We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too pricey for what was on offer”
Review of Hotel Les Rizieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Rizieres
Geneva
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Too pricey for what was on offer”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Positive: As we pulled into this hotel, it was beautiful, very peaceful, with a lovely pond around it. The room was cosy, very clean. The front desk was friendly. The pool was big and clean. The location was just outside the town, but easy to get to, you would need a car though.

The Negative: I understand that these smaller family run hotels have a tough time competing with bigger chains, so I accept the price difference. But having just stayed at an excellent Novotel with 3 stars, and now paying 100 euros more to stay at this 3 star hotel, I was expecting certain things. Breakfast was okay, basic, self service. They close down the coffee and juice machine at exactly 10:30, so we had to go without coffee. They could have come around and told us that they were going to close. They did finally turn on the machine at 12:30. Why such a big fuss about coffee, because we didn't have the option of having any in the room, which every hotel usually has. The management closes down at 10pm, so no requests can be made, when we called and asked for the wifi password at 10:30pm, the lady said we have to wait till the morning. There are Mosquitos in the room, so please remember to take some bug spray with you. The hotel itself requires a bit of TLC. We felt like we were living I someone's house and we didn't want to annoy anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skhondker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    76
    48
    14
    4
See reviews for
53
84
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had three nights at Hôtel Les Rizières and just loved it. The room, though small, was spotlessly clean and quite adequate. The bathroom was modern and also spotless. The room opened onto the large grassed courtyard and it was a lovely place to sit in the evening. We enjoyed the swimming pool, though it's due some maintenance on the tiles. Breakfast was excellent. When requesting some dining options, the staff were fabulous and made all the arrangements. We had a wonderful fish dinner on the strength their recommendation.
Being a bit out of town is an advantage as it's quiet and relaxing. Would have like to have stayed longer. The rooms could be improved with the addition of facilities to make a cup of tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms 42-44 are near the ponds and rushes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlen
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It's lovely to stay at this small and well kept hotel. The surrounding area with the pond and its birds is pretty and the hotel is well located a bit outside of Saintes-Maries de la Mer and a great starting point to explore the lovely Camargue by car. There are some outside chairs available where you can have a pic-nic. The pool is nice and clean.
The rooms are a bit small, however, nicely furnished and the superior rooms have a walk-in-shower which is very convenient. During the night it's absolutely quiet.
Breakfast is somewhat modest. Not a big variety at all. The coffee is fine.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite okay! No need to book a superior room. They are not so much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was the last place that we stayed in on our trip to France, the most expensive of the four and by far the least nice. The staff were very nice and welcoming but unfortunately the room was not nice at all. It felt like a motel. The room was tiny - barely enough space to walk around the bed. There were no windows in the room so it was very dark and depressing. The door opened right into the room, like a beach hut, and had mosquito nets over it, which had holes in and were full of dead mosquitoes. The floor was dirty. The bathroom hadn't been updated for about 30 or 40 years. The hairdryer would only stay on for about 30 seconds before cutting out. The pool was quite nice and the communal areas and breakfast were fine, but the room was just horrible and it was such a shame to end our trip on this low note, especially as we were paying so much for it. The location isn't great either - it's too far to walk into town so we had to get taxis each way to get dinner. Saintes Maries de la Mer itself is a very, very touristy town. It feels a bit like a tacky British or Spanish resort. All the restaurants are very touristy indeed and it's difficult to find good food. Of course it is in the wonderful Camargue so you do get to see flamingoes, white horses etc. I don't know how Les Rizieres compares with other hotels in this town but I wouldn't recommend a holiday here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for 5 nights during April. The room was decent, a typical French affair with tiled floor and opening on a courtyard - must be amazing in the summer. At night you could hear croaking frogs, and it is pitch dark. The hotel is set back from the main road into Ste Marie, but well before the town begins, and well placed for the flamingo bird ornithological park. Arles and other nearby towns were easy to reach. Parking is on the outside of the building, which has a courtyard in the centre, and usually there is a space right outside your own door. The breakfast was generous though French, that is no cooked option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Many plus points to this hotel: easy access & parking, clean, functional bathroom & room with the added bonus of a fridge. The personnel is friendly & helpful.
Breakfast is self serve & sufficient.
But the rooms are situated around a courtyard and if you are unfortunate enough to be there when other guests are noisy, the courtyrad becomes an echo chamber. It was after 3am when we got to sleep. Furthermore the noise isolation between rooms is very poor.
It is bearable for one night but could become a problem for a longer stay

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

If you are tired of moden hi-rise hotels, this place is for you. Laid out in a "u" shape, most rooms open up to a lovely garden/terrace in the centre. Although this not give you a lot of privacy, it offers people the opportunity to mingle with fellow travellers from all over the world.
There is a swimming pool on one side, and a lovely pond full of quacking ducks. A lovely sound to wake up to.
We chose the upgrade room for only 15euro more per night, and feel that it was worth it. The room was bright, nicely decorated and very clean.
You could enjoy a nice buffet breakfast on the terrace or the inviting breakfast room for 9euro per person.
We travel with our two small dogs who were welcomed the the owners small dog "pepsi-cola".
We enjoyed the laid back ambaince and the excellent service. Would definiely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to keep the budget down, you can bring your own food and keep it in the small fridge in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2vagabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
2.7 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#4 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Auberge Camarguaise
L'Auberge Camarguaise
#27 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Tramontane
Hotel La Tramontane
#8 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mas des Lys
Mas des Lys
#23 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Rizieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Rizieres

Property: Hotel Les Rizieres
Address: Route d Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Rizieres 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Les Rizieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rizieres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing