We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent fish restaurant”
Review of Les Embruns

Les Embruns
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly excellent fish restaurant”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Superb food, wonderfully fresh and well presented. A truly great fish restaurant that stands out from amongst the others in this town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    81
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good seafood, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We ate here the other evening, after an afternoon on the beach (and aperitifs at Le C2 next door, also recommended).

The seafood was simple but fantastic. Really generous portions of shellfish, I had prawn cocktail followed by moules frites, the cocktail was enormous with big, fresh prawns and the frites with the moules frites were really tasty and crispy (nothing worse than moules frites with soggy frites!) - my wife had an enormous shellfish platter, which made her very happy. The pistachio creme brulee was fabulous and so was the mousse au chocolat. Staff we pleasant and efficient, price was OK, we felt we got our moneys-worth, facilities were clean and it's very close to the beach.

The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the menu enfant for our daughter. She had chicken nuggets, which she seemed to enjoy, but it feels like a bit of a cop-out to just have the usual steak hache and chicken nuggets for the kids - don't make them eat crap when the grown-ups are eating really well! And those cheap chicken nuggets really are awful, even if the kids don't mind.

But all in all a very pleasant experience, highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in Saintes Marie for 5 days and after discovering this restaurant went there pretty much every day as the food was so good!

Reasonably priced, the set menu is very good at 15 Euros for 3 courses. The service is excellent both the owner, chef and waiter were all very helpful and accommodating.

Can't wait to return next year!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value and excellent food”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Visited for lunch for the second time in about 3 years. Ate from 15€ set menu and enjoyed a wonderful fish soup followed by a beautifully firm fillet of sea bass in a dill sauce. The Isle Flottante for dessert wasn't brilliant, but I don't hesitate to recommend this place. The service is very efficient, friendly and helpful and the food is delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering Northants
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant set menu!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We sat and thought about where to eat lunch over a coffee. 'this place smells good, but let's just walk around and study the other menus'
Wasted 30 minutes around town and arrived back here!
Super food, 4 different combinations off cheapest formula menu , all agreed one of the best meals of the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hackettsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Embruns also viewed

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les Embruns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing