We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but on a par with other hotels in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie Le Baou
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive but on a par with other hotels in the area”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend break at the end of June. It is expensive, but so is everything else in this area and taking this into account I feel we had value for money. We had a room with a terrace which had great views over the garden and bay and the room was a reasonable size.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was good, although very expensive. Apart from the expense, we didn't eat there again as the menu didn't change, and we felt we had exhausted the options that appealed to us on the first evening. We actually found another restaurant in the village 'La Farigoulette' which was excellent value and served home-cooked local food.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

In summary, it isn't cheap but neither is anywhere else and so if you are prepared to pay to stay in this area, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a very nice location, just 5 minutes walk of Ramatuelle. There is a local cafe, with news papers and great breakfast. Rooms of the hotel are poor and out dates, carpet on the ground!! Last renovation was approximate 25yrs ago! Staff are great, you park you car and they wash it for you. I like that....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A lovely hotel. The rooms are small but delightful, ours had a private terrace. Dinner and brekky are on a sensational terrace with an awesome view kver the vineyards ro the sea. The food and service were excellent, if a tad pricey. The pool is beautiful and clean with a lovely lady bringing drinks. Ramatuelle is very cute and worth a walk around.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HertsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treble24
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

a mixed review - I will start with the positives. Ramatuelle is a wonderful place to visit. Beatiful French village full of character and a great selection of restaurants. the nerby beaches are superb and st tropez is always worth a visit although eating there is as expensive as you would expect. The hotel itself is clean, the pool area is very relaxed and is a great sun trap. The rooms are fairly spacious and the balconies at the back of the hotel have a wonderful view.
the negatives - the service is poor. On the first day we had no visit from housekeeping. when I complained there was no apology form the night staff other than a couple of clean towels thrown over the desk. our room was under the restaurant and was very noisy every night whilst staff moved around and moved tables. this went on after midnight. Again when I complained the noise stopped but it was the same again the next night. For the money you pay I think I could find better somewhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treble24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is up on the hill... Very pleasant... the newer rooms have TRECCA beds which are extremely comfortable... The service is just perfect... the staff is helpful and kind. There is a very nice breakfast waiting for you in the morning and the restaurant at night is truly exceptional gastronomical cuisine... To be recommended. About a 15 minute drive from St. Tropez's village... enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dp7net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding in Ramatuelle. The people at the front desk were helpful and the location was convenient to town and restaurants. Our room was small, but clean and in good condition. The best thing about the room was the view. It was spectacular. If I were to return to Ramatuelle, however, I would probably stay in a smaller, more quaint hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We paid around €300 to stay at the Hostellerie Le Baou, which was excessive. The hotel is very well located for Ramatuelle. The pool is nice. The rooms were fairly basic but not bad. The staff were not particularly helpful, and didn't respect do not disturb signs. I have not stayed in any other hotels in Ramatuelle, but would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FreqFlyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramatuelle
3.3 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 25 in Ramatuelle
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bello Visto Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#14 of 25 in Ramatuelle
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Ecurie du Castellas
L'Ecurie du Castellas
#21 of 25 in Ramatuelle
162 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Baou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Baou

Property: Hostellerie Le Baou
Address: 72 Avenue Gustave Etienne, 83350 Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ramatuelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Le Baou 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Provencal style hotel with an amazing view on Ramatuelle village, viniards and Pampelonne Bay. 41 rooms with Terrace or Balcony, Junior Suite or family rooms. A nice pool loved in a Mediterranean vegetation. A charming and traditonnal house to relax. The restaurant has a great view with Provencal food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie Le Baou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Baou Hotel Ramatuelle
Hostellerie Le Baou Ramatuelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing