We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight but beware mosquitos”
Review of Mas de la Fouque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mas de la Fouque
Certificate of Excellence
Welsh Borders, UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Delight but beware mosquitos”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This ambitious venture has lots of wonderful features and few niggles. The location, well away from the road to Saintes Maries, is half surrounded by water in which black swans and wild ducks parade. The flat land is littered with white ponies, and in the adjacent marshes, flamingoes spend their time fishing. As you enter, a large parrot of many glorious colours, greets you with hello. We stayed, first, in an upstairs room from the terrace of which the view, partially obscured by a big tree, was stunning. But that was a breeding place for the dreaded mosquitoes that easily defeated the imperfect netting on the windows. After one night and multiple bites, we swapped for a room at the poolside with no view but fewer skeets. Both rooms were comfortable, particularly the beds. Bathrooms are also large and nicely equipped, though the huge bath in the poolside room was difficult to shower in without drenching the floor.
You can walk across the water on pretty walkways, but the alts are rotting in places and I fear that they will collapse quite soon if maintenance doesn't fix them this winter.
The large, heated pool is perfectly maintained and a great pleasure.
Breakfasts are superb, helped by a marvellous contraption of the kind you used to see at airports and in Israel, that automatically feed oranges to a cutter/squeezer to provide the freshest possible juice. There is a fine selection of meats, eggs, cheeses, breads yoghurts etc , generously laid out.
Dinner in the same restaurant is well served but not particularly interesting and quite expensive. We ate, after the first night, in the town, where we discovered an incredible oyster shack (see review) and some fairly ordinary restaurants.
Outstanding at Mas de la Fouque is the staff. There are lots of them and they re, without exception, charming, attentive and efficient.
So long as you take sensible anti-mosquito precautions, you cannot help but enjoy this place. Three nights is about right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    132
    48
    16
    1
See reviews for
142
378
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a very pretty place to stay and we felt relaxed as soon as we got there. The staff are lovely and the room very comfortable. My only criticism is that for a hotel of this class (and price) perhaps they could have proper hangers in the wardrobe. A small gripe I know, but ......
The pool area is a great place to lounge about and the vibe is laid-back. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC1Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very tranquil nicely outside the very touristy center of Saintes-Marie-de-la-Mer. The service was superb and the food befitting a hotel of this ranking. The rooms were perhaps a bit less luxurious than you would expect in hotel of this class, but overall we had a very nice stay and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

An amazing place to get away from it all and still feel at home. Luxury + charm + wilderness + 4-star service. Design is just the right mix of haphazard and chic, with a personnel that is attentive and friendly without being cloying. And the surroundings are magical - swans and ducks swim in the étang right out in front of your own personal patio in front of your "roulotte," white horses in the background, flocks of flamingos flying overhead....magical and otherworldy. Super-accommodating - mountain bikes available free of charge, massage on short notice, great library and areas to chill out in. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the roulotte facing the etang, it was fabulous and a really unique experience as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogastremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are happy to be woken by honking swans, the call of flamingo or just the sound of silence then this is the place for you. A few km out of town so don't expect to walk "home" after dinner - but then you don't have to - Mas de la Fouque boasts a classy restaurant - we ate in both nights we stayed, accompanied by great regional wines. The only complaint was that (I think) our room was above the kitchen and it sounded like someone was practicing percussion on the kitchen utensils - ask for a room away from this part of the restaurant. Well appointed bathroom, BUT - nowhere to unpack your toiletries and showering in a bath was a novel experience - wet the body, soap and then rinse with hand held shower!! AND lighting in bathroom is not conducive to application of makeup. Very friendly staff and say hello to Marius the resident macaw!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOTOFREAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 20-22 October. It is a lovely place with very comfortable rooms and excellent food. Our room faced the lake, which I loved, but if you do not want to be woken by quacking ducks then a room facing the pool or other area may suit you better - I could sense that my husband would have preferred to have seen the ducks accompanied with a sauce on the second morning! The hotel is close to the town, and easily reached. I must also mention they have a beautiful parrot - Marius - in the lobby. He loves toys, and walnuts or brazil nuts to crack open - take him some! I also had an excellent massage at short notice.

Room Tip: Chose a room with an interior view if you do not want ducks and swans at your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestHamfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Really Eco-chic. Very beautiful environment, care of details, and attention to client (although we had feeling they don't like Italians). Disegn is nice and original.
A bit expensive the dinner (200 € for two persons).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MauroM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Arnelles
Hotel Les Arnelles
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Cacharel
Hotel de Cacharel
#14 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Fouque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Fouque

Property: Mas de la Fouque
Address: route du petit Rhone | (Départementale 38), 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#1 Family Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas de la Fouque 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious lodge in Provence situated on the edge of the Camargue Natural Park and approximately 900m from empty beaches.From the room, you can see fantastic wild life flamingos, wild ducks, Camargue horses, wild bulls.Le Mas de la Fouque changes ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mas de la Fouque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De La Fouque Hotel Saintes-Maries-De-La-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing