We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, but not exceptional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Marques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lou Marques
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I found myself a little disappointed with this hotel. Perhaps the rave reviews left me expecting too much. This is very much a small two-star hotel, not a real bed and breakfast. Perhaps better weather would have helped. There is only one room with a balcony as shown in some of the user photos. Our room was rather small and dark, the bed merely okay. Bathroom was good with a shower. The breakfast was all right, better than average, but I don’t think it was worth 7 euros a person. I would skip it next time. I’m probably showing my foodie snobbery, but the coffee came from a machine rather than being brewed. That’s certainly flexible and easier in many ways, but it does not make a superior cup of coffee! The staff was nice, and the Casa Romana restaurant, one of their recommendations, was very good. In the end, we paid close to $200 for two nights with breakfast during the off season, and that seemed a bit high for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigitte h, Propriétaire at Lou Marques, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Vous avez été déçus et nous le sommes aussi, nous pensions qu’une chambre confort, au 1er étage au soleil levant et sans vis avis, vous aurez satisfait (je précise que vous avez disposé d’un lit en 180 cm avec un sur-confort de matelas, tous les deux étoiles n’en dispose pas). Le vent et la pluie un 1er avril ne vous ont pas incliné à demander une de nos 3 chambres avec terrasse. Les photos sur nos sites sont toutes prises dans notre hôtel. Vous avez réglé pour votre séjour de 2 nuits avec 4 petits déjeuners, la somme de 143€ soit 186$, les petits déjeuners buffet sont à volonté avec un café expresso, un vrai, notre machine fonctionne uniquement avec du café en grains. Nous sommes désolés que votre séjour n’ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes, sachez que la plupart de nos chambres du rez de chaussée ont été rénovées cet hiver, et que certaines du 1er étage le seront plus tard après la saison estivale. Avec toutes nos excuses, nous espérons que le reste de votre séjour en France a été plus serein. La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    80
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
107
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great little hotel away from the razzmatazz yet near the centre. Really comfortable bed and abundant breakfast. Owners are extremely helpful with suggestions and cannot do enough for one. Would highly recommend. Excellent price/quality

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigitte h, Propriétaire at Lou Marques, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Google Translation
merci,
avez vous bien fêté la saint Patrick?
à une prochaine visite. brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpineti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I found this hotel very clean and with a nice and large room. On the floor there is parquet, the bed is large and the bathroom with the shower. The person at the reception is really gentle. Parking is really closed, on the road or on a parking just 20 feet away. Really suggested since the center is only 3 minutes by walk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.3 mi away
Les Palmiers
Les Palmiers
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#4 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camille
Hotel Camille
#18 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
LES ARCADES
LES ARCADES
#20 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lou Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lou Marques

Property: Lou Marques
Address: 6 rue du Vibre, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lou Marques 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOU MARQUES HOTEL welcomes and invites you to discover its 15 two star bedrooms in the town center of LES SAINTES MARIES DE LA MER. Although being away from the crowds it also has quick access to the Camargue sunny beaches. GARAGE MOTORBIKE BYCICLES FREE RESERVATION BY PHONE ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lou Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing