decoration
4 - bathroom lacking minimal criteria you expect: bath tube with scratches in the enamel, hand shower with any possibility to hang it, no shower curtain, bath towels on a plastic staircase as shelves, no bath commodities except two small plastic container of shampoing foam and two small bath soaps, no hairdryer
We don't think the view compensate for all this discomfort.

Check in August 19th 2011 - Check out August 20th 2011
Francesco and Barbara Corrado

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frcorrado3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

1. Reception/Staff - consists of rude, incompetent, unhelpful and deceitful staff who seem to regard their clientele as the lowest of the low
2. Location - lovely views from the terrace if you are prepared to pay through the nose for the mediocre 'cuisine' that the restaurant dishes out. The only reason we imagine that anyone dines here is because they have already sampled the crap selection of restaurants in the town itself.
3. Room - a complete sweatbox - and we stayed in one of the larger rooms which had a terrace. No aircon - in temperatures of 35 degrees + and the small electric fan we were supplied with was 'taken' from our room a couple of days into our stay. The bathroom was unventilated and dirty with a hand held shower. Bath 'products' supplied consisted of two small bars of soap. For 180 euros a night this is all just a joke.
We would strongly urge people to reconsider holidaying on the Cote d'Azur. There are far nicer resorts in Greece, Turkey and Croatia which offer better accommodation and food and where the people are immeasurably friendlier. There are, of course, wonderful areas elsewhere in France but the resorts along the coast are simply resting on their laurels and trading off former glories which are long gone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treaclenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

If you like to be embraced by the shower curtain (in a very, very small shower niche) all the time, if you like to stay sweaty whole night long (no fan - no airco) in a hard and small bed, if you like to do your thing in the toilet without any ventilation (no window) and if you like to enjoy your holiday in a room that has the size of an average prison cell (room 10), you should stay here! Also if you like to stay in a village that has no entertainment what so ever from 23:00 hrs. Positive: the splendid view (village side), the excellent breakfast and no traffic jam to the wonderful beaches of St.-Tropez (do visit Pampelonne Beach, especially beachclub Key West at the end of Boulevard Patch, near the famous Le Club 55). But keep out of Room 10 as long as you can...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramatuelle
1.6 mi away
Bello Visto Hotel Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Baou
Hostellerie Le Baou
#11 of 25 in Ramatuelle
64 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#12 of 25 in Ramatuelle
50 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 25 in Ramatuelle
89 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Figuiere Hotel
La Figuiere Hotel
#7 of 25 in Ramatuelle
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ecurie du Castellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ecurie du Castellas

Property: L'Ecurie du Castellas
Address: Route des moulins de Paillas, 83350 Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Ecurie du Castellas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing