We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice 3 stars hotel with a 5 stars half board”
Review of Hotel Mangio Fango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mangio Fango
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice 3 stars hotel with a 5 stars half board”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have been visiting Camargue for a 3 days break and after looking here for advice decided to stay at Mangio Fango, mainly for the very good rating of its restaurant.
The hotel itself is nice, rooms are spacious but we strongly recommend the upstairs ones because the others have almost zero privacy - and if you go upstairs choose the ones that look over the marshes and the flamingoes :-)
But the strong point of Mangio Fango is the gourmand restaurant, I would rate it 5 stars and even with the half board formula the quality and the service is top notch!!! Not only that, but also the portions are surprisingly great, unlike other french restaurants we have visited :-) Breakfast is also very good, international style.
The place is also only 1 km from Sainte Maries de la Mer, so you can leave your car in the hotel parking all the time and forget about parking problems during peak season (although in September there is not that much people around).
Pool is nice (28 degrees celsius) but not very clean, I think that is due to the wind that blows incessantly all the time, bringing debris from the laguna.

If you go there you MUST go to the ornithological park, it is worth a visit (talk about hundreds flamingoes and other birds)....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leopardus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    89
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
141
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed at the Mangio Fango for two nights with our 8 yo son. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Saintes Maries de la Mer and while not in full countryside, it has a nice rural feel. Secure parking is provided in the grounds at no extra charge.

The German receptionist was very helpful and attentive, and all the staff spoke good English. Our room was a good size with a double bed and a sofa bed for our son. Furnishings were simple but attractive, though it would have been nicer to have a wardrobe rather than a rail for clothes. The bathroom looked bright and fresh. We had a patio looking onto a pond which had some nice birds, and was a short walk from the unheated pool (too cold on our visit).

The public areas in the hotel are attractive with lots of interesting objects and paintings, but there is nowhere much to sit outside the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the food very much. The set menu at 40 euros for 4 courses is not cheap but then nowhere seems to be in France these days. The waiter was a really nice guy and very helpful in identifying suitable alternatives for our son (who is not a great lover of French food).

Only negatives were:

1) an uncomfy bed with rather poor quality, scratchy sheets

2) there was some confusion over whether we had ordered breakfast on our second morning - at 15 euros per person, we certainly hadn't! They were quite insistent about it, and we had to be equally robust in sticking to our guns, but they made a unnecessarily big deal about it

Other than that, a pleasant stay in a good location, and not too expensive for the Camargue.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The hotel is located on the main road to Saintes Maries de la mer. The rooms are large, but the bed not that comfortable. food in the restaurant is ok. nice pool area.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Very quiet comfortable room overlooking the pool and the marsh. Flamingoes and other wildlife to compliment the sunset from our balcony. Restaurant was very good and dinner both nights was good value, service attentive and food well cooked and presented. Room was a bit tired however and could do with updating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#6 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
379 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#4 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Arnelles
Hotel Les Arnelles
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mangio Fango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mangio Fango

Property: Hotel Mangio Fango
Address: 570 Route d Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mangio Fango 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mangio Fango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing