We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place near beautiful town”
Review of Le Jour et la Nuit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Jour et la Nuit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Le Jour et la Nuit for one night on our trek through Provence. We couldn't find the place so we called Emanuel, and she and her precious daughter came and met us. From that phone call on, we knew we were in for a treat. The farmhouse has been renovated and is gorgeous with a beautiful courtyard, a friendly dog and two cats that occasionally meander by. Everything inside and out is immaculate . Our room had sleeping for three and a huge balcony looking out over vineyards and orchards. There are metal shutters you can open from bed to look out onto the vineyards and it was dark and quiet and comfortable sleeping. A new, modern bathroom with a great shower was also in the room. Breakfast was WONDERFUL with huge croissants, chocolate croissants, meats, yogurt and several different kinds of wonderful homemade jams and fantastic local juices. Emmanuel was so charming and accommodating. The only bad thing was we had to leave. Vaison la romaine was a beautiful city with a medieval city on top of the hill by the roman bridge. Everything was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesleyChapelLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Le Jour et la Nuit
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

This property has been rated so highly, and justly so, that there is little to add. However, we recently were happy to find availability, and were assigned to the last open room here. t was made to be handicapped accessible (we are not handicapped) and a;though the room was lovely, the shower had no curtain and the floor does not drain properly. When used, the entire floor including the floor area at the sink and the toilet becomes wet and stays drenched the whole day through. Any time one needs to use the sink or the toilet, you walk through the standing water and then need to try not to track this into the bedroom area. Other than this, the stay was perfect and Emmanuelle's dinners, although pricy, were heavenly, were worth the cost and are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saccuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Le Jour et la Nuit as part of a self-guided cycling vacation through Provence. Emmanuelle and David were charming hosts, and their B&B is stunning. It is a large remodeled stone farm house nestled in the countryside outside of Vaison la Romaine and surrounded by vineyards. The quality of the reconstruction is meticulous and built to last. Emmanuelle has done a beautiful job decorating the rooms and common areas in a very modern style. Our room on the second floor had four perfectly working sliding glass doors that opened into a huge patio overlooking the vineyards. The room, décor, and bedding exceeded our expectations. Both our hosts spoke very good English, although French is their first language. Emmanuelle serves an excellent breakfast every morning with fresh bread, exotic cheeses, fruit, yogurt, and more. With 24 hour notice and for a very reasonable additional cost, Emmanuelle will serve dinner. She is an outstanding cook and served us an elegant 5 course gourmet meal on our last evening. I heartily recommend taking advantage of this option at least once during your stay. Both Emmanuelle and David were extremely accommodating of our unique needs, and provided vegetarian food options and a locked room where we could store our bicycles at night. All-in-all, Le Jour et la Nuit is an exceptional B&B with delightful hosts in an idyllic setting. If you’re looking for accommodations near Vaison la Romaine this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Sometimes life just hands you something unexpected and wonderful~ that is Le Jour et la Nuit. What a beautiful B&B nestled among vineyards and apricot orchards. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The owner was kind and very helpful with local information, he made dinner reservations for us in town where we were treated very well and enjoyed a great meal. The breakfast was above and beyond with tasty meats, pastries, and good coffee. What a nice time we had here but I will warn you to have your GPS with you because Vaison-la-Romaine is hard to find and they don't speak much english so if you are looking for an area that caters just to tourists this may not be for you. For me it was a highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjinsavannah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a very good B&B. It is a great base to explore the wine region of Cote du Rhone, Gigondas, Vacqueyras, Cairanne and Chateauneuf du Pape.
Positive:
- Room is large, beautiful, with a great shower
- The house itself is really beautiful, like all its surroundings: vineyeards, apricot and cherries trees, hills.
- Location: 5 min drive outside of Vaison, probably the nicest town on the area, with everything you need, from small boulangeries and fromageries to supermarkets. Also a short drive to other wine villages
- Breakfast was fantastic. Unlike most of the other B&Bs we´ve read, here breakfast is not just a croaissant with jams. There are also fresh fruits (amazing cherries), 5 different types of fromage (best chevre we´ve eaten on the trip) and jambon
- Clean
- Good value for money: we paid 90 euros for the night, breakfast included
Negative:
- Only negative was that we´ve had some issues with the air conditioning, that was not as old as we would like. We ended up sleeping with the window open on the last nights, because the night lower temperature and breeze did a better job than the AC.
- Could have a pool, but, hey, there is a nice river in the middle of Vaison where you can go for a swim on the hotter days. Better than a pool, right?

Overall, definetily recommended the town and this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiovaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We loved this place. I highly recommend it and would love to return. The rooms are decorated in an interesting modern style and the setting, in a vineyard is lovely. Our room, on the ground level, was very spacious with a comfortable bed and nice towels and linens. It was a bit difficult to find, but with the GPS coordinates that the owners supplied, we got right there. The breakfast was very good, better than others we had in B&Bs in France, and the breakfast room itself is very attractively, with one wall that opens to the courtyard. We found the owners to be helpful, but not overbearing, so we had our privacy. They were also quite helpful over e-mail while making our reservations. We particularly loved their cat. The location is quite convenient if you have a car--only about 5 minutes outside of Vaison la Romaine, and there was plenty of parking in town when we went for meals.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Positives: beautiful room, modern design, excellent breakfast, close to Vaison, charming setting in the vineyards, renovated farm house, very clean.

Negatives: hard to find (no address) in spite of written directions. The husband did not offer to help with our suit cases (the room was upstairs) but his wife did :-). We felt awkward about her lifting our heavy suitcases, so we carried them ourselves (we're senior citizens).

We did not find the owners particularly interested in talking with us. They never even asked the usual questions "where are you from ?" etc. Other B&B owners we stayed with were much more friendly. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and we were told that it's hard to find a restaurant open in Vaison on a Monday night. One restaurant was suggested and the owner immediately made a reservation for us. Unfortunately, the restaurant was mediocre and the service was so slow that we gave up and left without ordering dessert.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vaison-la-Romaine hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
289 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jour et la Nuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jour et la Nuit

Address: 1205 Chemin des Ruches, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: £86 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse between vineyard and apricot-trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Jour et la Nuit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jour Et La Nuit Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing