We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and amazing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Charming and amazing setting”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is located in the hillside of the medieval part of the town. The view is great from most rooms and from the charming little garden that serves as breakfast area and supplies fresh herbs to the superb hotel restaurant.
The hotel and the whole area, with narrow cobbled streets, have a lot of charm. Our room was very nice but the bed was of the narrower kind.
Access to the hotel by car and the private parking outside could be a challenge for the faint of heart - or just a thrill to others!
Most staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    66
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
128
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved our room at Le Beffroi. As in many French inns, or hotels most of the rooms are different. I think they would all be wonderful in this place. Some smaller than others, but certainly clean and cheerful. Breakfast was certainly adequate by American standards. The grounds are beautiful, and they even have a pool open during the summer season. There is a restaurant in the inn...one must make reservations in advance I believe, but the food is amazingly good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is our second stay at the hotel, the first being two years ago. Both were for ten days as part of a bike group and we couldn't be happier. John and the staff would go out of there way to be helpful. The best part is hard to choose. Breakfasts were out on the patio - a great way to start the day. Suppers were in the outdoor courtyard - light and surrounded by the outside of the 16th century building. Most rooms have cross ventilation and they automattically set up fans when the temperature sored well into the 30s. They continue to upgrade the rooms. Since our past stay the bathroom fixtures were replaced and working well. The pool is very nice, but as is tradition, it is unheated. There are aspects that one does need to be aware of. The hotel is in the middle of the medival city. Hence, the hotel requires a decent bit of walking to get up from the river. So if you are not comfortable walking up and down about a 100 veritical feet , then you likely should stay in the new city area. There is parking right in front of the hotel, but one needs to be comfortable driving your auto up a very steep and winding road - the same one you walk up. We plan on returning in two years.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. By European standards, the room was very large and the bathroom enormous. Both were well appointed and very nicely decorated. I think this hotel is rated as a three star hotel but I would give it a bit more. The only downside to the room, and the only reason that I did not give it a five rating, was that one of the windows lacked a curtain. One could see that the rod had been broken but it left the room quite visible, though given the location, a person would have to be very, very tall for observation to be a problem. Not a big thing. We just dressed on the other side but it did leave the room too light at night. Also, the pillows were a bit hard. The hotel is so lovely, it is easy to overlook small things and, in truth, we did sleep very well there.

Breakfast was very good and served in a beautiful rose garden. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. We are English speakers and were made to feel very comfortable by the staff, all of whom spoke English. The entire hotel was very clean, rooms included.

The location is breathtaking, as is the whole town. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewton Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is up the hill in the old city of Vaison la Romaine. It was built in the middle ages, but was very comfortable. The rooms are furnished with antiques and had amazing views of the "newer" village below. The staff was very gracious and the breakfast was basic but good. If we had been there in warmer weather we could have eaten outside on a lovely patio. We would surely stay here again. The Tuesday morning market is a good one.
.

Room Tip: There are winding stairs which may matter to some when choosing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriett777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were only able to stay one night in Vaison-la-Romaine. Such a beautiful part of the world, and a very interesting and unique village. The hotel itself is lovely. Not at all difficult to find; we parked in a public space halfway up the hill to the upper village and lugged our bags to the front desk, about a 5 minute walk. The interior takes you back in time and is wonderfully full of character. Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed, and it had a window that opened up to look down upon the lower village. So much to do in the area, and we were only able to skim the surface. Both the upper and lower villages are perfect for wandering and admiring. We were able to visit some of the nearby towns, as well, and taste a few of the locally produced wines. Next time we will spend a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton, conn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed September 1st and 2d as part of a small group tour. The location is priceless, sitting on a cliff top and reachable through narrow stone paths. The building is centuries old, with stone steps so worn that they are no longer flat. The service was warm and friendly, befitting a small and intimate hotel. The garden was great for breakfast and restaurant under the stars was exquisite. The one shortcoming that stood out for my wife and I, as well as other guests, was the mattresses were in great need of replacement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
148 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
210 reviews
3.7 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
109 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Marc
Hotel Le Saint Marc
#1 of 1 in Mollans sur Ouveze
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Beffroi

Property: Hostellerie le Beffroi
Address: 2 rue de l Eveche | Medieval City, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Beffroi 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Beffroi is situated in the centre of the medieval city of Vaison la Romaine. The atmosphere is more of a private home than a hotel. The location provides rest, stunning views, terraced gardens and also a swimming pool overlooking the town. Welcome to Provence !! L'Hostellerie "Le Beffroi" offers you rooms with such comfort that that you forget that you are residing le one of the most beautiful XVI century estates at the heart of the Haute Ville of Vaison la Romaine. The antique furniture and the domineering view of the countryside, the gardens let you imagine that you are in a different time. These surroundings allow you to truly relax and step back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostellerie le Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Beffroi Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
Hostellerie Le Beffroi Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing