We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! ”
Review of Mas de la Fouque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mas de la Fouque
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place! ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Pierre, the manager welcomed us warmly and made sure our stay was great. Thanks for that! The site is wonderful with great equipments and fantastic rooms (flamingo room recommanded: what a view!). Restaurant is great and private beach a good concept- a pity there that the service is not at expected level. Spa is ok but further potential to raise the overall experience there (more attention). Our 2 kids (5&9) enjoyed the pool a lot as well as the jakuzzi- so did we!
I strongly recommend this hotel and especially for the unique sustainability focus. It is worth encouraging it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasdelaFouque, Directeur général at Mas de la Fouque, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly, thank you to take the time to write us such a good review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Le Mas de la Fouque.

You seem to have tested and appreciated all the sides of our establishments and that’s a real pleasure !

We are very delighted to read also your compliment about the staff who is devoted to your comfort.
The fact of recommending "strongly" our hotel is the best reward that you could attribute us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Pierre Royaux,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    135
    48
    16
    2
See reviews for
148
392
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Short review:
+ Excellent staff
+ Beautiful hotel in beautiful setting
+ Very good restaurant
+ Have I said excellent staff ???

- Nothing really, maybe the mosquitos

-> MUST GO !

For those who like to read:

We spent 10 days in Mas De La Fouque in July 2014. For our family with three small children (4yrs, 2yrs, 6mth) we had booked a Suite L at the poolside and close to the restaurant for easier access.

Much to our surprise, upon arrival we were allocated a room next to the parking lot and the lake. The reception staff promised to find a solution and as we arrived too early for the room to be ready, we have been asked to wait in the bar area. Upon my inquiry with the reception after a couple of hours of waiting, were told the room was ready. Proactive information and regular update from the staff would have been appreciated here because after a 9-hour car journey the whole family was tired and in desperate need of a shower and a short nap. We were promised another room next to the pool for the next day which then on day 2 was again delayed for another day. This was a bit of a nuisance as living out of suitcases is messy and not relaxing enough to be called holiday and we therefore felt like having lost a day of our vacation.

After moving to the new room the next day, the whole impression changed completely though and step by step, Mas De La Fouque started to enchant us with its magic. The surroundings of the hotel are of breath taking beauty and quietness. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully and chic. It is clearly visible that much professional care has been taken in the design and arrangement of everything. Very pleasant is the pool area with lots of different options to relax from sunbeds to fatboy bags to sofas and benches and the setting is just amazing as you can see from the hotel webpage. The pictures are not lying. What makes the hotel outstanding though is clearly the more than excellent staff who are truly looking after the guests and made us feel at ease with an "everything is possible" attitude all day long, from breakfast over the day at the pool to dinner in the evening.

Breakfast is very continental with lots of different croissants, baguettes and cakes. There was also fruit salad and small selection of yoghurt. The salty part was less exciting, a couple of cheese variants and ham, both cold and cooked together with sausages and scrambled eggs. A note on the latter: on the first couple of days it seemed to have been made of real eggs whereas on the following days it was the ready-made variant know from many hotels but which - quite frankly – does not belong in a hotel of this standard. With this selection they serve all kind of beverages, coffee, tea, milk with chocolate and also freshly squeezed orange juice. All in all, a nice breakfast and worthy of getting out of bed for. And in our experience, if you asked the staff kindly enough, they were also happy to bring you other things not on the buffet. Again, a big thumbs up to the staff here.

During the day, they serve different salads and meals pretty much everywhere you would like to have it. Be it in the restaurant, at the pool or in the room. As always in Mas De La Fouque, everything was of high quality and very tasty.

Most days, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant which is worth a visit for itself. The menu offers a very nice selection of starters (Dorade Royal come un "Maki" is a must !), variants of fish and meat as well as desserts. During our 10-day stay I think we tasted pretty much everything from starters and mains and we have to say that everything was close to perfection in cooking and presentation. Before every meal you get served an amuse bouche of course as you would expect in a restaurant of this class. The wine list offers a good selection of French wines and has not left us missing anything during our stay. Prices for the dishes and wines are ok for what you get but obviously, if you are looking for a cheap meal on a budget, you should probably go elsewhere.

A note here to the hotel: It is very convenient that hotel guests don't have to sign any bills in the bar or restaurant. However, in the interest of transparency and accountability we would have preferred to do so at least on a daily basis if not for every meal. The same applies to the final bill at the end of the stay.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was excellent with a choice of two pillows. All the windows were equipped with mosquito nets which is a must in this area as there are plenty and they are very aggressive on top of it. Air conditioning worked well too. There was also a wireless router in the room which made for full WIFI connection. However, internet access was patchy at best and most times not possible at all. The cell phone network is also pretty weak so be prepared to be somewhat cut off from the outside world. Depending on the purpose of the trip this could obviously be a welcomed feature.

Conclusion: For us this was a very nice holiday and we will surely consider Mas De La Fouque again in the coming years. The combination of everything mentioned above, the setting, the style of the hotel and the rooms, the top class restaurant and – one last time – the truly excellent staff make Mas De La Fouque a unique experience well worth going to Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasdelaFouque, Directeur général at Mas de la Fouque, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

What can we say after so many compliments !?

At first thank you kindly for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor following your family holiday with us in July.

We’re delighted that you love everything at le Mas de la Fouque (food, environment, rooms…) and especially our staff that you found excellent !

About the private Beach the” Farniente” I would like to clarify that we are just in collaboration together and the restaurant of this establishment is independent of our hotel.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of a return visit very soon.

Best regards

Pierre Royaux,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermance, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a great hotel for a family (or for a romantic getaway). Whatever your purpose in travel, the staff (especially Pierre, the General Manager) will go out of their way to make your visit memorable. There is plenty on the property to entertain your children . . . birds to feed, a heated pool, a fusball table, chess set, and even entertainment on some nights. The grounds are gorgeous. The breakfast was top-notch. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are in the area. It is a great base to explore La Camargue, Provence, and even the beaches.

Room Tip: The Flamingo room is a great option for a family. The sunset views are spectacular, and the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 518Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasdelaFouque, Directeur général at Mas de la Fouque, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Christina

What a pleasure to read your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. The fact that you recommend our hotel is the nicest compliment possible.

Your compliments in general touched us deeply, and we are very thankful for that, especially those concerning our staff which is devoted to your comfort!

You seem to have appreciated every advantages of our establishments, our services just like our environment, and this is huge satisfaction for us.

We sincerely hope that you would be able to come and visit us once again and maybe test our SPA, if it’s not already done!

Warm greetings from Mas de la Fouque Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Royaux,
DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Saintes Maries de la Mer is a typical beach town, but for all the carnival atmosphere, it is fascinating to see the huge flocks of Flamingos, the broad salt flats/ marshes, the famous church. But expect to wade through camper vans and mobs of tourists. However, Mas de la Fouque was an oasis from all the bustle. As a working farm it has beautiful grounds, helpful wait staff, and is very romantic... a destination resort.

Our room was upgraded to a Gypsy caravan room because there was a conference taking all the more general rooms. Our comfortable bed was embedded into the caravan with one side looking out over the duck pond/ marsh where the many wild birds fascinated us. Room had nice refrigerator and appliances. Temperature control worked well. We were lucky enough to be able to enjoy gypsy music provided for the conferees during our dinner. I would not journey to have the dinner; although by this time I was very spoiled by outstanding French meals. Dinner was good, if not memorable. Leave time to sit by the beautiful very large pool and to walk the grounds.. This is still a working farm and several tours are offered; however, it is definitely a luxury resort. Our schedule did not permit trying any of the tours unfortunately.

While we appreciated the upgrade, I would not recommend our particular room because it is next to the hotel generator which produced a high frequency buzz all night which disturbed us significantly. We asked to be moved to a different room (those rooms further away did not have the problem) but, as the lodge was fully booked, this was not possible. The hotel was apologetic but there was nothing to be done. While the bed was cute, romantic and comfortable and while we are fit for our ages, climbing into and out of the caravan bed was a bit difficult as it was high and closed in on three sides.. so getting up in the middle of the night required one of us to crawl over the other one to get to the bathroom. That, plus the constant buzz, made my spouse grumpy... particularly at, what was,for us, a very expensive hotel designed as a treat after a week with kids and grandchildren at a rental house. (Lovely VRBO house spoiled me though) Probably not a problem for most couples .. and would be romantic for many... but I mention it as a minor caution for other mature travelers.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool if noise is a concern, as generator runs all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasdelaFouque, Directeur général at Mas de la Fouque, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Mrs Janice H,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Mas de la Fouque.

We really enjoy that you've spent some great moment with us in the middle of the beautiful Camargue.

It is regretable that such technical issues occurred and I wish to sincerely apologize for that.
It is true that the charm of these « Roulotte » is undeniable but they are nevertheless narrow than a standard room.
Concerning the noise in the bedroom actually we had some technical problem at this moment but we have already taken the necessary measures to avoid this happen again.. I hope you will give us another chance to show you the improvements made.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Pierre Royaux
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biot, France
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We held a long weekend in the Camargue, to relax a bit and enjoy the good weather . We drove the 300 km we have to Saintes Maries de la Mer where we spent the night in the city from Friday to Saturday. Then we went to Mas de la Fouque for the night from Saturday to Sunday. We drove around . 3km from Saintes Maries de la Mer hotel and drove up the long driveway with many speed bumps, here we were kindly received by someone from the hotel which assigned us to the reception.
Then we got a tour and saw the different rooms, we chose an XL suite ( flamingo € 545 per night) which was a nice big room , lavishly decorated with bathroom and small terrace . We chose to eat lunch at the hotel and the restaurant was well filled as it was Sunday . The food is relatively expensive and wine supply is small and is quite expensive. We paid 35 € for an ordinary white Saint Joseph, that will cost 7-9 € in a supermarket.
The food world alright but nothing special , the restaurant would like to make it a little exclusivt with beautiful decorative dishes , but the taste is missing.

We got dorade tartare it was served in a rice paper dough. potion was quite small when you consider that it was al a carte and not a menu (18 € )
Then we got cheese (13 € ) 4 small customized cheese with 1 apricot + 1 prune . No compote or other? After the lunch we chose to eat elsewhere for the evening.

Positive.

Very nice furnished room with a great view.
Great king size bed
Very friendly and good service from the staff at the hotel
Beautiful surroundings and a tennis court, pool and relaxation terraces
The room was clean

Negative.

The restaurant does not deliver quality compared to price.
The internet did not work in the room (I fixed it himself, by rebooting the modem)
Towel dryer was defective
The toilet was quite cold
The terrace was not swept clean

The breakfast did not live up to the hotel.
There was a small selection of cold cuts (2 different)
Boring not homemade bread
Lack of service (I even went up and made me a cup of coffee on the maschine. BRAVO)
However, you could press juce, which was delicious

We we stay there again. maybe

Room Tip: Although the room "flamingo" is lovely and with good sun most of the day it is right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bysse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasdelaFouque, Directeur général at Mas de la Fouque, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear M Bysse99

Thank you so much for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your visit in March.

Firstly, we are delighted that you've had the chance to discover the beauty of the region and the town of Saintes Maries before coming enjoy at Mas de la Fouque .
Thank you for pointing out the warmth of the welcome , the time given by our staff to visit the hotel and the beauty of our suite Flamingo.

On different negatives you mention we would like you to know that the well being of our customers and attention to detail is our priority.
This is why all your comments will have a careful study of our side.

It's important that I answer some of your comments.
The price of wine : this is not an ordinary Saint Joseph but a wine from a small winery producing deemed AOP and almost impossible to find in supermarket.
Regarding the food, we are sorry to see it was not up to your expectations but thanks to the work of our "Chef" we nevertheless earned many glowing reviews in many culinary magazines as well as many positive reviews on this same site.

I hope we will welcome you again to have the opportunity to turn these negatives into positives reviews .

Sincerely,
Pierre Royaux,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

There is only one downside here... the mosquitoes. You will have to put up with it, as it is a camargue feature !
What with evrything else, it is perfect or near it.
The place is beautiful. Everywhere: lobby, bar, restaurant, pool, rooms, bathrooms... It is decorated with taste. In a white/beige/light grey tone which makes it very stylish.
The pool is large. There is plenty of space to move around.
Food is very good. Breakfast buffet is fantastic.
Service is friendly.
There is a cinq mondes spa and you can enjoy their amenities in your bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh Borders, UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This ambitious venture has lots of wonderful features and few niggles. The location, well away from the road to Saintes Maries, is half surrounded by water in which black swans and wild ducks parade. The flat land is littered with white ponies, and in the adjacent marshes, flamingoes spend their time fishing. As you enter, a large parrot of many glorious colours, greets you with hello. We stayed, first, in an upstairs room from the terrace of which the view, partially obscured by a big tree, was stunning. But that was a breeding place for the dreaded mosquitoes that easily defeated the imperfect netting on the windows. After one night and multiple bites, we swapped for a room at the poolside with no view but fewer skeets. Both rooms were comfortable, particularly the beds. Bathrooms are also large and nicely equipped, though the huge bath in the poolside room was difficult to shower in without drenching the floor.
You can walk across the water on pretty walkways, but the alts are rotting in places and I fear that they will collapse quite soon if maintenance doesn't fix them this winter.
The large, heated pool is perfectly maintained and a great pleasure.
Breakfasts are superb, helped by a marvellous contraption of the kind you used to see at airports and in Israel, that automatically feed oranges to a cutter/squeezer to provide the freshest possible juice. There is a fine selection of meats, eggs, cheeses, breads yoghurts etc , generously laid out.
Dinner in the same restaurant is well served but not particularly interesting and quite expensive. We ate, after the first night, in the town, where we discovered an incredible oyster shack (see review) and some fairly ordinary restaurants.
Outstanding at Mas de la Fouque is the staff. There are lots of them and they re, without exception, charming, attentive and efficient.
So long as you take sensible anti-mosquito precautions, you cannot help but enjoy this place. Three nights is about right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Arnelles
Hotel Les Arnelles
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Cacharel
Hotel de Cacharel
#14 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Fouque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Fouque

Property: Mas de la Fouque
Address: route du petit Rhone | (Départementale 38), 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#1 Family Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas de la Fouque 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious lodge in Provence situated on the edge of the Camargue Natural Park and approximately 900m from empty beaches.From the room, you can see fantastic wild life flamingos, wild ducks, Camargue horses, wild bulls.Le Mas de la Fouque changes ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mas de la Fouque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De La Fouque Hotel Saintes-Maries-De-La-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing