We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for 3 star”
Review of Mas de Calabrun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mas de Calabrun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel is fine--I find this review hard to write as I feel that I wish I could compare it to others in the area. I say that because I have a feeling the entire area is just very casual, farm-like and nothing is over the top. The Camargue is lovely, very interesting and I am glad we went but if you are looking for extreme comfort, relaxation and luxury I am not sure you will find it in the region.

The dinner at the Mas was very good, breakfast is ok---a little pricey at 15 euros for what you get. The mosquitos are a big problem everywhere. It is hard to feel like you are in true comfort with dead and alive bugs everywhere (in the rooms as well). Bathrooms are updated but the rooms need it as well. Pool was open but not heated--would be pleasant to sit around if it weren't for the mosquitos. Access to town is easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Post765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is about five kilometers North of the beach, and if you've been to the beach here you will be glad to be staying outside the town. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable and air conditioned. The bathrooms are very up to date. You really should have dinner at the restaurant, it was served on the patio and was delicious. The staff need to be commended, they are willing to help you with anything you need and most of them speak English. They arranged for us to take a sunset ride on the famous white horses of the Camargue at a local livery only 5 minutes away. You can also ride the hotel's horses early in the day. The pool was nice but I recommend you grab a lounge chair early because there are not enough to go around. Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the pool. You will have a lovely view and a patio.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have stayed at the Mas de Calabrun on 5 different occasions now, and each time have been so impressed with the attitude of the staff, the friendly, laid back ambiance and the food in the restaurant, which really is absolutely incredible. The hotel, which has a Spanish, ranch style feel, is situated about 5 minutes drive from Saintes Maries de la Mer (you'll need a car if you want to get around) and sits comfortably in a few acres of Camargue countryside, complete with stable, stream and lovely swimming pool. The owners of the hotel also own a large slice of Camargue backing onto the Rhone river and are always happy to take you up there to see the foals and the great views. I have been to the hotel on business and also for a family weekend break with my kids, and in both situations I found everything to be great. A perfect environment in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chritchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just got back from 4 nights with my husband and three year old daughter. Lovely friendly welcome and great location in the quietest part of Stes Maries with beautiful views across the marshes. The hotel itself is in lovely grounds with a great pool and hot-tub and nicely decorated, if smallish rooms, typical Camargue style with some rooms (including ours) in converted stables. A little more sophisticated than some other hotels we've stayed in here. Very little to fault on the hotel and a lot to praise - relaxed, friendly and still highly professional. Great breakfasts with plenty of choice that you can eat on a pleasant terrace. BUT - and this is why I scored only 3 stars - the restaurant is expensive, pretentious and stingy on portions. It's a real shame - the food is good, no question, but definitely not haute cuisine, which is what the descriptions on the menu would like you to believe. And the prices may not be haute cuisine, but they are definitely high - for example, 18 euros for half a mackerel-type fish (the catch of the day, so presumably not too expensive) and a few spoons of an aubergine preparation that tasted more of tomatoes. The half-board menu is also spoiled by over-sophistication. The chef is good, but I'm sure would be better serving simpler fare - he's trying too hard and making the customer pay for it. My advice is enjoy your stay but eat in some of the many restaurants on offer elsewhere locally (though some are tourist traps).

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool if you have kids who want to play or a room overlooking the marshes if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the informality and peace, the beautiful pool , the very helpful staff especially at reception , the horse ride around the estate , our trips to saintes marie, the food and the area ; only downside was the mosquitos which only really bothered us at dusk and when horseriding as rooms are well air conditioned ; however the Camargue is a national Park so spraying cant be done and a swamp so mosquitos are an annoying but controllable part of the deal

Room Tip: Facing the pool rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend as part of a photo tour, and I was completely impressed by this hotel. Nearly all the staff speaks good English, the rooms were modern and comfortable, and the grounds are great. Very nice heated pool and a hot tub, and there are Camargue horses that graze the grounds, so you can watch them stroll around while relaxing at the pool. The decoration is very local, with lamps made of driftwood from nearby beaches and wrought iron fixtures with elements of the local horse guardian tools, the overall look is rustic and authentic. One of the staff has a friendly Jack Russel terrier than hangs out around the hotel and charms everyone he meets!

The real highlight however is the food - they have a world class chef who does modern interpretations of classic dishes, for example cold avocado soup with tuna pate, or a dessert minestrone with intense passion fruit sauce and mango sorbet. He sources nearly all the ingredients locally, and the flavors are incredibly crisp and intense - I would return here just for the food!

Room Tip: The Camargue is basically a large swamp, and the mosquitoes can be overwhelming. Where long pants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June. The rooms varied a great deal & I had one of the smaller ones, but it was clean & quiet with a good bathroom. The highlights were the service & the great food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pwilman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
2.5 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#14 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
807 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
386 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Palunette
La Palunette
#4 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mas des Barres
Mas des Barres
#27 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
70 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Rizieres
Les Rizieres
#17 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Calabrun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Calabrun

Address: 85 A route de Cacharel | Quartier de Frigoules, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range: £105 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas de Calabrun 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the Camargue Natural Park. 30 Rooms totally renewed and decorated with Camargue items (provided with air-conditionning, flat tv and hair dryer). Restaurant with fine traditional cooking. Swimming-pool, boules ground, table tennis and horseriding in our private domain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mas de Calabrun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing