We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beaches”

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.60*
and up
Small-Group Half Day tour of Arles and Camargue from Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

At Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer you will find beautiful sandy beaches which are parted with big rocks.
There are beaches on the left as well as on the right side of the harbor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    247
    72
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very friendly beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

When we visited the south of France we had the chance to spend some time in this location and we were positively surprised. The beach was very clean, easy to reach since there was plenty of parking space (free) wide walkways and also bike trails. They start by the port and stretch for many miles. The cost is deviled in small beaches and there are little restaurants in almost all of them with food, drinks, chairs and umbrellas. We brought our own since we were not sure there would be any available. There were also little carts that sold ice cream, cold drinks and small snacks. The sand was fine and the waves were not too big. The perfect spot for little kids. There are public showers near the parking lot, but in our section they didn't work the first day but were fixed the following day. The town is also very well prepared for tourism with a lot of restaurants of all kinds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordobesaenlustenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So beautiful and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Loved the beach, not at all touristic, very simple, family oriented, clean. Children and families were running around, laughing playing. You can just be yourself. We had such a wonderful time. The sand is soft and lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank skhondker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We rented bikes and went riding along the coast for over 6hrs -- the weather was great, we highly recommend heading west when facing the sea, there are many different trails through the swamps, perfect for bird and nature watching. the main trail that goes along the beach will take you to the dunes and the "Etang de Beauduc" and the beach.

Really nice place for a picnic and a swim ))

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BorkaMoscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,459 reviews
1,376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,283 helpful votes
“No bull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We took the bus from Arles to Stes-Maries de-la-Mere. The drive was through marshland and cereal growing fields. The notion of seeing the 'wild' side France was exciting. Pink flamingos,wild bulls,nasty boars and even nastier mosquitoes. Nature lovers rejoice!
Then you reach the white washed,spanish-feeling, seafront town with acres of white horses and black bulls at its doorstep. Its like coming to a French coney island with trinkets everywhere.
Take note it gusts regularly. Its not only the migration place for birds and flamingos, it also attracts the Roma gypsies when they pile into their caravans and migrate here to venerate the statue of Saint Sarah.
The town is short on things to do except its beach , promenade,bullring and towering five-belled fortified church. However it is the jumping point for cyclists,horse riders and jeep adventures.
I recommend hopping onto the boat tours which ply their way through the estuaries,giving you a scenic opportunity to spot birds,fish, black bulls and white horses.
We stopped at L'Hostellerie du Pont de Gau for lunch where we sampled Riz de Camargue,a red,chewy,nutty-tasting rice and Taureau(bulls meat),as well as,spicy picodon and the native goat cheese
For bragging rights back home...try bulls testicles!!......hhhmmmm?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer beach also viewed

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing