We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location”
Review of Hotel Camille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Camille
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a nice family run hotel. We stayed in October and the hotel was very quiet so I thought that it was a bit mean to place us in a dark room without a sea view. The rooms are very small. The whole town shuts down around 9 p.m.; including restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    74
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
101
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have been coming here for the past few years and absoloutley love it. The staff are fantastically friendly and helpful and the location is perfect.

The hotel is facing the beach and in the centre of where the shops/arena/restaurants are. Rooms are clean and comfortable and have good air conditioning and comfortable beds. Very quiet at night which is great. Next door is a very nice restaurant called Les Embruns.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I was in a rather large wedding party that had completely booked the entire hotel. The hotel itself is nice.

It's very quiet, and the location is excellent for the area, although the area doesn't have much going on. The rooms are small and without many amenities, but they are very clean and the basics are covered. Also, there's no WiFi. I believe there were individual connections in the room you could connect a wire too for an additional, and from I remember, outrageous per minute price.

Honestly, I'd be tempted to give this place 4 stars (even without amenities) if the customer service hadn't been so atrocious. They offer a dine-in breakfast service that must, apparently, be ordered the night before. This was not conveyed to most of us staying there (our groups fault, not really management), but the next morning when I went to a patisserie to bring back some breakfast for myself and a friend I was barred from entering the hotel. The manager threw a fit because we hadn't ordered the breakfast service, and made no exceptions. So I and a few others ended up eating breakfast on the beach (not terrible) instead of eating and getting dressed for the wedding. I guess the other thing is that just about all local businesses shutdown by 9pm. If you know you'll be getting in later, or like to midnight snack, keeping food in your room would be the only way to do it. In this case, you'd be out of luck.

Additionally, after the wedding, a group of us congregated in what appeared to be the communal lobby of the hotel. This lobby, apparently, is right down the hall from the proprietor and his wife. We weren't overly rowdy, although we may have gotten a little loud at times, but the proprietor came out and demanded that we all go to bed. It's a small hotel, granted, but I've never stayed anywhere that there wasn't a place to congregate after hours. Options were to go to a room that was too small for 7 people to sit in (they're really very small, but manageable) with paper-thin walls, or go back to the beach which would have been an option if it hadn't been so cold.

All in all, and trying to remain fair and balanced, the place is quiet, clean, and generally nice for a quiet relaxing trip, but if you go in a large party I'd advise you to stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Myself and 2 daughters went to Sainte Marie for some horseback riding and stayed at Hotel Camille..
I had read very bad reviews, but also read that the owners changed. So we gave it a shot and found the new owners to be very nice and helpfull !
The rooms are clean and it's across from the beach and 5 minutes from the center of town (which in itself isn't very big).
Breakfast was for an additional price, which i thought a bit high, but worth it.
Nice find !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunamare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

hotel has a good location. right in the centre and overlooking the sea (though you have to pay extra for the sea view). the room was ok, nothing special, there wasn't any shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akrep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This has to be one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed at , which is amazing considering that the hotel is located on a busy street in front of the sea. Our room was at the back and had a terrace, air-con and was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The reception staff were very kind and accommodating. There is the possibility to park along the road in front of the hotel but don't park right on the bend, while we were there, a car crashed damaging 4 cars, writing off one of them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshladyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We spent 3 nights in Saintes Marie having been there the year before for a day trip decided it was worth a stay. We were certainly not dissapointed we opted for a Sea View room and the view was amazing literally a stones throw from the lovely sandy beach.

Although not speaking a lot of English the staff were very courteous and helpful throughout, rooms were basic but clean. We at first couldnt' work out why there were no curtains but later discovered the automatic button for the shutters! (a useful tip!)

The hotel has a lovely little bar where you can enjoy a beer or a coffee overlooking the beach and is open late and has a pool table. There are lots of restaurants to choose from in Saintes Marie but the one we stuck with was 'La Bouvine' absoloutly great food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Palmiers
Les Palmiers
#7 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Dauphin Bleu
Hotel Le Dauphin Bleu
#26 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#4 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Mirage
Hotel le Mirage
#20 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lou Marques
Lou Marques
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camille

Property: Hotel Camille
Address: 13 avenue de la Plage, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Camille 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Camille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing