We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, wonderful service, great atmosphere, and wonderful people”
Review of Le Grand Pre - CLOSED

Le Grand Pre
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful service, great atmosphere, and wonderful people”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in Provence. You enter from the back parking lot through the garden, complete with herb beds - very pretty. You can also eat there when the weather is nice. We are there in October, so we eat inside. We enjoyed it so much that we ate here three times in 2011, once for lunch and twice for dinner. The food, the wine, the atmosphere, the service, are all terrific and make the meal a great experience. Especially Jean-Francois, who, if you ask him, will recommend many good wines from the Rhône valley growers, and, in our experience, makes excellent recommendationsl, including wines with the cheese plate and with desert. He is extremely pleasant and speaks both French and English, so if you have a little difficulty understanding something in French, you can always ask in English. Everything we have had to eat here has been wonderful and service is superb. We ate there three times in 2012 and it was as good, if not better than, the previous year. We plan on going back several times again this year on our regular visit to Sablet. We highly recommend this restaurant, both for a long, leisurely lunch or dinner. There is also a Bisro side. We ate there in 2012 and it was also very good, but more casual as you would expect. The menu is a little less braod but still very good. Jean-Francois allowed us to order wine to our taste from the restaurant menu instead of the Bistro menu. We enjoy every minute there.If there was only one restaurant we could go to in Provence while we were there, this would be our choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best in the area”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went to the other, supposedly better quoted restaurant in Vaisson according to Michelin and Gault and Millau, but I really fail to undersand why Le Grand Pre ranks behind. The service, the food, the wine list (size and value for money), are leaps ahead. When we arrived I must admit I was confused about the settings. A nice courtyard but split in two, one for the restaurant and the other for the bistro, while I almost found the seating nicer on the bistro side... But no option to sit there. Anway, next to the parking which gets full very fast, this must be the only negative I can mention, but this could nevertheless upset quite a few.
We went for the small menu at 62 eur. 4 dishes, all very well sought after, refined, special , local tastes. Delicious. The waiter (not sure he is anqualified sommerlier, but he could be) helped us very well in chosing the wines... All below 40 eur as we didn't go for the Chateuneuf.... All in all a wonderful experience, and without a doubt the best place in the whole area! It ain't cheap, but definitely value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Outstanding and creative kitchen”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This restaurant is one of the best I know in the Région of Orange. It is getting better every year. For lunch in the Bistro we enjoyed a perfectly cooked Tuna, slightly raw inside, resting “sur un lit de legumes”. A trilogy of dessert with wonderful scents completed the meal. Service is perfect. If you have the time this is worth a trip of 45 minutes from Orange. It is much better than other one Star Michelin’s in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite meal”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The tasting menu is pricey but fabulous. We were with an unpredictable 10-year-old but we were made to feel very welcome (other restaurants in the area seemed far more stuffy). They charged only 21 euros for her meal and brought her each of the between-course treats. Staff are very attentive and friendly. We arrived at 7.30 and didn't leave till around 10.45 - a truly exquisite meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sablet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How lucky are we, we live 5 minutes away !”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have just come back after having a gorgeous lunch at the Preface Bistro at Le Grand Pre. The attention to detail, the waiting staff, the lovely aperitifs all just fantastic, loved it. We run a B&B and have a villa for rent, we shall certainly be recommending our guests to dine here either for lunch or dinner.
Thank-you Le Grand Pre
Alison

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliInf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Pre also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing