We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of L'Eveche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Eveche
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a uniquely beautiful small hotel in a uniquely beautiful setting. The hotel is housed in a former bishop's palace and dates back several hundred years, perhaps to the 16th century. It is situated in the Cité Médiévale atop a hill overlooking beautiful Vaison-la-Romaine, a small town in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region of southeastern France. Vaison-la-Romaine is known for extensive Roman ruins. Guests at L'Eveche have access to two beautiful sitting rooms, full of art and antiques and beautiful music ranging from opera to jazz. Breakfast is served on a small patio overlooking the village when weather permits or inside in yet another elegantly appointed part of the house. Small collections, vases of flowers, lamps, and the like catch your attention at every turn. The hosts Aude & Jean-Loup Verdier are gracious and helpful and serve a delicious petit dejeunier. Staying at L'Eveche was the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalvia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
113
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a splendid place to stay if you are visiting Vaison la Romaine. The site of the property above the river and the Roman town is impressive, as was the view from our room, Verte Jade. Everything we wanted was in that suite and everything was spotlessly clean.

The contents of the "public" areas and the "private" side where you have your breakfast are remarkable. The pictures, the objets d'art, the books and the posters all add atmosphere. And then there are Jean-Loup and his oh-so-smiley wife Aude who really do welcome you into their home.

So why don't I give the Evêché five stars? It's because of small things. The website should more clearly indicate that they don't take credit or debit cards. Also it should be more explicit about access and parking. The fact that the medieval village is on a steep hill, with narrow streets adds to its charm, but it does make it a struggle if you are worried about lugging your bags up from a distant car park which we were not. There are potential solutions and these should be made clear on the web-site.

We both enjoyed our breakfast and it was exactly what I would expect in a very good B&B. But nowadays, to be rated "excellent" I would expect to see espresso coffee on offer, freshly squeezed orange juice, possibly fresh fruit salad, possibly home made jams and other produce that is obviously locally sourced.

Would I recommend the Evêché for your stay in Vaison? Most certainly. But, remember to take cash if you don't have a French bank account and ask about access and parking if your mobility is at all restricted. As to breakfast, don't worry because there are just so many other reasons why you will enjoy the Evêché.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed six nights and loved every minute of it. The owners are very warm and helpful. Jean Loup helped us decide where to go each day and even gave us maps and itineraries and recommendations of where to eat. He also made reservations for us one night at a restaurant in town. The breakfasts were great. Because the weather was too cold, we weren't able to eat outdoors, so Jean Loup and Aude set the tables in their own living space. I have nothing but great memories of staying here and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vert Jade room which had lovely views of the town below and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A great location in Vieux Vaison. Very charming, renovated older home with fabulous views. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was up-to-date. Good breakfast. The hosts were warm and welcoming. An 'incontournable' in Provence.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Ca
Level Contributor
289 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in the room Vert-jaune while taking a cooking course nearby. During our week, the owners, Jean Loup & Aube, could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were fabulous--fresh pastries, cheese, yogurt, fruits, the roaring fireplace to sit and read and the comfortable sitting rooms for guests--all were excellent. Clean, with a comfortable, homey touch, the B&B is located right in the middle of the medieval village and easy walking distance to everything.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We chose room Vert-Jaune as it had a large sitting area and was quite roomy and we were staying a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Where better to stay in the famous Roman town of Vaison-la-Romaine than L’Eveche in the medieval quarter of Vaison la Romaine? L’Eveche, almost hidden under the vines is about as authentic of a French B&B you could ever imagine!

First of all, there’s the building, a former bishop’s residence from the 17th century that has been renovated into a series of lovely sitting rooms with 3 bedrooms and 2 suites and a huge dining room and study. Then there are the owners, Aude and Jean-Loup who could not be more charming and dashing if they came right out of a book.

Jean-Loup is intent on making every guest feel perfectly at home and will provide just the right amount of help that you need during your stay. When he gave us a tour of the house, I paid strict attention to the directions to get to/from my room as I envisioned being lost in the endless labyrinth of rooms at L’Eveche. Our room was small, basic and simple, with million dollar views of the Luberon and the old town of Vaison la Romaine.

There are fans, but no air conditioning in the rooms. Vaison la Romaine is a wonderful town that begs to be explored. When I return, I will plan to spend a long weekend here and explore the surrounding hill towns and the Roman ruins. Life is slow here, with market day the highlight of the week. Exactly my pace.

Room Tip: I love the rooms with a view over the town of Vaison-la-Romaine and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a visit to Vaison-la-Romaine. While there, we stayed in the old part of the town....up, up, up the hill to L'Eveche. The bed and breakfast really has a lot of personality, not just the building itself, but also Jean-Loupe and Aude who make the stay so pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are fantastic and Jean-Loupe and Aude are attentive hosts. Our room had a super comfortable bed and huge bathroom. L'Eveche is also very unique since there is art and books everywhere. So much to see!

L'Eveche is a little hard to find and parking isn't perfect, but a very charming bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelers071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vaison-la-Romaine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eveche

Property: L'Eveche
Address: 14 Rue de l'Eveche | Cité médiévale, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in the old bishop's hotel of Vaison la romaine. The guesthouse has 3 rooms and two suites in the old quarter of Vaison la romaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Eveche Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
L'Eveche Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing