We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Hotel Burrhus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Burrhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

That's what the Burrhus has going for it, at least if you want to be right in the heart of things. It face the Place Montforte, the central downtown plaza. The downside of the locatation is that parking is probably a problem (we're on bicycles and they have a locked garage). The other advantage/disadvantage is that during the summer, on Fridays and Saturdays, they have live concerts in the plaza, so if you're trying to sleep for an early morning getaway, like us, it's not so great. On the other hand you are within a block of two of the top 4 TA-rated restaurants.

At first we though there was no TV, but we later found it in the closet! We never did watch it so can only assume it works. The continental breakfast was pretty standard, nothing fancy. The hot water was truly hot, something you don't always get in a 2-star, and in the same vein the room was very big and had a queen bed. The AC was one when we moved in and was great. The bathroom had no shower, just a tub with no enclosure so if you wanted to use the shower wand you either sat down or were careful not to spray water out on to the floor.

Staff was pleasant and helpful. No elevators of course so it's up a flight to reception and in our case another two flights to our room (21) which faces the plaza and overlooks the deck.

This is one of those reviews where I had a hard time deciding between a 3 and 4 and would have given a 3.5 if available, but overall it has been a good experience and thus the higher rating.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Located right in the middle of Vaison, there might be a bit of a challenge in finding a parking area, if you are travelling by car, but it is worth the trouble.
Funny rooms with great designs - and as mentioned: don't miss the breakfast, which can be eaten on the shady first floor terrace.
Very kind staff. Only just one little objection: when we were having our breakfast, the maid opened the door to the small yard, leaving free access to our belongings :-(

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank moelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

central location. my room was on the 2nd floor and i could smell whatever was cooked in the restaurant below. didn't bother me too much as I didnt spend much time in the room (and they close at night anyway). wonderful breakfast on the terrace. actually the best breakfast i had in a hotel of its category in france (with local cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurt....).
good bicycle parking in a garage downstairs.
liked the inviting common areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to check out this hotel and it was horrible, there was no parking as advertised, they didn't honor the price from the tourism info , the floors were rickety and finding the room was like walking thru a maze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Spiritcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel Burrhus is in an excellent location right on the town square, next to many restuarants. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and quite happy to speak to us in English (thank heavens). Breakfast was excellent. We were starting on a week long bicycle tour and they stored our bikes in a safe garage attached to the building. There were many other bikes there so obviously it is well thought of by others. The hardest part was that there was no lift and as it is in an old building the different stairs went everywhere. Never did figure out the shortest route to our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Burrhus is right on the town square. Parking is several blocks away in the town parking lots. Very reasonable prices, good breakfast, the Wi-Fi worked in the common areas but was marginal up in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and were fluent in English (my French language skills are almost non-existent)

We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the town square. Numerous restaurants and shops are within a few hundred meters walk. Vaison-la-Romaine is a comfortable location for touring this part of Provence.

It is a 2-star property, nothing fancy. Note that there are several stairs to reach the rooms, no lift available so this is not the place if you have mobility issues or if you have a lot of luggage.

Our only real complaint is that the rooms are quite dark, the bedside lamps are so dim as to be almost useless. We had our camping headlamps with us, which we needed in order to read in bed.

We liked the Burrhus well enough that we extended our stay for a couple more days, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Budget priced lodging on the square in town. Rooms are quirky but clean. We looked at 3 different rooms and decided on #14 looking down on the 1st floor terrace, where we are currently sitting drinking wine and eating snacks we brought. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. No lift, we just brought a change of clothes and toiletries to avoid dragging bags up the stairs, which is fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burrhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burrhus

Address: 1 Place Montfort | Bp 93, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: £55 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Burrhus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is really an atypical establishment. All rooms are different, of a sober and elegant decoration.The design and the contemporary art occupy an important place for Burrhus. Everywhere you will cross original works of already confirmed artists.For twenty years, we organize numerous exhibitions of contemporary art and in particular since 2007, the for a weekend (2nd of december) "Supervues" which gathers in the hotel 35 artists who occupy all a room.In spite of this originality which makes of the hotel Burrhus an exceptional place we chose to stay in a range of completely reasonable and fixed prices.We attach a big importance for the fact that each feels good in Burrhus, of course, you, our customers but also: Susanne, Enrico, Zohra, Jemaa, Fabrice, Jocelyn, our devoted and nice staff who for several years trains our team. We hope to see you soon and to surprise you also by the quality of our breakfast at the 9€ price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burrhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burrhus Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing