We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury,calm, attentive staff and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Estelle en Camargue
Certificate of Excellence
Aix en Provence, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Luxury,calm, attentive staff and attention to detail”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Spent a wonderfully relaxing two nights here. Ate at the restaurant one of the evenings. From the start to the finish the experience was fantastic and very attentive caring staff. Obvious to see the staff love their jobs. We were here for a wedding anniversary. At the end of dinner, the staff brought us a dessert especially made for the occasion, a rose and glasses of champagne all offered by the hotel. Ambience is wonderful and so relaxing. Rooms are equipped with slippers and robes to enable one to relax around the pool and spa. Christophe the maitre D is wonderful and is available to help at anytime. Will be back!

Room Tip: Room 106 is very private and no vis a vis from the pool/spa area. Great views on to waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
97
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Nothing more to say. The Hotel ist lovely, clean, the staff ist very nice and helpful and the food is just great. Nothing more to say.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake_Worf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We mustn’t complain. We chose L'Estelle en Camargue as an overnight stop on a road tour of France and it is really a resort to spend a few days and relax. We drove through typical countryside to get there. Horses, cattle and rice fields. We arrived after a long drive on the day of the second round of the recent French Presidential election. There was only enough time to have a walk round and prepare for dinner. The staff was welcoming and attentive and the rooms were fine. They overlooked non-running water which might at certain times of the year attract insects. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard. Our aperitifs were not seriously delayed by the staff being glued to the election results on TV, One member suddenly found his English to eloquently prophesy the demise of the French economy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsa99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Expensive but not to bad.it had quality and nice service . Big problems with the mosquitos .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrianata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

5 stars, their old 4 stars brochure has a sticker saying "we got our fifth one" on it.
Well not sure it really deserves it. Certainly prices are 5 stars. Just plain expensive.

Now do you get a 5 stars elsewhere?

1. Welcome: room is not ready, come back at 15:00. It did say so in the confirmation email, but who reads the whole text, we phoned from the road to ask for directions, we were asked for our name, well here someone could have warned us to maybe slightly delay our arrival (it was just after 14:00 when we called). Alternatively they could have offered us a drink, we were offered to wait by the pool...or go for a walk...

2. Staff: Very friendly for sure, that was a positive point, but do you need 5 stars to get friendly service?

3. Room we had booked is I believe one of the most expensive rooms, a one bedroom suite.
Room is tired, old rattan sofas, not very comfortable, with stains, new flat screen TVs (one large in living room) one small in bedroom, but old hifi system, no I-Phone/I Pod docking station. Who travels with his CDs these days?

4. Climate control: well it was quite cold, you can use the air con for heating (there are no conventional electric heaters) but then you get this incessant noise which we are not accustomed too, so instead of hearing the lovely frogs songs at night you listen to your ventilation system.

5: Bathroom: No heating in the bathroom AT ALL. This clearly was a major minus, lots of waiting for hot water, soap/shampoo all in one from dispenser fixed against the wall in the walk-in shower and over the bath tub. Shower head good but would not hold straight due to old fixation mechanism and therefore try to squeeze the soap dispenser and catching the liquid soap while holding your shower head in one hand ;) Not even 3 star to me, especially the heating issue

4. Main building: nice but looks very plain from outside, with a terrace/pool, good furniture but absolutely awful concrete stone terrace flooring. Feels like you are sitting in nice teak furniture on a cheap car park. You would expect some real local beautiful sand stone

5. Pool: heated 26c with outside Jaccuzi at 33c, not sure what this is for, when it is 18c outside 33c feels warmer but not warm, you can't sit and relax, most Jaccuzi we sat in had very warm water especially in mid season climates..38c would be much better.

6. Garden: not ready, I guessed it was their opening WE, but the garden should have been cleaned. In front of our room, lots of mud on tiles (yes it rained some days but don't 5 star hotels have gardeners?) Terrace was not clean. View was beautiful but it felt like it was not ready or in full service.

7. Breakfast: good buffet, but then this super cheap moment: boiled eggs are free but any other eggs they charge 3 EUR+ You pay more than 500 EUR/night but you have to pay for scrambled eggs...Everyday the same food, excellent cold cuts, great breads, good coffee (which is rare in France), some variety would have been welcomed...also no Bio products references. (I am trying to make a link with the squeeze shampoo, if you have that it means you try to be green, with green also often comes bio food) well in the middle of the Camargue surrounded by beautiful nature one would expect some local bio products. Maybe some were but there was no explanation...

Conclusion: 5 stars? you get the specs but do you get the feeling you are in a 5 star property? not really, something is missing.
The issue is that this is to the best of my knowledge the only 5 star in Saintes Maries de la Mer and that gives the hotel a certain monopoly which will certainly be enough to get business without the need of major refurbishement/improvements.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the entrance/parking are the quietest and face the sunset You need a car, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed 4 nights at l'Estelle. We have mixed feelings about this hotel.
The location is wonderful, the pond in really magic. The restaurant is also very good.
But the rooms (ours faced the pond) are outdated and urgently need a renauvation to justify the rather steep price. The room was also very smelly. The swimming pool area looks nice but is also in urgent need of a facelift.
We would only come back after a complete renauvation, otherwise not.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My wife and I have jujst returned from a 4 night stay and we found everything was superb from teh moment we checked in to the time we left. The quality or room, pool, terrace and views was very high and the food in the restaurant was superb on the 2 nights we ate there.

The town of Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer is about 4km and so too far to walk but very easy to drive. the beach looked great but we were happy to stay by the pool during the day as it was a ver yrelaxing atmosphere.

The rooms are the cheapest but compared to others in the South of France they were competitive and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxontour70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Arnelles
Hotel Les Arnelles
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Estelle en Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Estelle en Camargue

Property: L'Estelle en Camargue
Address: route du petit Rhone | D38 Lieu dit Dromar, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
#10 Family Hotel in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Estelle en Camargue 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Camargue, a region famed for the richness of its traditions, this elegant establishment has acquired a reputation over the past ten years for its symbiosis of French "savoir vivre" and Swiss hospitality. Set in a privileged position and boasting fine cuisine, you are assured a warm welcome and an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Estelle en Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Estelle En Camargue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing