We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than okay”
Review of La Bouvine

La Bouvine
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better than okay”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Moules marinières with salad and frites was very good, plat du jour was colin in a creamy sauce with rice. Perfectly acceptable meal; the service pleasant if a bit rushed - but they were very busy. Nice location to people watch whilst sipping the local rosé. But for the fact that there are many, many restaurants in Saintes Maries, I would quite happily have eaten here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leafwarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    118
    74
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

No way. Orrible service, no menù in english, only when I said: "impossible for me to order ( 10 minutes later) I don't speak franch", the waiter said to me: ok, maybe you need more time!!!!!
Finally an other waiter gave me a menù in english!! Food gone bad: I was very bad for all night long and the day after. Never again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magentavf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The restaurant was very busy so we decided to try it, food was just OK, however the sea beam was good, shame I didnt have it :( Decent enough but not great. Deserts are run of the mill typical, creme caramel, ile flotante icecream boring!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We visited this restaurant on our first night in Saintes Marie and ended up going back there ever night as it was so good! there are a lot of restaurants to choose from we only tried one other which wasn't quite as good standard as this one.

I had steak which was cooked to perfection, with provencal herbs. Also tried the fish of the day which I think was Sea Bream also very yummy and the wine was also very good.

The staff were polite and friendly forgiving us for our poor french! they do have an english menu if you ask food was bought out promptly and was excellent value for money, don't leave it too late in the evening because it does get quite busy

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bouvine also viewed

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Bouvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing