We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space, a bit noisy”
Review of Hotel Burrhus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Burrhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Room on the first floor. Only two-star hotel with tons of space that included a little entryway. Clean rooms, good service, decent bed. No actual shower; just a tub with an extending nozzle/hose. Nice location.

The occupant above of and next to us very quite loud, walking around, talking and banging things into the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winespam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

Positives:
Great Central Location.
Many choices of restaurants within a short walking distance.
Large, spacious rooms with views overlooking square are available- some with private balcony.
Breakfast Buffet - Many choices - fresh and varied.

A few Negatives:
WiFi was sporatic and slow. I had trouble using Skype even in the Reception area.
Although the rooms were decorated with contemporary art, the hotel is old and "tired". Tiles broken, grout discolored and broken, well worn, etc.
Lots of stairs - beware if you are given a higher floored room. Lots of tiny, narrow stairs to carry luggage.

Considering all of the above, I would stay there again. The positives outweighed the few negatives.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Just loved this quirky arty hotel:

Positives - great helpful staff, comfy quiet aircon room with stylish minimalist decor, bountiful breakfast buffet style with loads of good fresh fruit (why is this so rare!?), reasonable price, excellent location in the centre of town, whole hotel stuffed with retro art including my favourite kinetic 60's works.

(Minor) Negatives: Is up at least one flight of stairs. Shower a tad too minimalist - worked fine but careless use leads to wet bathroom floor.

All in all, for value and pazazz, best of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkieTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We had a great time in Vaison la Romaine, this hotel was very central. When they say the garage is tight for your car they aren't kidding, we had approximately 2" on either side to squeeze in. The staff were very helpful and everything was clean. The air conditioning in our room didn't work and the bed wasn't great but all around we enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotripsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We enjoyed this hotel! Was the best value soo far in France. Nice decor.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottgreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a week and used it as a base for exploring the area by car everyday. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They advised us of the parking situation on market day (careful where you park). We found the room to be very large and comfortable. The tile in the bathroom was old and the fixtures a little aged but for the money this place was a real value. The room was actually decorated to be very contemporary. We had a skylight in our room that had and electric blind on it so you wouldn't be woken by the sunlight. We had A/C and thick windows that eliminated sound from outside. Free WIFI and a beautiful terrace to enjoy a breakfast that I found to be worth the extra money. We used the terrace to enjoy our picnic lunches and wine in the afternoon that we purchased from the local grocery that is right downstairs. The friendly staff loaned us some glasses and a plate when needed. My wife takes a medication that needs refrigeration which the staff made room for in the hotel refrigerator.... I can't go on enough about these great people. The hotel stairs and lobby has a few loose tiles and could use some work but other than that this hotel is a great value. While there we noticed that this hotel is very popular with amateur European cyclists. There was a group of about a dozen and it was nice to meet people from off the American tourist route. The location is exactly where you want to be. You could spend double or more to be on the other side of the roman bridge in the old part of town but honestly you would have to hike to this side of the bridge for dinner every night and you will save your feet by being more central here. Parking is available in the lot right out front in place Montfort except on market day when you will have to park farther from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

My husband and I spent the day driving all around the Cote De Rhone ( I would recommend Le Crestet, and visiting the numerous wineries in the area--BEAUTIFUL!) When we finally made it to our hotel in Vaison La Romaine, after a long hot day of travelling, we were pretty surprised byt the flight of stairs we had to hike our luggage up (big luggage--we were on holiday for 2 weeks) to get to the lobby. And then once given our room key, there were a few more set sof stairs!! Our room was okay. It was clean but nothing special. SInce it was a hot day 29 degrees we tried to use the air conditioning but couldn't get it working (which is a reason why we picked this hotel) when we asked at the front desk how to get it working, we were told that since it wasn't very hot out the A/C wouldn't be turned on (a decision we think we should have been able to make)

The hotel is right downtown and it's a nice area, though we were there on a monday and not much was open!

Our room was on the ground floor so I wasn't comfortable leaving the door open through the night, so our room felt more like a sauna since we couldn't use the a/c

Also the shower was pretty odd--there was no curtain or glass door and the shower wasn't far off the ground so when we used the shower the water went all over the floor (the floor is tiled) and stayed wet until the next morning!

I would definately recommend touring the cote de rhone region though--the views are breathtaking!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kales631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burrhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burrhus

Address: 1 Place Montfort | Bp 93, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: £54 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Burrhus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is really an atypical establishment. All rooms are different, of a sober and elegant decoration.The design and the contemporary art occupy an important place for Burrhus. Everywhere you will cross original works of already confirmed artists.For twenty years, we organize numerous exhibitions of contemporary art and in particular since 2007, the for a weekend (2nd of december) "Supervues" which gathers in the hotel 35 artists who occupy all a room.In spite of this originality which makes of the hotel Burrhus an exceptional place we chose to stay in a range of completely reasonable and fixed prices.We attach a big importance for the fact that each feels good in Burrhus, of course, you, our customers but also: Susanne, Enrico, Zohra, Jemaa, Fabrice, Jocelyn, our devoted and nice staff who for several years trains our team. We hope to see you soon and to surprise you also by the quality of our breakfast at the 9€ price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burrhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burrhus Vaison-La-Romaine, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing