We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky, fun, bring a headlamp”
Review of Hotel Burrhus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Burrhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Burrhus is right on the town square. Parking is several blocks away in the town parking lots. Very reasonable prices, good breakfast, the Wi-Fi worked in the common areas but was marginal up in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and were fluent in English (my French language skills are almost non-existent)

We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the town square. Numerous restaurants and shops are within a few hundred meters walk. Vaison-la-Romaine is a comfortable location for touring this part of Provence.

It is a 2-star property, nothing fancy. Note that there are several stairs to reach the rooms, no lift available so this is not the place if you have mobility issues or if you have a lot of luggage.

Our only real complaint is that the rooms are quite dark, the bedside lamps are so dim as to be almost useless. We had our camping headlamps with us, which we needed in order to read in bed.

We liked the Burrhus well enough that we extended our stay for a couple more days, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Budget priced lodging on the square in town. Rooms are quirky but clean. We looked at 3 different rooms and decided on #14 looking down on the 1st floor terrace, where we are currently sitting drinking wine and eating snacks we brought. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. No lift, we just brought a change of clothes and toiletries to avoid dragging bags up the stairs, which is fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I loved staying in this hotel, the decor was modern, fun and inspiring, and the rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the town square was delicious and a lovely start to the day. The staff were helpful and efficient. There is no lift and the corridors rather maze like, but once you have found your room you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very average hotel. Reasonable price and room size, but not very clean and the service was average to poor. The market on Tuesday morning is right outside your door which is definitely the best part of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Baptiste G, Propriétaire at Hotel Burrhus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear sir, thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. I think you are very severe, but I watched your opinion to understand your expectations. When I see you love the "best western" Isle on Sorgue, which for us is the kind of hotel that we want out I understand much better. Home staff is not obsequious and we try to have human relationships with our customers, this means away from any normative certification. As for cleanliness, this is your opinion, we have an internal quality monitoring and it is really not clean on which we have work to do. Maybe in June when we hire new maids, there have been some hiccups, we apologize. I can not advise you on your next stay in France to avoid independent hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

In the middle of the main square in Vaison, this 2 star hotel punches above its star rating, for after you have found your way through the corridors leading to your room, up and down many stairs, awkward if you have bulky or heavy cases. The rooms themselves are spacious, unusual in most similar grade hotels. The bathroom was well appointed, even if I wished there had been a shower in our room which I believe some rooms have. Breakfast was excellent , just right for any activity you might be taking on. Whilst I would have preferred a break from the current French trend of Grey and brown everywhere , modern art abounds on most walls. I would also have hoped that room No 4 had more than a single light over the entrance door . Overall after two nights a most acceptable town centre sojourn

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank JohnSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Perfectly adequate 2 star. Clean, nice staff, probably the lease efficient hotel as far a getting to rooms, Up 1 set of stairs, down the hall up another set, then around the corner and down a flight down the hall. Its a good thing that the rooms are well marked. Rooms were nice, bed comfortable and the location was perfect. Nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueperwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This hotel is right on the main square in town so the location is great. It is NOT city hotel, it's a hotel made up of several buildings with passages that wind throughout. If you've had too much to drink you may need help finding your room the room numbers seem randomly assigned. Do I sound like I'm complaining? No, I'm celebrating the uniqueness of the Hotel Burrhus, every room is different, it is an eclectic mesh of post-modern artistic retro funk. I would definitely stay again. It's a great way to break out of the sameness that typical travel hotels create. Go and let your hair down!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burrhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burrhus

Address: 1 Place Montfort | Bp 93, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: £54 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Burrhus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is really an atypical establishment. All rooms are different, of a sober and elegant decoration.The design and the contemporary art occupy an important place for Burrhus. Everywhere you will cross original works of already confirmed artists.For twenty years, we organize numerous exhibitions of contemporary art and in particular since 2007, the for a weekend (2nd of december) "Supervues" which gathers in the hotel 35 artists who occupy all a room.In spite of this originality which makes of the hotel Burrhus an exceptional place we chose to stay in a range of completely reasonable and fixed prices.We attach a big importance for the fact that each feels good in Burrhus, of course, you, our customers but also: Susanne, Enrico, Zohra, Jemaa, Fabrice, Jocelyn, our devoted and nice staff who for several years trains our team. We hope to see you soon and to surprise you also by the quality of our breakfast at the 9€ price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burrhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burrhus Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing