We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and very poor value for money.”
Review of Hotel La Romarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Romarine
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked at the last minute, based decision in part on positive trip advisor ratings.

Heart sank when we were shown the rooms. We hired a "2 bed villa" costing €520 per night. I know it is close to St Tropez, but this still cannot be described as cheap.

Good points. The "villa" was spacious, 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms, a very small kitchenette, had a nice patio. The communal pool was very nice and clean, and the general look and appearance of the hotel was OK, but could be very good with some more effort. (Things just not finished off, as though they have run out of money).

The bad points. The villa was drab, lounge area sofas smelt slightly musty, furnishings and decoration were very poor taste and cheap quality. Very unwelcoming. The downstairs area had one solitary air conditioning unit that did not blow very cold at all. This was compounded by the fact that the wooden shutters outside the large patio windows were broken and would not close.

A further related problem is the small downstairs bedroom is around the corner and does not get any air flow directly from AC unit, and cannot be described as air conditioned at all. Worse still, the downstairs bedroom was next to the bathroom, where extractor fan did not work. We were told it is new and silent, maybe true, but after a bath or shower there was still steam around many hours later, which in plain English means it does not work.

You have to like St Tropez a lot to think it worth paying this sort of money for this sort of run down motel-type accommodation. We stayed on a previous visit at Ch Messardiere... different league. Stay here or similar and pay the difference or don't bother with St Tropez.

We did not complain, just did not want the fuss, and felt our concerns could not be resolved.

Final point. On the back of the bathroom door there is a sign advising guests that they will be billed for any "missing" towels. Perhaps this confirms all my concerns about the calibre of this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't stay unless you are shown the room first...perhaps hotel rooms are better than villas?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aray2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

I found the stay at La Romarine a very good value. Hard to find hotels in the St Tropez area at less then 200 Euro x double room so we were pleasantly surprised to discover this one. It is located close to the beaches (still no walking distance) and to St. Tropez. The property is very attractive with its pool, tennis courts, garden and terrace. You can also rent a family villa even more convenient if you are 5 or 6 people. Reception and service in general are very good. Free wifi in the hall. Our room was spacious, clean and confortable with a nice balcony over the pool.
Only remark the breakfast wich is at 12 Euro but anything salty must be paid in addition (eggs, ham,,). Also the tennis is charged 10 euro.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jogimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escolha um quarto com vista para o jardim!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ElenaKorpusenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank GiGrGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Dine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarinceSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramatuelle
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 74 in Saint-Tropez
259 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostellerie Le Baou
Hostellerie Le Baou
#10 of 26 in Ramatuelle
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Capucines
Hotel Les Capucines
#8 of 14 in Gassin
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 26 in Ramatuelle
102 reviews
1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 14 in Gassin
370 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 26 in Ramatuelle
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Romarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Romarine

Address: 57 impasse des Marres | Route des Plages, 83350 Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Price Range: £103 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Romarine 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 18 bedrooms and 9 villas, 3 tennis courts and a swimming pool in the heart of a 2-hectare park, which is planted with olive and palm trees and is located between the centre of Saint-Tropez and Pampelonne Beaches. A TV and a fridge are provided in the air-conditioned rooms and suites. Most of our rooms have a terrace or a balcony offering views of the park and the swimming-pool. The villa also features two bedrooms, a living room and an equipped kitchenette. Free WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Romarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing