We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre cuisine”

Restaurant Le Tournesol
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre cuisine”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had lunch at this restaurant and thought the food was not worth the price we paid. The place obviously wants to be a higher class place than it is. The decor is pleasant if a bit over the top. My husband and I each had a Provencal dish recommended by the waiter/owner, neither of which was either flavorful or generous (even in French terms) in proportion. The same can be said of our main dishes. We were the only clients in the place, except for a single business man who may have just wandered in. It was the off season, to be sure, but this was a lesson to us to eat at places that have some others (preferably locals) already in the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles & Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    24
    11
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We ended up in "Le Tournesol" one evening in August. We slightly had to change plans during the day and had no reservation, but that was no issue. We took a table on the outside terrace, which is almost on the street. Traditional menu with typical mediterrenean cuisine. Service was fast and correct. Food was good, but not exceptional. Price/quality is was surely OK.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoNa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Is there Sysco in Provence?”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Many of the restaurants in Vaison-la-Romaine are closed on Monday. This one was not! Apparently the owner will do anything for a Euro! The ravioli with cream and chives tasted like Chef Boyardee. I wasn't aware Chef Boyadee cooked with chives! The lamb was way overcooked... even though we asked for rare. Seriously, the food was not good and seemed to be mass produced elsewhere. The house wine came only by the glass or bottle... no piche. Fortunately we decided to only order by the glass. It was awful. There are good restaurants in Vaison. However, if it's Monday, consider a picnic!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SRM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe Vista, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in downtown”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fresh Provençal food, nice staff, cute decor. Reasonably priced menu, with nice selection. We enjoyed the eggplant feuillete appetizer.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank m0untainGIRL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Quality of food is really very poor eventhough the service wasn't too bad

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoGueuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Tournesol also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Restaurant Le Tournesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing