We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice house in a good location but not ideal for young families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pavillon de Pampelonne
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice house in a good location but not ideal for young families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The location of PdP is good. It is not far from the beach though we drove to avoid the long walk home uphill. The gardens at PdP are magnificent. Lush and beautiful. The pool area is also very nice. We spent a lot of time around the pool as the water was nice and warm for our children and the surrounding greenery and aspect back to the conservatory make it a lovely place to while away the day.

Breakfasts on the terrace were lovely. The hosts, being British make an excellent pot of tea! We also liked the honesty bar in the conservatory for an afternoon drink by the pool.

The size of our room (Baraques) was good for a family although the layout was strange - the bathroom and toilet were accessed through the children's bedroom so we risked waking them when retiring later at night. The decor of our room was comfortable - that's the nicest thing I can say. It truly felt as though our room was decorated with a mish mash of what was leftover. Glimpses of the other rooms upstairs further illustrated this. The rooms and communal areas of the main house were very nice and decorated in a manner reflecting the surrounds and the beachside location. I felt that our room was not worth 600 Euro a night. It was clean but not inviting or charming.

We have two sons aged 2 and 4. They like to run, explore and create games for themselves. I have to say that I felt they were not really welcome at PdP. Whilst the hosts were amiable, they did not go out of their way to accommodate the young children. I have read other Trip Advisor reviews whereby families travelling with children have felt very welcome. Prior to our arrival I had requested a cot in our room. It was not there when we checked in. I had to ask for it two more times before it was set up. The linen for the cot was not provided until past our son’s bedtime so I had to make do with a sheet from the bed. Also when we requested an early dinner of pasta for our children it was forgotten. The meal was provided but much later when our children were tired and beyond eating. Also breakfast was not available until 8.30am which is late in the lives of young children - especially children adapting to the time zone from the other side of the world. One positive was the excellent babysitter organized by the hosts. She was lovely and capable with our youngest son.

The hosts of PdP were available to answer questions and make recommendations for restaurants and excursions. The hosts live on the property and engage well with the guests whose requests and needs were probably simpler than ours. Overall we felt a little intimidated, like we were breaking the rules and not as welcome as we would have been had we been British over 50's.

In all I don't recommend PdP to families travelling with little children. The place seems more suited and is frequented by older couples from the UK. If you meet these criteria then you will surely have a lovely stay at PdP. We will look elsewhere when we next visit St Tropez.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnnaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

After staying at the grand hotel "Villa Belrose" in Saint Tropez the year before my husband and I decided to take the "Villa" route and be within walking distance of one of the most famous beaches in the world, Pampelonne Beach. As we were so close to the beach, we focused two full days at the beach and stayed at 2 different beach clubs each day which made the experience really fun.
I recommend this Villas because the proprietors are so nice, the pool area is beautiful and the rooms are nice. We were close to town so we could go there or close to the beach so we walked to it. We are planning to go here again next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

In our trip of 5 weeks through Lombardy, Tuscany and Provence this was our most comfortable 4 nights. We paid perhaps 30% more for the accommodation but got twice the value. The rooms are big and the beds very comfortable. Alison and Peter have achieved a remarkable combination of casual elegance. You need a car and they only serve breakfast except on Monday night when they lay on a great BBQ which for 50 euros you can eat and drink as much as you want. For trenchermen like yours truly it is a combination hard to resist.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bouis room which had very easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EQexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I spent a weekend in St Tropez and I stayed at Pavillon. It was a great experience, I totally loved it! The hotel is great from the outside due to a beautiful pool (but not a very big one). The room was huge and clean. I really liked it because It was elegantly furnished with nice colors without being gaudy and excessive as many rooms of high class hotels.
To sum up It is refined hotel but the staff makes you feel at home. This hotel is suitable for everyone including families and young people.
I would recommend to modify and update the site because It does not provide many information and does not do justice to the structure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Absolutely superb. Visited 6 years ago in its early days and will now be an annual returnee as lifestyle now permits. Alison and Peter have enhanced the accommodation to a very high level whilst keeping the wonderful atmosphere ...talent indeed. Very relaxed with a superb location easy walking distance to the best of beaches. This is one of the most welcoming hotels you could possibly imagine. I'd recommend it to you but then it might be full when we want to go. The highest recommendation was the number of returnees present when we were there. They are a club we will join. A jewel of a place, treat it well.

Room Tip: separate suite on lower level has two rooms which is great for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank General S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Another fantastic week at Pavillon de Pampelone - great to stay in "our" room once more. As always, Peter and Alison are perfect hosts and provide the most relaxing location from which to enjoy the surrounding beaches, restaurants and villages. This year's experience was more memorable than ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Pavillon de Pampelonne in May 2012. My husband and I were joined by our 22 year old daughter and 20 year old son. We stayed in the downstairs family suite -- which was fabulous with beautiful grounds directly outside the door. Plenty of room for 4 adults. Peter and Allison were great hosts. Everything about PdeP was wonderful, except perhaps that 1 day that it rained (Peter promised that will never happen again ;). Peter went out of his way to assist my husband with a road bike he had rented and had shipped to PdeP. The main reason I would go back to St. Tropez again would be to stay at PdeP again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartiniGirl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramatuelle
1.6 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Reserve Ramatuelle
La Reserve Ramatuelle
#3 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#12 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Marie
Villa Marie
#5 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon de Pampelonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon de Pampelonne

Property: Pavillon de Pampelonne
Address: Route des Plages, Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket stylish Maison d'Hote villa consisting of 9 bedrooms situated around a large pool terrace close to Pampelonne Beach and half way between Saint Tropez and Ramatuelle. Open from Easter to the end of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pavillon de Pampelonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De Pampelonne Hotel St-Tropez
Pavillon De Pampelonne St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing