We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value Choice”
Review of Lou Marques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lou Marques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel, whilst quite basic, provides a great base for exploring the Camargue.

The rooms are quite small and could do with an update, but they are clean and well maintained.

The owners are lovely and very helpful with providing suggestions of places to eat or visit. Breakfast is normal French fare and is very tasty.

AC is provided in each room which is very nice when it is uncomfortably hot.

All in all, given the price, this hotel was an excellent choice and I would be happy to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this town very much, and the hotel was a big part of it. Breakfast first of all: served on the terrace, fresh fruit, delicious breads, a wonderful atmosphere. The owners catered to our every need - and we had needs. We asked them to advise us about a place for dinner (there are some 70 restaurants in this small town) and they suggested an excellent one. We asked them to fix a small fault in our shower and our door, and they took care of these quickly. My partner had broken her foot, and they told us to bring over some frozen peas which they kept in their freezer for us. We asked to use their clothing lines to dry our laundry and they agreed. By the end, we felt like we were asking them for things all the time, and they kept saying yes. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the beach, and 1 minute from two small supermarkets and a laundry - a very good location. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank erictlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had 3 rooms to choose, only the most expensive one one the second floor (actually cheap comparing to B&Bs from other cities) is OK. The b&b overall is a little bit outdated but the location is quiet; The room size is ok, decoration simple and clean, 2 stars level; the little balcony of the room is nice; The taste and choice of breakfast is limited (coffee/tee from the vending machine), but can eat on the big balcony in the sunshine. So overall it is ok for one night with low price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalyuan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were two nights at the Lou Marquès while on a bird-watching trip to the Camargue in late April with a rental car.
We had a ground floor room facing the small street, whose window provided minimal privacy from the outdoor eating area, but the cold weather restricted its use, and the street was a quiet one.
Our room was impeccable and comfortable, and the hotel seemed secure and well-run by a couple who were there most of the time. They provided a normal French-hotel-style breakfast of croissants, baguette, a variety of hot drinks, yogurt, and fruit. Very good.
We'd recommend this hotel without hesitation to those who want reliable value, without requiring extravagance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seemed fine while we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I found myself a little disappointed with this hotel. Perhaps the rave reviews left me expecting too much. This is very much a small two-star hotel, not a real bed and breakfast. Perhaps better weather would have helped. There is only one room with a balcony as shown in some of the user photos. Our room was rather small and dark, the bed merely okay. Bathroom was good with a shower. The breakfast was all right, better than average, but I don’t think it was worth 7 euros a person. I would skip it next time. I’m probably showing my foodie snobbery, but the coffee came from a machine rather than being brewed. That’s certainly flexible and easier in many ways, but it does not make a superior cup of coffee! The staff was nice, and the Casa Romana restaurant, one of their recommendations, was very good. In the end, we paid close to $200 for two nights with breakfast during the off season, and that seemed a bit high for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigitte h, Propriétaire at Lou Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
Vous avez été déçus et nous le sommes aussi, nous pensions qu’une chambre confort, au 1er étage au soleil levant et sans vis avis, vous aurez satisfait (je précise que vous avez disposé d’un lit en 180 cm avec un sur-confort de matelas, tous les deux étoiles n’en dispose pas). Le vent et la pluie un 1er avril ne vous ont pas incliné à demander une de nos 3 chambres avec terrasse. Les photos sur nos sites sont toutes prises dans notre hôtel. Vous avez réglé pour votre séjour de 2 nuits avec 4 petits déjeuners, la somme de 143€ soit 186$, les petits déjeuners buffet sont à volonté avec un café expresso, un vrai, notre machine fonctionne uniquement avec du café en grains. Nous sommes désolés que votre séjour n’ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes, sachez que la plupart de nos chambres du rez de chaussée ont été rénovées cet hiver, et que certaines du 1er étage le seront plus tard après la saison estivale. Avec toutes nos excuses, nous espérons que le reste de votre séjour en France a été plus serein. La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great little hotel away from the razzmatazz yet near the centre. Really comfortable bed and abundant breakfast. Owners are extremely helpful with suggestions and cannot do enough for one. Would highly recommend. Excellent price/quality

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigitte h, Propriétaire at Lou Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013
Google Translation

merci,
avez vous bien fêté la saint Patrick?
à une prochaine visite. brigitte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I found this hotel very clean and with a nice and large room. On the floor there is parquet, the bed is large and the bathroom with the shower. The person at the reception is really gentle. Parking is really closed, on the road or on a parking just 20 feet away. Really suggested since the center is only 3 minutes by walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.3 mi away
Les Palmiers
Les Palmiers
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Fangassier
Le Fangassier
#26 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camille
Hotel Camille
#18 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#15 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu Marine
Hotel Le Bleu Marine
#12 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lou Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lou Marques

Address: 6 rue du Vibre, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range: £52 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lou Marques 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOU MARQUES HOTEL welcomes and invites you to discover its 15 two star bedrooms in the town center of LES SAINTES MARIES DE LA MER. Although being away from the crowds it also has quick access to the Camargue sunny beaches. GARAGE MOTORBIKE BYCICLES FREE RESERVATION BY PHONE ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lou Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing