We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Staff and in the center of Annemasse Town”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Annemasse
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Kind Staff and in the center of Annemasse Town”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am happy that I decided to stay in Annemasse rather than Geneva. The pricing of the hotel is just optimal and the hotel had all basic amenities. It is centrally located at Annemasse town. Bus No 61 to Geneva can be boarded just after after crossing the road from the hotel and Geneva is 35 min by this bus. The Annemasse SNCF train station is 0.5 km away. Hence you can travel to Chamonix even early in the morning and return by late night. There are a lot of restaurants in the same lane (surprisingly 3 Indian restaurants also)..
The hotel staff were very friendly. Mr.Olivier, the manager was very helpful and can speak good English. I booked by calling him by phone and then confirmation was obtained by email. For other staff, it is better that we learn some French as they speak very little English. The rooms were spacious and the elevators are good.The Breakfast is good enough for Business travellers like me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pazham75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
25
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Place is an almost perfect example of what European mid-range hotels used to be forty years ago. Frankly, that wasn't very good, and for all our complaints about faceless corporate chains, it stands as a reminder that the general standard of accommodation has improved dramatically since then. The rooms are plain and spare, with authentically tired furniture dating from the early 1970s. A bed, a wobbly and small fake-veneer wardrobe, a cheap table and a cheaper chair is pretty much all you get. The bathroom is a bit more modern, but not much. There's a telephone in the room (mine didn't work), a weakish but adequate wi-fi signal, and a small TV with the local channels. The heating system appeared to function about as well as the telephone did -- no small matter at a time of year when the night-time temperature outside was getting down to -10C.

Though there's nothing about the hotel that will attract visitors other than nostalgics like myself, it does have its virtues. It's reasonably clean; the staff are genial; and the location, if you need to be in Annemasse at any rate, can't be beaten. For people looking for a cheaper alternative to Geneva hotels, though, it's probably not very suitable because of its inaccessibility. To get there, you'll need to take the no. 12 tram to Moillesulaz and then switch either to the no. 1 TAC 'bus, stopping at Jura, or, after walking up the Rue de Genève a couple of hundred metres, pick up the no. 2, getting off at Deffaugt, right outside the hotel. But the last service for both of these 'buses departs at 22:20 (and there's no Sunday service at all). Miss them, and you're either facing a brisk half-hour walk from Moillesulaz, or a pricey taxi journey that will wipe out much of your savings.

The Place, then, is a hotel suitable for sleeping and nothing else, for people who require to be in Annemasse or Ambilly. If that's all you need, it'll be quite OK for a short stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I booked this hotel because it was not expensive as the ones in Geneve and because I though it will be not so far from Geneve airport. I was wrong, it took around one hour to get to Geneve airport from the hotel. The route from Geneve airport or the trains station is:

You have to take bus 5 dir Thônex-Vallard stop at Bel air cité and take the tram12 (be careful because there are two trams with the number 12) to Moellesulaz you cross the border by feet and take bus 1 or 2 and stop at Deffaugt. CHECK THE BUS SCHEDULE since it changes from weekdays to weekend.

The guy at the front desk was very kind. Once in the room I was pleasantly surprised! The room was really clean and spacious; it was in very good conditions (almost new), you have WI-Fi, safe and TV. I didn't eat breakfast in the hotel.

One drawback of the hotel is its location since it faces a small square so you can listen everything that happens outside (like drunk people screaming in the middle of the night, for example)

Room Tip: Just be aware of the time that takes you to go to Geneva.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the beginning of September. It is a very nice hotel in downtown Annamasse. It has free parking, which on the day we arrived was packed, but the desk clerk was willing to move his car so we can park, which was very nice. Hotel is very clean, it has Wi-Fi that works very good. A/C also works which was the key during hot summer days. Bus station that can lead you to Geneva is right in front of the hotel. We didn't use it, but it is convenient. I stayed in Hotel St. Andre in Annamasse as well, and this is one is much much better, and I think it is even cheaper. For the money that you pay in this area, I would say it is a good deal. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 stars is because the rooms are very small. It does have a closet to put your stuff away, and bathroom is a decent size.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovanovicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stouffville, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

my daughter stayed at this hotel in July 2012. She forgot and checked out leaving money in the hotel safe. The hotel was notified after check out of this omission by my daughter. We just received every cent left in the safe in today's mail. This says wonderful things about this hotel and in this day and age, this type of customer service needs to be commended. Kudos to Hotel La Place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Excellent alternative to high priced Geneva but it will take you an hour to get there from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank bmills77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nice hotel with a relatively easy trip from Geneva by tram and local bus. The benefit of staying here is you can still check out Geneva but pay a fraction of the price for both the hotel and food etc with it being over the border. Close to Mt Blanc etc also. Only issue we had was arriving on a public holiday meant the local bus wasn't running - Tried to ring the hotel to help with a taxi or info but they spoke no english. Had quite a walk in the heat but very happy when we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annemasse hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Annemasse Centre - Gare
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Annemasse
Ibis Budget Annemasse
#10 of 19 in Annemasse
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atalante Hotel
Atalante Hotel
#4 of 19 in Annemasse
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Appart'City Geneve Gaillard
0.7 mi away
Ibis Annemasse
Ibis Annemasse
#2 of 2 in Ambilly
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Annemasse Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: 10 Place Jean-Deffaugt, 74100, Annemasse, France (Formerly Minotel La Place)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annemasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Annemasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Place 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Annemasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing